We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pool is the main attraction here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Thermopolis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fountain of Youth RV Park
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This campground is overall a great place to visit but!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!only if you don't use any of the other facilities on site except just use your campsite and the pool.

They did drain and clean the pool sides and bottom while we were there and it made a tremendous difference in the cleanliness and walking on the bottom was not as slippery. You do need to wear swimming shoes in this pool mostly for safety reasons. Slipping and jagged rock surfaces could be a problem.

The showers, bathrooms and laundry however is another story. They are not cleaned. There were cobwebs with bugs attached in all of these rooms and were not kept clean at all. They should be cleaned properly every day to maintain a sanitary and clean looking facility. The 2 dryers were out of service and have been for quite a longggggggggggg time. If you want people to use your facility and give good reviews you will have to do better than that.

We hope to return in a few years and I sincerely hope that this problem will be changed if not it will be our last trip here. There is a lovely well kept place and more reasonable in Nilan California that we will be visiting so you need to get this place back to the way it used to be many years ago in order to survive in this economy and competive world we live in. Remove paying for a shower; I think it should be included in your fee like all the other campgrounds.

Room Tip: If you have a self contained unit where you don't need to use the showers, and washroom you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 62 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

First impression was of caretakers smoking cigarettes on office porch. Shade trees cut and unkempt. Camp sites are actually narrow driveways; staff cannot be bothered to pull common alley weeds, which is really the only greenery, excepting the green crap in the once-pristine pool. When asked if we could move to a less populated spot with a patch of grass, staff said, "Dude, they're all the same. Why do you need to move?" When our rationale was explained (because we paid $47.00 and would like a patch of grass for the kids to play on), staff said, "No! You ain't movin'! Take it or leave it." So we left. Spend your dollars at tourist-friendly Lava Hot Springs instead. Shame on the owners! If you don't want it, slap a dang "for sale" sign on it!

Room Tip: There are many other hot springs in Wyoming and Idaho that are clean and friendly. Check out Lava H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Will not return. Good time with family for reunion. Guesthouse was filthy. Nothing like website. Mice , spiders and bugs

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank allicat2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My family and I recently stayed here in conjuntion with a family reunion. We rented the guest house and 4 camper spots. The guest house was absolutly disgusting. We had to clean the bathroom and kitchen before we would even consider using either of them. There were 'particles' in the toilet and under the seat that had obviously been there for awhile. There were stains on and around the toilet and floor. The kichen stove hood was greasy and had a layer of dirt and dead gnats. Coffee pot still had grounds from a previous use. The final straw was the fact that we were greeted by 2 mice running around on the kitchen floor.
The recycle and trash dumpsters were over-flowing with bags on the ground.
The sewer was backing up creating standing sewer water on various camping pads.

Upon checkout I was prepared to leave some feedback for the owners however, the lady was on the phone. She took my key and turned and walked into the other room. She didn't bother to say thankyou or ask me how my stay was, etc. Very rude!
If you are just traveling through with a trailor or motorhome, this might be an ok spot to stay for a short time, but overall I would not recommend this campground. The pictures on the website are VERY misleading and haven't been updated for many years.

My bottom line advise would be; this would be an ok campground for trailers/motorhomes as a last resort/quick stay however I would NOT recommend that anyone rents the guest house.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rhonda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our way to Yellowstone via Cody, Wyoming! We had read the reviews but decided to give it a try since there were no other campgrounds. BIG MISTAKE!! The campground is filthy! The pool is disgusting and slimy, not like the clean hot springs pool downtown Themopolis! We were charged $35 for our pickup and camper! This was the most expensive and worst campground we stayed in during our two-week camping trip. To top it off, we had to pay to shower in the campground's dirty shower. The laundry room was also filthy - it hadn't been swept or mopped for quite some time. The garbage bins were overflowing!

The county need to inspect and possibly close this place down until it is cleaned up! Come on Thermopolis...do something about this eyesore!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank DDMAC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We rv camped here and were charged for our 4 year old as an extra person, which hasn't happened at any other campground on out 2 week trip. The campground is basic but the mineral pool on site made it worth it, it was very nice but slimy on the bottom. The man and woman in the office were very grumpy and rude but they were not the owners, so what do u expect? Overall ok.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank ash420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

In late October of this year, we spent three days at the Fountain of Youth RV Park.
We were drawn to the Park by our AAA travel guide which gave it a 3 star rating and a glowing review. Also, we liked the idea that the Park had a large hot springs pool.
In retrospect, I think it must have been several years since AAA has been there

Upon entering the Park, we immediately noticed its proximity to the bottom of the hill and the large number of trucks using their air brakes as they decended the hill. Also those ascending the hill, shifting gears to increase their RPM to make it up the hill.

Oh well, we had already made our deposit and felt everything else at the Park would be fine.
It was not.

The RV sites were filthy with trash everywhere. The hose connections and pipes were surrounded by old tires. The sewer inlets had broken covers.

Then we notice the flies. Thousands of them. Everywhere. The inside laundry room window was so covered with flies, at first we thought the shades were drawn. The pay showers and toilets were so bad, even the flies would not go in there.

Then, later, on to the pool. Our last hope.
The water temperature was excellent but--the bottom and sides apparently had not been cleaned for some time. A yellow scum covered everything and an oily scum covered the water surface "the pool lounge chairs": were filthy, some torn and all of them smelled. In all it was an overpowering stench.

We began to look for another place to stay with our RV, but everything was booked up and we had nowhere else to go because of other commitments .

And then, at night, the final cresendo. We had not previously noticed the railroad tracks running along the Park fence line--so during the day and long into the night--the sound of diesal engines, the smell of smoke and the train whistle-- all played together and sent vibrations cursing through your bones.

sleep was impossible.

This place is a taste of hell--give it a wide berth!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else. Anywhere but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 33416Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thermopolis hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Thermopolis
Days Inn Thermopolis
#2 of 8 in Thermopolis
721 reviews
2.2 mi away
Elk Antler Inn
Elk Antler Inn
#1 of 3 in Thermopolis
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Thermopolis
260 reviews
2.3 mi away
Paintbrush Inn
Paintbrush Inn
#6 of 8 in Thermopolis
80 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rainbow Motel
Rainbow Motel
#8 of 8 in Thermopolis
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain of Youth RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain of Youth RV Park

Address: 250 North Highway 20, Thermopolis, WY 82443
Location: United States > Wyoming > Thermopolis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Thermopolis
Number of rooms: 60

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing