We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive and Clean”
Review of Elk Antler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elk Antler Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Thermopolis B&B and Inns
Rock Springs, Wyoming
1 review
“Inexpensive and Clean”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

The motel owner/manager is a friendly young guy who made us feel at home. This is a budget motel, so it is not overly fancy, but everything was spotlessly clean and well maintained. After a bit of touring through Wyoming we went out of our way to return to Thermopolis so that we could stay at the Elk Antler Inn again. We're looking forward to visiting again the next time we pass through.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    44
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
47
35
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Elk Antler Inn is a great place to stay. It was such a great price to stay there, It was very well looked after, the rooms were clean and included a fridge and microwave which was fantastic. The bed was very comfortable so we were able to get a good nights sleep. The staff were extremely friendly and made us feel very welcome. I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colo, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed there many times.I would rather stay in a small privately owned motel,than a big franchise. The motel owner always makes you feel welcomed and treats you like a friend, not just another customer. The facility is clean and well decorated. The continental breakfast is a good addition. I highly recommend the motel if you are looking for a comfortable bed and clean room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellokitties3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I live 2 short hours from Thermopolis and my family makes the drive for the hot springs and the dinosaur museum. We love the Elk Antler Inn because for a minimal room fee, we can have separate bedrooms, or bunkbeds, and a rustic hotel experience with all of the updated amenities we need.
There is a convenience store/gas station directly across the street and the local Pizza Hut is close. It's tradition to do the Star Plunge and then Pizza Hut for us. It's more enjoyable and cost effective than several other weekend getaways I can think of, and the Elk Antler is key to the experience.

Room Tip: Ask about rooms with a separate bedroom or bunkbeds for the kids. Ground floor rooms are highly acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Friendly staff, Clean room. Space well used. Close to all there is to do in town, the hot springs! The room has a fridge, microwave, bunk beds, queen bed, and full bath. We would stay here again. It was very clean and again, the staff was very helpful. Keep in mind, it is a small town. It was $60 (pre-booked online) and off season (oct 16th).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rapid city, sd
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked this because it was halfway home from a trip to Yellowstone, and I needed a room with three beds. I got a two room suite with 3 queen beds for $99. I was a little leery from the pictures and some of the earlier reviews, but I thought 'what the heck' and went ahead. In other words, I wasnt expecting much, so maybe thats why I was pleasantly surprised. To begin with, this is the ONLY hotel I have stayed in for years that you actually have a key. Yes, a real key, not a card key. Okay, the decor is nothing to write home about. We had a deer head (yes, a real mounted deer head) in our room, and also for decorations on the walls there was a blanket with a picture of an elk, and some very obviously self framed elk photos. Most of the walls are cinder block which is painted white. The heating and bathroom fixtures are all obviously old, but they all work fine. So, why did I give this 4 stars? Because the rooms are huge. The room with two queen beds had plenty of room for a flat screen TV, a desk, two huge log chairs with pillows, a fridge and a microwave and we still had room for all of our bags, our daughters wheelchair, and even after that, still had room to walk around. The other room with one bed was also huge, and had a flat screen TV and a dresser. The bathroom was decently sized and had doors to both bedrooms, which was a nice feature. The wi-fi was actually the best I had on this trip, easy to hook up, strong signal, and no password etc. The other interesting this about this hotel is all of the bears. They have wooden carved bears all over the place, and I mean all over....standing on the balconies, looking over the parking lot.....in fact, we were told to put our key 'in the basket that the bear is holding by the office door' and thats how you checked out! I almost felt like I was back in the 50's staying here, but I did enjoy it. One note for travelers, the beds are super firm, if you dont like firm beds, you wont like this motel.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious. The steps upstairs on the left side (when you are facing the motel) are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rpdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Elk Antler Inn at the very busy Labour day holiday weekend so all the motels were busy and expensive.We had sent 2 emails to the hotel but did not get a response.
This Inn was clean and the room was large.There were animal antlers and wooden bears hanging everywhere which gave the place a "funky" look and character.
There was no hair drier or coffee making facilities which we missed as there was no coffee offered at the reception either. There was a very nice flat screen TV which we were glad of as our English team West Ham were being shown in the morning and they won so we had a good start.
We are English and like our tea so we missed making a really good cup of tea.
The breakfast was in a separate hut but was really not very good. The coffee was cold, the microwave did not work and we were unable to make porridge even though oat sachets were provided. All in all the breakfast was a waste of time.
There was no one in the office to ask for hot coffee all the people staying had to go without.
The location was good. There were lots of eating places nearby.
I guess we were lucky to get somewhere at a not so expensive price during a busy period.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishiarusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Elk Antler Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your response, the Motel is suppose to have an outdoorsy theme to it hence the reason for the animals, pictures and motif. We offer breakfast in a log cabin not hut, and it has operating hours so if you don't make it before then than you may miss out. All rooms have microwaves and mini fridges in them so heating water for tea should not be a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thermopolis hotels
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Thermopolis
Days Inn Thermopolis
#2 of 8 in Thermopolis
680 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel
3.8 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#4 of 8 in Thermopolis
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#6 of 8 in Thermopolis
251 reviews
4.6 mi away
Roundtop Mountain Motel
Roundtop Mountain Motel
#3 of 8 in Thermopolis
91 reviews
3.9 mi away
Paintbrush Inn
Paintbrush Inn
#8 of 8 in Thermopolis
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Antler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Antler Inn

Property: Elk Antler Inn
Address: 501 S. 6th Highway 20, Thermopolis, WY 82443
Location: United States > Wyoming > Thermopolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thermopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elk Antler Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-friendly motel; family owned. Our rooms are log-cabin style with completely new bathrooms, flat screen tv's, refrigerator, microwave and free wi-fi. We have a triple queen suite room and double queen suites,as well bunk bed rooms for kids. We are close to the Hot Springs State Park, Yellowstone National Park, and canoeing, boating, fishing, hunting and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Elk Antler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing