We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep an Open Mind”
Review of Elk Antler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Elk Antler Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Thermopolis B&B and Inns
rapid city, sd
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Keep an Open Mind”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I booked this because it was halfway home from a trip to Yellowstone, and I needed a room with three beds. I got a two room suite with 3 queen beds for $99. I was a little leery from the pictures and some of the earlier reviews, but I thought 'what the heck' and went ahead. In other words, I wasnt expecting much, so maybe thats why I was pleasantly surprised. To begin with, this is the ONLY hotel I have stayed in for years that you actually have a key. Yes, a real key, not a card key. Okay, the decor is nothing to write home about. We had a deer head (yes, a real mounted deer head) in our room, and also for decorations on the walls there was a blanket with a picture of an elk, and some very obviously self framed elk photos. Most of the walls are cinder block which is painted white. The heating and bathroom fixtures are all obviously old, but they all work fine. So, why did I give this 4 stars? Because the rooms are huge. The room with two queen beds had plenty of room for a flat screen TV, a desk, two huge log chairs with pillows, a fridge and a microwave and we still had room for all of our bags, our daughters wheelchair, and even after that, still had room to walk around. The other room with one bed was also huge, and had a flat screen TV and a dresser. The bathroom was decently sized and had doors to both bedrooms, which was a nice feature. The wi-fi was actually the best I had on this trip, easy to hook up, strong signal, and no password etc. The other interesting this about this hotel is all of the bears. They have wooden carved bears all over the place, and I mean all over....standing on the balconies, looking over the parking lot.....in fact, we were told to put our key 'in the basket that the bear is holding by the office door' and thats how you checked out! I almost felt like I was back in the 50's staying here, but I did enjoy it. One note for travelers, the beds are super firm, if you dont like firm beds, you wont like this motel.

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious. The steps upstairs on the left side (when you are facing the motel) are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rpdmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    41
    26
    6
    4
See reviews for
44
34
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
369 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed at the Elk Antler Inn at the very busy Labour day holiday weekend so all the motels were busy and expensive.We had sent 2 emails to the hotel but did not get a response.
This Inn was clean and the room was large.There were animal antlers and wooden bears hanging everywhere which gave the place a "funky" look and character.
There was no hair drier or coffee making facilities which we missed as there was no coffee offered at the reception either. There was a very nice flat screen TV which we were glad of as our English team West Ham were being shown in the morning and they won so we had a good start.
We are English and like our tea so we missed making a really good cup of tea.
The breakfast was in a separate hut but was really not very good. The coffee was cold, the microwave did not work and we were unable to make porridge even though oat sachets were provided. All in all the breakfast was a waste of time.
There was no one in the office to ask for hot coffee all the people staying had to go without.
The location was good. There were lots of eating places nearby.
I guess we were lucky to get somewhere at a not so expensive price during a busy period.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishiarusha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Elk Antler Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your response, the Motel is suppose to have an outdoorsy theme to it hence the reason for the animals, pictures and motif. We offer breakfast in a log cabin not hut, and it has operating hours so if you don't make it before then than you may miss out. All rooms have microwaves and mini fridges in them so heating water for tea should not be a problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were very please with the Elk Antler Inn. The owner was pleasant and very helpful. Our had a queen bed, and a set of bunk beds. The room was decorated with rustic decor that was quaint. Bathroom was VERY clean. We checked in late and found that the bathroom light did not work, so my husband reported it and it was fixed in less than ten minutes. The atmosphere of the hotel is one of homeness. The room was neat, clean and comfortable. The shower was hot with good strong pressure (no govenor on flow) The rate was more than affordable and it was obvious to us that the owner (who checked us in) really cared about us and our comfort. They served a free breakfast, as well. This is a hotel that is geared toward family and value. We WILL stay here again when we are in Thermopolis.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowanstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay in Thermopolis. This motel is cute. The carved bears hanging on the railings do lend a lot of country charm to the property. The room was simple, clean and comfortable. Carpeting could use an update just to freshen it up a bit but it was comfortable. Bathroom was small and old but clean too! Loved the comfy pine bed. Had a room with a queen and a bunk bed for the kids. The price was definitely right. Very good value for your dollar. We paid $85 a night. Breakfast is included. It is a very simple breakfast, bread, muffins, cereal, juice and coffee. Both mornings we stayed here, they ran out of coffee and there was no attendant to make more. Not a problem for me as there is a gas station next door and I got my coffee there. I do recommend that they leave extra coffee and directions out for guests to make more as some other guests were annoyed.

Location is great. You can walk to the hot springs in 10 minutes. 15 minutes to the dinosaur museum where we went on an afternoon dig. There is a laundromat two blocks away and you are close to the supermarket, gas stations, and the center of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaR199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We loved our stay at this motel very clean and comfortable. Great rate way better than the chain motels. Would stay again loved it. Iam glad that i didnt listen to some of the reviews i guess u cant please some people but as for us it was great.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stony1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Breakfast was in smelly building that used to be fudge shop. Only included muffins and stale cereal.
Rooms were not cleaned well and ours had bugs. Had to pay up front. Hotel staff was not around at checkout, so don't bother letting them know what you thought. Hotel is also overpriced. Their website is outdated!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncstatedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Elk Antler Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
The Breakfast is in a little Cabin, it is free to anyone that stays, just something to get you going in the morning, not a gourmet meal. As for the bugs we have doors to the outside of the building leaving it open will allow them into your room. As for contacting us we are available 7 days a week 24 hours a day by email, phone, or by stopping in to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A simple and affordable motel. Front desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful. Room was average but clean - nothing out of the ordinary except having to adjust the fluorescent tube in the bathroom to make it work. Bed was comfortable; we slept well. We didn't try out the breakfast, so no news there. The bears on the railing are absolutely adorable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thermopolis hotels
4.6 mi away
Days Inn Thermopolis
Days Inn Thermopolis
#2 of 8 in Thermopolis
661 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel
3.8 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#4 of 8 in Thermopolis
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Thermopolis
250 reviews
4.6 mi away
Roundtop Mountain Motel
Roundtop Mountain Motel
#3 of 8 in Thermopolis
88 reviews
4.3 mi away
Fountain of Youth Inn
Fountain of Youth Inn
#6 of 8 in Thermopolis
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Antler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Antler Inn

Property: Elk Antler Inn
Address: 501 S. 6th Highway 20, Thermopolis, WY 82443
Location: United States > Wyoming > Thermopolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thermopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elk Antler Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-friendly motel; family owned. Our rooms are log-cabin style with completely new bathrooms, flat screen tv's, refrigerator, microwave and free wi-fi. We have a triple queen suite room and double queen suites,as well bunk bed rooms for kids. We are close to the Hot Springs State Park, Yellowstone National Park, and canoeing, boating, fishing, hunting and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Elk Antler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing