We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint and Comfortable”
Review of Elk Antler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elk Antler Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Thermopolis B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were very please with the Elk Antler Inn. The owner was pleasant and very helpful. Our had a queen bed, and a set of bunk beds. The room was decorated with rustic decor that was quaint. Bathroom was VERY clean. We checked in late and found that the bathroom light did not work, so my husband reported it and it was fixed in less than ten minutes. The atmosphere of the hotel is one of homeness. The room was neat, clean and comfortable. The shower was hot with good strong pressure (no govenor on flow) The rate was more than affordable and it was obvious to us that the owner (who checked us in) really cared about us and our comfort. They served a free breakfast, as well. This is a hotel that is geared toward family and value. We WILL stay here again when we are in Thermopolis.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowanstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 128 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay in Thermopolis. This motel is cute. The carved bears hanging on the railings do lend a lot of country charm to the property. The room was simple, clean and comfortable. Carpeting could use an update just to freshen it up a bit but it was comfortable. Bathroom was small and old but clean too! Loved the comfy pine bed. Had a room with a queen and a bunk bed for the kids. The price was definitely right. Very good value for your dollar. We paid $85 a night. Breakfast is included. It is a very simple breakfast, bread, muffins, cereal, juice and coffee. Both mornings we stayed here, they ran out of coffee and there was no attendant to make more. Not a problem for me as there is a gas station next door and I got my coffee there. I do recommend that they leave extra coffee and directions out for guests to make more as some other guests were annoyed.

Location is great. You can walk to the hot springs in 10 minutes. 15 minutes to the dinosaur museum where we went on an afternoon dig. There is a laundromat two blocks away and you are close to the supermarket, gas stations, and the center of town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaR199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We loved our stay at this motel very clean and comfortable. Great rate way better than the chain motels. Would stay again loved it. Iam glad that i didnt listen to some of the reviews i guess u cant please some people but as for us it was great.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stony1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Breakfast was in smelly building that used to be fudge shop. Only included muffins and stale cereal.
Rooms were not cleaned well and ours had bugs. Had to pay up front. Hotel staff was not around at checkout, so don't bother letting them know what you thought. Hotel is also overpriced. Their website is outdated!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ncstatedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Elk Antler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

The Breakfast is in a little Cabin, it is free to anyone that stays, just something to get you going in the morning, not a gourmet meal. As for the bugs we have doors to the outside of the building leaving it open will allow them into your room. As for contacting us we are available 7 days a week 24 hours a day by email, phone, or by stopping in to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

A simple and affordable motel. Front desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful. Room was average but clean - nothing out of the ordinary except having to adjust the fluorescent tube in the bathroom to make it work. Bed was comfortable; we slept well. We didn't try out the breakfast, so no news there. The bears on the railing are absolutely adorable!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontyClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

If trip advisor did halves, this would have got 3 and a half, so I have been generous. The building from the outside looks lovely all the railings and walkways have bear carvings on them so it looks really different
The hotel is on quite a busy road so there is some traffic noise on a night, the breakfast area is tiny with just 2 tables but has a huge elk head mounted over one of the tables which was quite unusual, almost like it was sharing breakfast with you. The breakfast offering was just cereal and toast and on our second day there was no bread left, went to the shop over the road for bagels to toast.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming, we hired a boat there and the owner towed it up river for us and brought it back later at a designated pick up spot.
The room was clean, the bathroom was a bit disappointing as it was in need of some maintenance, but overall good for the price we paid. There was a patio area with a gas bbq you could use, we ate sandwiches for lunch outside it was a pleasant spot to watch the world go by.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen-9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The rooms are very basic but clean, our room the light in the bathroom didn't work unless you moved it. nowhere to blow dry you hair as the plug falls out of the socket all the time.

The bears are cute but i feel the motel is missing a trick or two.

We had paid for bed and breakfast only to be told they didn't have any as the wrong order had been sent to them, we were not offered and compensation regarding the fact we had to find breakfast each day.

All this aside it was nice to stay somewhere that was different and would come back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyBelleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Elk Antler Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Thank you for your response, however things cannot be fixed that are not brought to our attention while you are there. As for breakfast it is available during the summer season but not the winter season. The booking sight you went through does not allow an option for different times of the year its either you have it or you dont.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thermopolis hotels
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Thermopolis
Days Inn Thermopolis
#2 of 8 in Thermopolis
713 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel
7.1 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#3 of 8 in Thermopolis
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Thermopolis
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roundtop Mountain Motel
Roundtop Mountain Motel
#4 of 8 in Thermopolis
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fountain of Youth Inn
Fountain of Youth Inn
#6 of 8 in Thermopolis
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Antler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Antler Inn

Address: 501 S. 6th Highway 20, Thermopolis, WY 82443
Location: United States > Wyoming > Thermopolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thermopolis
Price Range: $68 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elk Antler Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-friendly motel; family owned. Our rooms are log-cabin style with completely new bathrooms, flat screen tv's, refrigerator, microwave and free wi-fi. We have a triple queen suite room and double queen suites,as well bunk bed rooms for kids. We are close to the Hot Springs State Park, Yellowstone National Park, and canoeing, boating, fishing, hunting and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Elk Antler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing