We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Away” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elk Antler Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elk Antler Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Thermopolis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Breakfast was in smelly building that used to be fudge shop. Only included muffins and stale cereal.
Rooms were not cleaned well and ours had bugs. Had to pay up front. Hotel staff was not around at checkout, so don't bother letting them know what you thought. Hotel is also overpriced. Their website is outdated!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ncstatedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Elk Antler Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
The Breakfast is in a little Cabin, it is free to anyone that stays, just something to get you going in the morning, not a gourmet meal. As for the bugs we have doors to the outside of the building leaving it open will allow them into your room. As for contacting us we are available 7 days a week 24 hours a day by email, phone, or by stopping in to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    30
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
28
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

A simple and affordable motel. Front desk clerk was very pleasant and helpful. Room was average but clean - nothing out of the ordinary except having to adjust the fluorescent tube in the bathroom to make it work. Bed was comfortable; we slept well. We didn't try out the breakfast, so no news there. The bears on the railing are absolutely adorable!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MontyClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

If trip advisor did halves, this would have got 3 and a half, so I have been generous. The building from the outside looks lovely all the railings and walkways have bear carvings on them so it looks really different
The hotel is on quite a busy road so there is some traffic noise on a night, the breakfast area is tiny with just 2 tables but has a huge elk head mounted over one of the tables which was quite unusual, almost like it was sharing breakfast with you. The breakfast offering was just cereal and toast and on our second day there was no bread left, went to the shop over the road for bagels to toast.
The staff were very friendly and welcoming, we hired a boat there and the owner towed it up river for us and brought it back later at a designated pick up spot.
The room was clean, the bathroom was a bit disappointing as it was in need of some maintenance, but overall good for the price we paid. There was a patio area with a gas bbq you could use, we ate sandwiches for lunch outside it was a pleasant spot to watch the world go by.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen-9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

The rooms are very basic but clean, our room the light in the bathroom didn't work unless you moved it. nowhere to blow dry you hair as the plug falls out of the socket all the time.

The bears are cute but i feel the motel is missing a trick or two.

We had paid for bed and breakfast only to be told they didn't have any as the wrong order had been sent to them, we were not offered and compensation regarding the fact we had to find breakfast each day.

All this aside it was nice to stay somewhere that was different and would come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LucyBelleW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, Manager at Elk Antler Inn, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thank you for your response, however things cannot be fixed that are not brought to our attention while you are there. As for breakfast it is available during the summer season but not the winter season. The booking sight you went through does not allow an option for different times of the year its either you have it or you dont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

The country/mountain/hunting motif is refreshing and homey. Nice change from the generic motel room. Staff was friendly and efficient. Wi-fi was stronger than at many motels, probably fewer people fighting for band width. Room was large and clean and a good value for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umina Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed here last week when we were on our way from Yellowstone to Colorado. The decorations may not be for everyone, the exterior of the building is covered with little wood-carved bears and the room was decorated with elk antlers and log furniture. We personally thought it was great, it isn't often you find somewhere with character like this. The room and bathroom were clean and the room came with a fridge and microwave which was handy. Bloke behind the desk was friendly and easy going.
At around $55 a night, this would be the pick of the bunch for people staying overnight in Thermopolis....especially if you like bears!

Room Tip: Stayed on the first floor, was nice to sit out the front on the benches and have a chat and relax wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seano Rese Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This was an excellent place to stay, we loved all the bears, and the unique decor in the rooms. The staff was so friendly and the rooms were very clean. Highly recommended. We will be back!

Room Tip: Best rates, good clean rooms, close to shopping, easy to find
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleMaryjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thermopolis hotels
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel
0.4 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#4 of 8 in Thermopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Thermopolis
Days Inn Thermopolis
#2 of 8 in Thermopolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Thermopolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paintbrush Inn
Paintbrush Inn
#8 of 8 in Thermopolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rainbow Motel
Rainbow Motel
#7 of 8 in Thermopolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Antler Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Antler Inn

Property: Elk Antler Inn
Address: 501 S. 6th Highway 20, Thermopolis, WY 82443
Location: United States > Wyoming > Thermopolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Thermopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elk Antler Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small family-friendly motel; family owned. Our rooms are log-cabin style with completely new bathrooms, flat screen tv's, refrigerator, microwave and free wi-fi. We have a triple queen suite room and double queen suites,as well bunk bed rooms for kids. We are close to the Hot Springs State Park, Yellowstone National Park, and canoeing, boating, fishing, hunting and hiking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Elk Antler Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing