We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for a get-away”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Paintbrush Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Paintbrush Inn
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Thermopolis
Sheridan, Wyoming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for a get-away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

The wife and I decided to have a winter get-away for our Christmas to each other.
We started coming to Thermopolis 34 years ago to enjoy the hot springs. Over the years we have stayed at numerous motels in the area. The Paintbrush is by far the best of any including the Days Inn. The cleanliness and amenities including TV, microwave, frig., and fully equipped cupboard were greatly appreciated. The heater worked great too!
The location is excellent with walking distance to downtown and the hot springs. The staff was very cordial, helpful and knowledgeable about the attractions of the area.
Some of the rooms are handicap accessible.
The owner is a dog person and staying at a pet friendly motel at the "bargainy" fee of $5.00 per night is almost unheard of. Without a doubt, we will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    7
    8
    25
See reviews for
27
17
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

This was worthwhile because it was like time travel back to the fifties but if you're into luxury travel, don't stay here. The space is small and the TV and wifi are the only modern things about it - they both worked great. When I called for a reservation, they told me they didn't have the book with them but thought they had a room. Eccentric staff. Bathroom so narrow you have to sit sideways. The table folds up in the wall. All that said, it was a fun experience but we enjoy adventure travel. There's a grocery store across the street and a kitchenette with a microwave, toaster and dishes. Price is minimal. It fills up each night.

Room Tip: You will hear the trains no matter where you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn84321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very nice room, clean, A/C unit kept room cool, great location right off the main drag, wifi, mini fridge nice to keep a cool soda in, grocery store right across street, convenient store within walking distance was able to rent dvd's in redbox and watch on big tv room had DVD player. The price was comparable to the other hotels that don't have all those amenities.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nursehendren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My friend and I stayed here 3 nights and fished the local river. The staff was friendly and always helpful. It was very handy for us to have the basic kitchen with microwave, fridge, dishes, silverware, etc. We were usually too tired in the evening after fishing and just ate in. There is a nice supermarket across the street. We were able to walk downtown in the morning to have a great breakfast at the Black Bear Cafe.
I have stayed in in 3 different motels and this is better than average for the town. Another one had the heater die intermittently, another had the shower spout fall off and they sent me to another room where the occupants were away for the day. I did not judge the Paintbrush on an absolute scale, only relative to the competition for the price. A bit of remodeling, replacing carpet, etc would make the rooms acceptable to more folks but raise the price also.

Room Tip: always looks before paying
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fcada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tecumseh, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Thermopolis is an older town and most of the hotels show their age. Staying at the Paintbrush Inn is like stepping back into time, to a kinder and more gentle age. What strikes you, at first, is the friendliness of the staff.

The rooms are older and the decor is outdated, but each room is full of charm. Every room is different and they have gone out of their way to provide everything you might need for a modest stay: kitchenettes which include real coffee mugs, tea cups, cutlery, can openers, and utensils. Some rooms have full kitchens, complete with stove and fridge.

It's definitely the best deal in town and I plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: I recommend room 24 if you want lots of room and would like a full-size fridge. It's a corner su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
359 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

I don;t know how this dump got such a good ratiing. When we checked in at 4:30 the key and receipt were stappled to the front door of the office. The outside looks ok for a row motel but when you open the door look out, you are transported to the 1940's. The room has an old carpet that is puckered all over. There is a partition in the middle of the room with a bed on each side and a counter between them. The counter was dirty and sticky. There was no toilet paper or soap in the room. There is a closet in the room with a water heater. The door does not close and the cable and power cords for the TV are across the door. The windows were open and the would not lock without slaming them down. The comforter was dirty and the sheets appeared clean looking but old, circa 1950 and different colorS. There was no security lock on the door so we pushed a chair agains the door at night. The woodwork is dirty with fingerprints. The microwave had not been cleaned for a long time, same with the coffee pot. The refrigerator had a old glass in it with something in the bottom that was either frozen or just solid. DO NOT STAY HERE REGARDLESS OF WHAT THE RATINGS SAY.

Room Tip: Try any other motel but this one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2010Escape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Thermopolis hotels

Washington State
Level Contributor
138 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Clean, but definitely older place. Room was massive, more of a kitchenette. Had 2 alcoves, each with a bed. Table, wifi, full sized frig in the kitchen, large, ancient microwave. Sink, no stove. Cupboards had dishes and such in there. Even had a rollout bed folded up in the kitchen! Coffeemaker. Air conditioner was quite loud, though. Across from grocery store.

Room Tip: Make no mistake, this is older, but a very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovesNeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thermopolis hotels
0.3 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#3 of 8 in Thermopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Thermopolis
Days Inn Thermopolis
#2 of 8 in Thermopolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Elk Antler Inn
Elk Antler Inn
#1 of 2 in Thermopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Thermopolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fountain of Youth Inn
Fountain of Youth Inn
#6 of 8 in Thermopolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paintbrush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paintbrush Inn

Property: Paintbrush Inn
Address: 605 S 6th St, Thermopolis, WY 82443-3201
Location: United States > Wyoming > Thermopolis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Thermopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Paintbrush Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
14 rooms and suites, ADA compliant, FEMA compliant, coffeemakers,microwave ovens, refrigerators, 32" HDTV's & DVD players, cable tv, some rooms have kitchenettes, truck plug-ins, all rooms ground floor, well lit parking in front of your room, security cameras in parking areas, weekly rates in winter ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paintbrush Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing