We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Captures your heart!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Thermopolis
Certificate of Excellence
Wyoming
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Captures your heart!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2007

This sandstone building looks like a tiny prison. But when you check in, you find yourself captured by its perfection!

We stayed in a 'regular king room' and our friends had a suite. Their room had a small sitting room with a functioning fireplace, and the hotel has the little everburning logs, so it was so fun to share a glass of wine and a great visit. Our room was huge with a wonderful king bed with a great bathroom. Each set of 4 rooms open into a short hall, we would love to have a family get together here and leave the doors open!

It was winter, so the pool was closed, but the hot tub is sheltered in the C shaped courtyard, and is full of genuine hot springs water (it looks like egg drop soup) and while there, in a short hour, they drained it, scrubbed it and refilled it. Awesome! It is a short walk to the other pools in the park, and a great getaway!!

The breakfast is a continental, and for such a small town, it was rather nice. There was the usual coffee, juice, rolls, and bagels, but they also had little microwaveable omlets and an assortment of more substantial food. They kept the dining area very clean, even when busy.

The staff was really nice, some foriegn-exchange types and a few townspeople. They always say hello and are very helpful.

I have stayed at most of the places in Thermop and this is head and shoulders above the rest. The Holiday Inn is about a 7,while this is a 10! I'll never stay elsewhere, now.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyohaygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    149
    24
    17
    20
See reviews for
183
222
15
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Moab, Utah
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2006

This hotel is above average by Best Western standards. The location is ideal being in the Hot Springs State Park itself. The room (we stayed in a suite) were spacious and well furnished.

Breakfast was normal continental breakfast fare, cereals, juice, coffee, and muffins but satisfactory. We've had much worse at other Best Western hotels. There were plenty of tables and chairs in the dining room which was a nice change from some hotels that offer a "breakfast" but nowhere to eat it.

The pool was covered for winter when we were there and we didn't use the hot spring tub so we can't comment on these aspects.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Sulfur smell from the spring water
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Noel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2006

We stayed here during our coast-to-coast drive across the US. This hotel has obviously had a refurbishment recently because the interior courtyard and rooms are in much better condition than the outside of the building (we thought it looked a bit like a prison!). Our room was nice, clean and comfortable and the free wireless internet was a good speed. The location of the hotel is great – just a few minutes walk from the State Bath House where we had a fantastic 10 minute soak in the hot springs! Thermopolis itself is rather small and a bit short on restaurants – we took McDonalds back to the room that night. If you want to stay overnight near the spring, then I would recommend this hotel – be prepared for the ever-present smell of sulphur though!

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank rlpb13a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2006

The wife and I travelled 400 miles from Estes Park, Colorado to enjoy, again, the peace, quiet, and friendliness of the hotel. Situated in the Hot Springs State Park, with all of those wonderful hot waters, this hotel is special. Staff is special, most professional, helpful, and friendly. Our room/s were large, clean, and most comfortable. We are both looking forward to our next visit; well worth the experience.

  • Liked — The hotel, the location, and specially the management
  • Disliked — Difficult to find anything to dislike, maybe disliking having to leave.
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring your expectations to relax and enjoy
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Breff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thermopolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Thermopolis
Days Inn Thermopolis
#2 of 8 in Thermopolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#4 of 8 in Thermopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Thermopolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Elk Antler Inn
Elk Antler Inn
#1 of 2 in Thermopolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roundtop Mountain Motel
Roundtop Mountain Motel
#3 of 8 in Thermopolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rainbow Motel
Rainbow Motel
#7 of 8 in Thermopolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel
Address: 116 E Park Street, Thermopolis, WY 82443
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Thermopolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Thermopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Best Western so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thermopolis
Thermopolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing