We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel was an oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Thermopolis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 21, 2012

The hotel was small, charming and very clean and in less than $150 range. I think they are still in the process of some remodeling but our room was quite large with hand-made lodge-style furniture and very nice amenities. The hotel is set in Hot Sprigs State Park which was very enjoyable to tour with the large natural hot spring on the Big Horn River and the free State Park Hot Spring facility. The whole area looked like an oasis to me with all the green grass. We were able to walk across the parking lot to the TeePee facility. Staff was very friendly and helpful and breakfast more than met our expectations.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank knightwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (629)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 629 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was very impressed with my stay at this Best Western. Check-in went very smoothly, and the front desk attendant, Aaron, was extremely willing to provide us with any information about the Thermopolis area we needed.

The actual hotel was beautiful, with a unique classic-western style. Rooms were clean and had good wifi access. The hot-spring tub, while it did have the expected sulfur smell, was comfortable and refreshing.

Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan18G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We only stayed 1 night but would have liked to have stayed longer.Hotel was very nice inside and out. Clean and lovely room. Lots of windows. Good breakfast the next morning. The only complaint was having to carry our luggage up to the 2nd floor. No elevator.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

great location next to the hot springs. has a hot spring pool at the hotel which was great! Rooms were comfortable but had a bit of a chain hotel feeling, rather than a historic hotel feeling. breakfast was included but was quite mediocre. The staff at the front desk was quite limited. But, in a small town like Thermopolis, which is well worth a trip, this is the best place in town.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank naomi_steinberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed based on others recommendations of this hotel. We were not disappointed. Our room was the King Suite and had a large bedroom and a seperate sitting room. Each was very tastefully decorated with a big LCD TV. There was also a refridgerator and microwave in the sitting room. The large bathroom was stocked with high quality soap, shampoo and towels. We were not at all bothered by the noise of doors closing as some other reviews had mentioned.

We went bathing in the hot springs pools on the hotel's property several times. They were clean and the water was very soothing after riding the motorcycles for over a week. The space provided for the continental breakfast was large and clean. The breakfast food had many hot items and they were all tasty.

The hotel is actually located on the grounds of the Hot Springs State Park. The park is withing easy walking distance from the hotel.

We would definately stay here again and would highly recommned this hotel if you are looking for a place to stay while in Thermopolis.

If you are looking for a place to eat that is walking distance, check out the Safari restaurant at the Days Inn across the street. The food was good and the prices right. You will be amazed at all the mounted animals on the walls.

Room Tip: The King Suite we had was on the 2nd floor and was way more than we expected!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This place never fails to satisfy us! This was our fourth stay. Our room was spacious, clean, updated, and quiet. So comfortable! We also love the hot spring spa and the delicious breakfast, which is included in the room rate. The hotel is conveniently located across the street from a good restaurant, and next to the beautiful Hot Springs Park.

Room Tip: All the rooms are top-notch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crankshaft61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed one night on our way to Cody. The hotel is small and comfortable. Room furnished in a traditional style but with all the modern conviences, fridge, microwave, t.v., good Wifi connection. An average breakfast was included in the rate. The front desk staff were friendly and helpfull. The hotel is located inside the hot springs park and there is a smell of sulphur everywhere. Would not return here again because of the smell but hotel is good.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublinlady28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thermopolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Thermopolis
Days Inn Thermopolis
#2 of 8 in Thermopolis
714 reviews
7.7 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#3 of 8 in Thermopolis
35 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Thermopolis
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Roundtop Mountain Motel
Roundtop Mountain Motel
#4 of 8 in Thermopolis
93 reviews
0.9 mi away
Elk Antler Inn
Elk Antler Inn
#1 of 3 in Thermopolis
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fountain of Youth Inn
Fountain of Youth Inn
#6 of 8 in Thermopolis
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel

Address: 116 E Park St, Thermopolis, WY 82443-2440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Thermopolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Thermopolis
Price Range: $119 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Otel, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thermopolis
Thermopolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing