We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Thermopolis
Certificate of Excellence
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
168 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here on Oct 5, 2011 on our way to Yellowstone-Old Faithful Inn. This hotel in Thermopolis is a neat, clean, comfortable and reasonable hotel in the Best Western Brand of Hotels. i would highly recommend it. We with our exteneded family and a nice 3 rooms suite area. Our room had the living room and separate bedroom *(king) and nice bathroom. The other family had 2 queen beds. All beds were very comfortable and provided a nice sleep. Just up the road (within waling distance really) was the town pool. It is fed by the Hot Springs and that was a fun place for the grandchildren. The hotel had a hot tub fed by the hot springs, but we did not use that due to the time we got to the hotel. Enjoy this great place!

Room Tip: If traveling with more people as for rooms together in the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coloradofcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    156
    24
    18
    22
See reviews for
192
231
16
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed only one night and found the room very comfortable and relaxing. We stayed in a King suite which was a bit cramped with the layout but still very comfortable. This hotel was much better than the Days Inn accross the street. Tried the mineral spa which was nice but not quite hot enough for us and the pool had already been closed for the season. The hotel is situated within the Hot Springs Park area so all the commercial pools (one with a slide, 1 full pool outside and 12 full pool inside and small hot tub areas) and free "state" springs are a quick walk away. Very nice surroundings -- grass, trees, deer, river walk and thermal springs walk. Staff was very nice, too. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: There are many different layouts so you may have a choice if there are availabilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCBadone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The hotel seemed clean and the breakfast was average. Maybe it was the time of year we went, but no one has really mentioned the odor of this hotel from the hot springs. Outside it hit you like a brick wall. We put towels at the bottom of the door to try and prevent the smell from entering our room. Not much success with that. The entire place smelled like rotten eggs. Again, maybe it's just the time of year, but it was pretty gross. Probably would avoid staying in this town again if possible.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudytennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford,UK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

We had a very pleasant suite with king bed in one and a separate sitting room with sofa, fireplace, fridge and coffee maker. This room looked out on the veranda so was a bit dark - you did always need the lights on in that room. There were also chairs out on the veranda, and that was a pleasant place to sit too. The railway does go close by but the double glazing works well. Be aware that, being an older building (though rooms are modern and well furnished) there is no lift, so you do have to carry your bags upstairs unless you have a ground floor room.

Very convenient for the State Bath House and the 2 commercial pools in the Hot Springs Park,
- you can walk across to them from the hotel. Also it was good to soak in the hotel's own hot pool, which is directly fed from the hot spring (so you will notice the typical sulphury smell that you get from the springs throughout the hotel. We stayed in late September and the swimming pool was closed for the season, but it was a shame they didn't re-open it during the hot spell of weather at the time.

Had good meals at the restaurant in Days Inn just across the road. Lovely to watch the deer outside the windows there - they come down in the evening to eat from the bird feeders outside.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room on the side away from the railway, or a ground floor room if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
160 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed here for one night in mid-September and were very pleasantly surprised. We were on a road trip and wanted to pop into Thermopolis to visit the hot springs. We normally prefer to stay in B&Bs and so weren't really expecting too much from this quick overnight stay. The room was very nice, quiet, clean and well-appointed, with loads of space, the service at the front desk and from staff in general was very good, breakfast, whilst not the best we experienced, was more than adequate. We had a great dinner recommendation with the Stones Throw near to the airport, where we had a lovely meal. We really liked what we saw of Thermopolis and had a great afternoon in the hot springs spa. All in all a good experience for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderersCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Hotel was really fine except for the loud shower noise from other rooms. Addititonally the room s are laid out in such a way that when the hall door is opened or closed, it also makes a jaring nose. This is probably because the hotel was at one time a sanitorium. If you are a light sleeper, this hotel isn't for you. If on the otherhand you don't mind, it is really has good beds, good location,and nice staff.When we asked to use thier freezer for our picnic food they were very agreeable

Room Tip: Ask if any rooms are quieter than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed here before and enjoyed it...it's an old hotel that's been updated so it has lots of character. The wi-fi in our room didn't work and the desk simply said "oh I've got a note about that". Luckily the business center was hard-wired.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geekanddork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Thermopolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Thermopolis
Days Inn Thermopolis
#2 of 8 in Thermopolis
647 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#3 of 8 in Thermopolis
24 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 8 in Thermopolis
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Elk Antler Inn
Elk Antler Inn
#1 of 2 in Thermopolis
105 reviews
0.6 mi away
Roundtop Mountain Motel
Roundtop Mountain Motel
#4 of 8 in Thermopolis
85 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fountain of Youth Inn
Fountain of Youth Inn
#6 of 8 in Thermopolis
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel
Address: 116 E Park St, Thermopolis, WY 82443-2440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Thermopolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Thermopolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Thermopolis
Thermopolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing