We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of The Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hostel
Douglasville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Great Place”
Reviewed July 13, 2006

Great Place to stay. We stayed there for 2 nights on the front end of our Grand Teton/Yellowstone trip and 1 night for the backend of the trip. Kids loved it. Nice staff. Very rustic and peaceful. Kids loved the game room. Would highly recommend. Will stay there again whenever I am back in Jackson Hole.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 262RunnerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    87
    41
    33
    26
See reviews for
73
66
38
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2006

What a great place. Super location at the base of the ski mountain. Close (15 mins or so) to Jackson town, though gas, food and restaurants in Teton Village. Gorgeous back road drive, Moose-Wilson, as alternative to John D. Rockefeller Parkway to reach hotel.

Very clean. Nice homey atmosphere. Beautiful views of the mountains.

Laundry room, rec room in basement, croquet on the front lawn. Very friendly staff.

Hard to leave. Would definitely stay again.

Btw, the name is misleading. It is not a hostel. They only have private rooms, all with bath.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zolawahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 2, 2005

My family wanted to visit Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks last summer as an extension of a trip to my hometown in Idaho. We were driving from California and we didn't have room to bring all of our camping gear, but we didn't have the budget for hotels either. I discovered The Hostel through some internet research. I was a bit skeptical, but the price was right. I had stayed in Teton Village a few years before, so I knew that the location was good.

We all thought The Hostel was great. The rooms are rather spartan, but I couldn't think of much that was missing that I really needed or that would make me want to pay more money. The kids loved the bunk beds. We could walk all around Teton Village, and the views from all directions are beautiful. The downstairs common areas are casual and comfortable, and they add a social dynamic to The Hostel that you don't get in a regular hotel. You actually meet some of the other guests and enjoy talking to them. The staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the area.

My two children would probably say that their favorite part of The Hostel is the resident yellow Tabby, Yowler (sp?), who is more than happy to visit your room.

I don't recommend day-tripping to Yellowstone from The Hostel. It's just too much driving and makes for a really long day. For Grand Teton NP, however, it's perfect. You can be in the park in minutes.

The only thing we really found ourselves wanting in our room was a small refrigerator. Perhaps they will consider that. Overall, however, it's a wonderful, rustic place to say at a good price. Staying at The Hostel is a great way to insulate yourself from the creeping Aspenization of Jackson Hole.

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 29, 2004

While visiting my daughter in Idaho on our return trip to Wisconsin via the northern route I was treated to the Hostel in Jackson Hole Teton Village. This was a surprise from my 16 year old son and his dad for my birthday. We stopped for the night in Teton Village and stayed at the Hostel one night. It was very nice, price affordable, and the staff there was terrific. Family friendly and their basement lounge area to share with all is really nice. Met some nice people from all different countries. Felt very welcomed.
I would definitely stay there again and refer it to others.
Thanks again for letting me submit this review.
Susan Haas
Grafton,WI.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 26, 2003

Hostel x at Teton Village is a great value for accomodations in the Jackson Hole area. It is very rustic and minimalist. Each room has a tiny bathroom with barely room for a toilet and shower. The sink is in the bedroom. The beds are without box springs, just a mattress on a plywood base. Rooms have either 4 bunk beds or one bed with 2 twin mattresses side by side. There is no TV or other amenities in the room, but for campers used to staying in a simple cabin, it will be more than adequate. It follows the style of European youth hostels: there are recreation rooms adjacent to the office with TVs, computers, chess games, jigsaw puzzles, books, ping pong, and a ski tuning shop. Expect to find a variety of friendly people of different nationalities.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teton Village
0.1 mi away
Inn at Jackson Hole
Inn at Jackson Hole
#6 of 7 in Teton Village
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#5 of 7 in Teton Village
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
23.7 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hostel

Property: The Hostel
Address: 3315 Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Teton Village
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Teton Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — The Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel, a classic slope-side ski lodge at the Jackson Hole Mountain Resort, and a great summertime base for exploring the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone. Newly renovated rooms in Spring of 2011 for an affordable, clean and comfortable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Teton Village
The Hostel Jackson Hole/Teton Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing