We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Nice Horseback Ride

We were a group of 20, so it takes awhile to get everyone mounted and instructions. We did the... read more

Reviewed September 22, 2019
805nsb
,
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
via mobile
One Hour Trail Ride

Had a wonderful ride. Something my wife has always wanted to do! It was a perfect afternoon weather... read more

Reviewed September 19, 2019
MBrooks56
,
Bardstown, Kentucky
Read all 78 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Teton Village
from $303.83
More Info
from $125.00
More Info
from $169.24
More Info
from $140.00
More Info
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
47
12
9
2
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
47
12
9
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great ride hour ride horseback ride easy ride jackson hole horses riders guide scenery trial forest photos ranch
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 78 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2019

The horses are well maintained. They follow suit, so its great for all newbies, young and old. The gal that lead us, WOW! Great sense of humor, knowledge of the area and just a plain great person! Will for sure do it again.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank melllgalll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2019 via mobile

We did the 2 hours loop. Our impression was that it was fun to horseride but nothing was special due to the place. First hour was in a basic forest, nothing special to see. The guide missed we booked 2 hours and we went back to office. Then we went for another loop, in a big flat field this time with again no special great areas to cross. You might be able to find better for 260 dollars (for 4).

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank stlopes78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2019 via mobile

There’s no excuse for the condition of the horses and pathetic handling of their care. I observed horses stepped to gurneys to be shoed. They were panicking in their restraints as the farrier slammed new shoes on the poor animal. Clearly this saves the farrier significant time and brings the cost of shoeing to a minimum. Unacceptable!
Add to this the horses are emaciated and most present serious gaping wounds on their backs from saddles. Those who are not wearing saddles all day in the summer sun.
There are innumerable options in Jackson Hole where the horses are loved and treated with respect. As they should. I’m furious to witness this complete mismanagement of a stable. Please speak up and insist they find experienced and competent equine management

Date of experience: July 2019
2  Thank RustyPapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace R, Owner at Teton Village Trail Rides, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2019

I feel that this review needs to be addressed, as it is radically FALSE!!
1.) the shoeing table that this gentlemen is referring to is a veterinarian based table. It has literally had hundreds of thousands of horses on it. It is very common to use the shoeing table to shoe and doctor horses. It is not cruel or in human in any way. If anything it has saved hundreds of horses lives, as if it wasn’t for this shoeing practice a lot of horses would be sent to slaughter for the mere fact the horse is un able to get shoes on by a farrier that shoes horses in the conventional way of “stand up” shoeing. This gentleman clearly is making false accusations without educating himself first before going to social media.

2.) also I would like to address his false claim of open sore wounds from saddles. This is EXTREMELY FALSE! There are no sored back horses here. I’m not saying that this can not happen, but the claim that he seen this is false. It makes no sense for us to use a sored horse. His inaccurate claims and perception claims of the shoeing table led to more false claims.

3.) the horses that he claimed sat there all day without water in the hot sun is also false. It may have looked that way, but once the horses have new shoes on they get rotated thru out the day with other horses that need new shoes. There were horses tied there all day, just different horses.

4.) our horses are very well taken care of. They are our livelihood as well as part of our family. We get a tremendous amount of comments of how well our horses look and how fat they are. Our horses work hard and I will not apologize for that. They contribute to the local economy and is an asset to the community.

This gentlemen is should really educate himself and if anything ask questions and be informed before running to social media and make false accusations of a business he knows nothing about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2019 via mobile

My father and I went on a two hour ride and it was wonderful!! Our guide Andrea Was very friendly and we all got along great! It was a Beautiful day and on our way we saw lots of wildlife. I think this place is great for all ages and levels. I, being used to ranch’s babying me for how small I am, was shocked to experience no crap! The first thing I noticed was the compassion our guide and the ranch workers had towards horses and animals. I found the horses were in great loving care, and were given everything they needed, including love. I would, and have recommended this place ALOT!! And all those bad reviews that say crap about the conditions of the horses, don’t know what they are talking about, and need to actually look into things. And, as another guide once told me, “horses will be horses.” Meaning they will bolt and buck.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank rumi-moon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2019 via mobile

I have to say that our hotel recommended this as a good highlight activity. However, I was totally upset of the conditions of the horses. My son’s hand was black from petting the head of one of the horses. The horses were not bathed and the manes were all tangled. One of the horses that we rode had an open bleeding sore from the bridle. You can tell they are poorly looked after. There was one horse that was so sickly with conjunctivitis that the eye was shut. It was sad to see. Then the horses were tied to the fence so if they wanted water they couldn’t reach it. I felt so bad. I recommend that you seek another place.

Date of experience: June 2019
3  Thank scribnerwaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candace R, Owner at Teton Village Trail Rides, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2019

I had to respond to this crazy review!

Our horses are very well taken care of. They work hard and are treated with the utmost care.

They are however working horses. No, they do not get bathed. Not only would this not make sense, it is not natural for a horse to get bathed.

Our horses get to run in a huge pasture at night and get to be a horse. After packing guests all day, this is the best and healthiest thing for a horse. They get knots in their mane and roll in the grass, dirt and even an occasional pile of manure. This is a natural for a horse, it is in no way an indication that the horse is mistreated or abused.

The horses get watered at least a dozen times through out the day. This claim is just plain and simply false.

The horse this person is referring to with the eye issue I’m sure is a horse we call Dory. She has pink pigmentation around her eye and we smother her eye everyday with sunblock to prevent her from getting cancer. I saved her from the slaughter truck a few years ago because of her eye and was willing to take care of her eye. She is a really good horse and deserved a second chance. All this person had to do was ask and she would have been informed, but instead she decided to jump to social media and make false claims and uneducated accusations.

Although the “bathing” comment made me laugh, it is not funny when someone decides to make false and ridiculous claims especially when you clearly have no idea of what you are talking about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews