We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we would have found this sooner!”

Mangy Moose Restaurant and Saloon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $36
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Teton Village
Transit: Local bus stop located 500 feet from entrance.
Description: One of the best DINNER options in Jackson Hole? We think so! Since joining the Mangy Moose in May, 2015, Executive Chef, Seth Nelson has created a really great menu using locally sourced meat and game, (grass fed, no hormones or antibiotics), delicious appetizers and deserts. (Try the "Jackson Holes" - warm, house made doughnut holes with vanilla ice cream and huckleberry sauce.) Our General Manager, Ari Borshell has been with us since 1991 and he and the Moose team will do everything possible to make sure you have a great experlience at the Mangy Moose. When you visit us, you will find friendly staff, reasonable prices, and delicious food for the entire family. BREAKFAST options include eggs through yogurt items. A delicious selection of salads, San which espouses and burgers are on our lunch menu. Also, hand tossed pizza is available on our Saloon menu. We have a GROCERY store and WINE shop, (over 325 labels), GIFT SHOPS and LIVE MUSIC on our stage. We are very proud that since 1967 the Mangy Moose continues to be such a popular destination on any to visit to Jackson Hole.
Midland, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish we would have found this sooner!”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

The food was great and we loved the fun atmosphere! It was very reasonably priced. Had a great time and would have gone back if we would have been staying longer.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraJones0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    509
    501
    271
    53
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kalamazoo
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Kid menu, friendly staff”
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Pasta was available for vegetarians and salad and baked potatoes. Reasonable prices for resort town. Breakfast is downstairs in the Rio Cafe. It was ok. Large portion of French toast but my kid only ate 1/4 since the bread was heavy and crunchy. Other kid wanted little box of cereal. They hand it to you with a bowl for $2.50. Our waiters were great. Nice views of the mountain. Nice decor, kept kids busy playing "I spy" while we waited for food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“A mixed bag”
Reviewed August 10, 2011

It's a stunning location and quite a fun atmosphere. Service was ok but our waitress didn't crack a smile very often. The food was pretty poor. Salad very drab and uninspiring, and the burgers were really disappointing. It's pretty easy to make good burgers - ours were awful. I'd be very surprised if they were made on the premises. Nice beer, though.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Neil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
372 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great value; good food....”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My first visit was just recently; it made quite an impression; ate out on the deck....Everything was very fresh.....We didn't wait very long; our food came not long after we ordered....There was quite a crowd; but as I said the service was superior!!!!!...the Mangy Moose; what a name for such a great place to hang out on a August afternoon...We had a great view of the Jackson Hole Tram.....It was a wonderful place to just relax and enjoy the day.....

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DLewis_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Live music, overcharged for drinks”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Visited here after dinner next door. Everyone enjoyed the live music and drinks, especially the local beer. One person was overcharged when they paid off their tab, though. It is kid-friendly before 10 PM until they stop serving food.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank summerhydrangea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangy Moose Restaurant and Saloon also viewed

Teton Village, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Mangy Moose Restaurant and Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing