We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm friendly, smaller hotel”
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpenhof Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Teton Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2007

Wonderful hotel! Very heavy Austrian Tyrol theme. Room was quaint, but large. Bed very comfortable and rooms quickly made up each morning. Great views, hot air balloons rose over the balcony every morning. Construction of nearby new golf course at present, but didn't interfer with stay, will enhance view when finished.

Food was excellent. Breakfast buffet was eagerly awaited, especially the frest fruit. Each day different menu. Loved their homemade soups. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Even wait staff were eager to help with questions and suggestions for days events.

Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Warkslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 303 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2007

My husband and I stayed here for the last night of our Honeymoon. We stayed in a Dolomite Queen room. Although the room was small, it had a lot of character. Carved wood furniture, beautiful bed frame--just little things that made the room very cute. We really appreciated the cleanliness of the room also.

The staff was accomodating and friendly, and they have a sweet Golden Retriever up front sometimes.

The Alpenrose restaurant was good. We did have a misunderstanding with the beef and chicken fondue--apparantly, the meat is served raw and you cook it yourself in warm beef bullion. We did not know this, and felt like we weren't cooking the meat enough. It was always too red. Paranoid feeling! The chef refused to take the meat back and cook it in the kitchen for us. We didn't understand why. That's the only reason why this reviewer didn't give a 5. But otherwise, the restaurant was fine. We REALLY enjoyed the breakfast. Beautiful fresh selection. It was the best breakfast of our whole trip. I have never eaten breakfast sausage like that before!
Overall, we would recommend this hotel to anyone--It's very homey, romantic, and authentic.

Stayed: July 2007
2  Thank Inblueseas77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2007

The location in Teton Village is away from the bustle of Jackson.
Travel to the various places to see and things to do was easy, as the location, although somewhat remote, seemed to be central. When traveling north from Teton Village there is a 2 mile stretch of dirt road and about 6 miles of narrow paved road. Except for the dust, it is not a problem for the average sedan. This road is closed in winter.
I booked 2 rooms for 3 nights each 6 months in advance based upon the reviews. The reviews were correct! Front desk staff were friendly and informative; the room was clean,well light and cheerful with a desk, 2 chairs, plenty of drawer and hanging space and comfy beds.
The feel was definately European - quiet and comfortable. The included breakfast daily was excellent - fresh berries, cereals, yogurt, juices, eggs, sausage, bacon, breads for toasting, and an assortment of luncheon meats and sliced melons.
The Alpenrose fine dining room was awsome! The food was like my German grandmother used to make - only better!
If you plan on a stay in the Teton's, this is a GREAT place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank toomacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2007

The Alpenhof, Teton Village and the town of Jackson Hole, Wyoming, were all wonderful. The Alpenhof has a wonderful European breakfast each morning which is included in the price of your hotel stay. It is nicer than most breakfasts you could find anywhere! Hot, homemade oatmeal, fresh fruits (blackberries, raspberries), delicious pastries, scrambled eggs, bacon, bagels, etc. and gourmet coffees and teas. There are two dogs roaming the hotel, which was very charming. The rooms and service were great, and the scenery is breathtaking, as the hotel itself is set right under a mountain range. Just adjacent to the hotel, are two ski lifts. One is a covered gondola that takes you to the top of Rendezvous Mountain, where you can go hiking. We did this, and saw a mother and baby moose grazing. The other lift is a bit shorter, but is open air. Also wonderful, is the ski lift at Snow King Resort, a few miles away. Yellowstone was an experience never to forget. We rented a car, so that we could spend as much time as we wanted. Per car, you get entrance into Yellowstone and Teton National Parks for $25 for a whole week, as many times as you like. In Yellowstone we saw many geological wonders, as well as bison, coyote and elk. The countryside is wide open in Jackson Hole, Wyoming, covered in sage brush and livestock, reminding you of what the old west must have been like. Try to go to the rodeo while in Jackson Hole. If you want a great steak, try the Mangy Moose in Teton Village, or the Gun Barrel Steak and Game House down in the town of Jackson Hole. If you stay at the Alpenhof, you will have a beautiful room with service to match. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlaroseberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2007

We had the nicest room with 2 bathrooms,sitting room and 2
queen beds 3 TV's only a few steps from the Bistro,where
we had a great meal, our breakfast was included,
Right out the door to the lifts, the Snow was great and temp was 34-40 degrees both days I highly recomend this quaint little Lodge, reminds me of the Alps
Deny V

Stayed: March 2007
1  Thank denyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

The Alpenhof was our home away from home for 8 days. We booked by calling them directly & from the beginning of our stay to the end - all our trip was flawless.

The management & staff were wonderful. We interacted with them a lot, asking their advice, directions, we extended our stay, we booked excursions, bought bus tickets... they helped us with everything. We couldn't have been more pleased with the service.

Our hotel room was very homey and comfortable. The room was always cleaned promptly and the in room products (shampoo, conditioner, lotion & body wash) were large bottles for complimentary products & they were refreshed during our stay - not everyday, but who uses that much product every day?

I'm not sure why some other guests were unhappy, but I believe you will reap what you sow. So be happy, friendly and polite to any staff and you will receive the same respect in return.

We had a wonderful time. If you like cozey, friendly places... stay at the Alpenhof.

Be sure to meet Molly & Sam! Sam is the resident Golden Retriever and Molly is his girlfriend. Sam is also the Director of Guest Relations.


Check out the hotel's website...
www.alpenhoflodge.com

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank MDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2006

My family and I were booked at this hotel for our Christmas vacation. We had three rooms booked. The morning we went to the airport the airline cancelled our flights due to a blizzard in Denver. United Airlines kindly refunded our money because there was no way to get us to Jackson that day or the next. The Alpenhof would not refund our money or even give us credit for use later at their hotel. I was more than happy to take credit fo r later use. We lost $3900 worth of room charges. The management is very infexible and really only concerned with their revenues and not customers. Don't stay at the Alpenhof.

Stayed: December 2006
11  Thank Lakeway,TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Alpenhof, Manager at Alpenhof Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2007

The Alpenhof Lodge has a strict cancellation policy. As a small hotel, rooms left vacant due to last minute cancellations are devastating. For this reason The Alpenhof recommends that all guests buy travel insurance either through their travel agent, web provider or directly with the Alpenhof. With that said The Alpenhof will bend these rules when legitimate family emergencies arise.

When the first blizzard struck Colorado we were not aware of the magnitude of the storm or its consequences. We reminded the caller of our cancellation policy and hoped they would come as soon as flights resumed. It wasn’t until the next day when we dishearteningly read this review that we realized the reviewer would choose to forfeit their entire fees rather than come when flights resumed. This was an unhappy conclusion for all of us and certainly not one we wished for or expected.

Because in the past we have found that regardless of whether a guest has trip insurance or not, they won’t let storms or flight cancellations keep them from their planned vacation; they expect/demand airlines to do their job and get them here as soon as flights resume. This reviewer let the airlines off the hook and frankly did not try hard enough with us. We are only human and if they had kept calling, informing us of how hard they were trying to re-schedule and kept us apprised of any or all complications they encountered--as all our other guests did--who knows what accommodation we would have made with them.

As it was, all other guests who were flying through Denver were able to arrive in Jackson Hole, although many were 2- 3 days late and some had spent sleepless nights in the Denver Airport. These guests were accommodated with complimentary extended stays in all cases to compensate for the missed nights. These guests were warmly greeted at the Alpenhof as are all guests.

We are truly sorry about the outcome of this reviewer’s decisions. The Alpenhof staff and management will reassess our cancellation policies in light of the travel problems encountered by our guests in order to ensure fairness to all.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teton Village
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
0.2 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Snake River Lodge and Spa
Snake River Lodge and Spa
#4 of 7 in Teton Village
726 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Jackson Hole
Inn at Jackson Hole
#6 of 7 in Teton Village
3 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Address: 3255 West Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Teton Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Teton Village
Price Range: $218 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhof Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Teton Village
Alpenhof Teton Village
Alpenhof Lodge Jackson Hole/Teton Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing