We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpenhof Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Teton Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We ended a 10-day tour of national parks in Jackson and this hotel was the perfect place to end our trip. Very clean, comfortable beds, great wide balcony to relax on, very good restaurant, excellent buffet breakfast. The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. It's a few miles (an easy drive) from Jackson in Teton Village, but very convenient for entry into the park, for skiing and for a few other restaurants and small shops. We definitely would go back and recommend it to anyone heading to the Grand Tetons.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank octobersky1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (301)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 301 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2008

Well, much of the criticisms here seem accurate: tired, not cute, untrained personnel. BUT. We went with low expectations based on the reviews here and to spend our days day hiking and rafting, not being in the hotel. The hotel was staffed with young people from around the world. No, some are not professional hotel employees but are as nice as anything.

Also, we got the room for $119 on Hotwire. The two dogs, Sam and Molly, are cute as can be. For kicks I checked the cost of a room at the Four Seasons just up the hill -- $795.00 a night. I will take the Alpenhof thank you.

We got at first what I assume was a "Hotwire" room. Small. That was ok but the hallway and room smelled powerfully of tar. They were fixing the low roof right outside the room. We could see the can of tar. I went to the desk and the woman, without hesitation, moved us to another room, much larger and without smell.

So, get a good price and enjoy your stay.

We don't eat meat or fish -- try the excellent vegetarian pasta at the Mangey Moose. Surprisingly good food there. The more expensive Bistro at the Alpenhof was not as good.

One of the hikes we wanted to take involved taking the tram to the top of the mountain. One of the 2 trams was running but the company that owns the mountain had closed the trails while the other tram was being worked on. If you are a Hiker be aware of that -- but all should be open again in December 2008.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jmstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

We stayed for one night at the Alpenhof Lodge, having stayed at a dude ranch for a week and Yellowstone for a few days. I reserved a Tyrolean room thinking that we would like one of the nicer rooms for our last night in WY. I was surprised to find that I paid around $350 for a very basic hotel room at a ski resort in the end of the summer season.

Perhaps my fault for lack of research. The breakfast was the only redeeming factor. However, the overall price tag was an absolute rip off; if it were winter I'd half expect to pay that price for the location, but not during the summer.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank prelasser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

This was our second time at the Alpenhof, that first was over 16 years ago so we were a bit aprehensive given the negative reviews here, but we were delighted to find that the hotel itself was as good as we remembered. The beds are comfortable. The rooms are quiet and cozy. Yes, the meadow and lower ski hill in the back now sport a Four Seasons hotel complex and the hotel next door has sprouted extra rooms and things, but the hotel was fine.

The restaurant offers food with a Germanic flavor at a fair price for Teton village. Service in the restaurant was slow but it is early in the summer season and they are still hiring help. Jackson as a whole seems to be in a bit of a worker crisis. Not enough affordable housing for help-what's new?

The Alpenhof is one of those places that works best because they have stuck to the same thing and not messed with it. So funky Bavarian decor abounds (Actually I believe that the original owner was Austrian, but . . .)

We were trreated well, the breakfast was very nice and we would go back again. Strangely enough it is now the budget property at Teton Village at $200+ a night.

Did I mention free wifi?

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moyaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2008

The Alpenhof is the Original slopeside hotel at JH/Teton Village. For skiers, that means it has an unparalled location next to the gondola (The Four Seasons is equally well positioned though). The structural design and interior decor reflects the mid-60's Austro-Bavarian immigre style of the original owners; it's dated to some, charming and nostalgic to others.

We stayed during the last week of ski operations prior to an annual periodic closing of the hotel. As a result, some restaurant operations were winding down to limited availability. An attempt at room service dinner was turned away at one point. The restaurant was quite good otherwise.

Overall the staff were very friendly and accomodating. We had a two bedroom/two bath with living/dining room suite (Arlberg Suite). It was spacious and included wet bar, fridge, and microwave enclosed in decorative hand painted alpine cabinets. This allowed me to easily accomodate fickle child appetites and parent snack urges with store boughts. Rates include a good quality breakfast buffet in a charming alpine style dining room with fireplace.

Although the building is 40 plus years, the bathrooms were in excellent updated condition (I personally think is key). The curtains could use a little updating but they were in OK condition. Bedding was excellent. My kids loved the spacious outdoor hot tub and heated pool (record snow falls resulted in enormous adjacent snow packs).

This is smaller hotel that is well kept and well staffed. In the Austro-Bavarian style of yesteryear it lacks the contemporary penache of its neighbors, but it is an EXCELLENT value in a superb location. At about $400 per night for a 2 bedroom (3 queen) suite it was maybe a third the comparable cost (or better) of the neighboring 4 Seasons and for this travelor that's no sacrifice.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vaudeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

My son and I stayed four nights at the Alpenhof for three days of skiing. I am a fan of smaller hotels because they generally make life easier, particularly when you might be walking around in ski boots. The Alpenhof was just right for skiing.

The property is about as close to the Bridger Gondola as you can get. After retreiving your skis at the locker by the entrance it can't be 100 yards to the lift. The back of the property faces the mountain and I'm pretty sure I could throw a rock and hit the gondola from the hot tub. You can easily ski to within a few yards of the front door at the end of the day. I have never stayed so close to the lift, anywhere.

The lodge has 42 rooms on 3 or 4 floors. Everything is a short walk from your room, including the front desk, restaurant, bar, etc. The breakfast included with our room was wonderful. Both hot and cold entrees are available and the hot entrees were different every day.

Our room was smallish but very comfortable with feather duvets on the beds. There is a flat panel TV and robes provided for your trip to the hot tub. The staff was always friendly and helpful regardless of the request.

This isn't the Four Seasons so don't stay here if tha't what you want. It is, however, a very comfortable, convenient, friendly and warm European ski lodge and I'll definitely stay here the next time we go to Jackson Hole.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lake301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Alpenhof this past weekend. We were in town for a quick ski trip and this hotel was perfect for it. The gondola and chair lifts are just around the corner and up a small hill - which meant that we were able to ski downhill right to the door at the end of the day. We lucked out with all the fresh snow so our legs were pretty tired after 2 full days of skiing, but the outdoor hot tub offered a great respite.

The staff was very attentive and friendly. The staffer who checked us in even helped us move our bags up the short flight of stairs to the elevator while we were unpacking our skis in the lobby (there is a ski locker/closet on the ground floor which is very convenient).

The hotel furnishings are somewhat dated but remains very quaint and in line with the alpen-theme. The onsite restaurant and bistro offer great alternatives to driving to Jackson and the breakfast was very substantial, perfect for a protein laden way to start the day. Overall a great stay!
(PS-Dog lovers will be pleased to meet the friendly golden retriever waiting for a belly rub in the lobby.)

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank flagday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teton Village
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
0.2 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Snake River Lodge and Spa
Snake River Lodge and Spa
#4 of 7 in Teton Village
716 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at Jackson Hole
Inn at Jackson Hole
#6 of 7 in Teton Village
410 reviews
7.7 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Address: 3255 West Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Teton Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Spa Hotel in Teton Village
#5 Family Hotel in Teton Village
Price Range: $147 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhof Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Teton Village
Alpenhof Teton Village
Alpenhof Lodge Jackson Hole/Teton Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing