We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location location location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpenhof Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Teton Village
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Location location location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I recently spent a week at the Alphenhof Lodge and had a wonderful experience. The hotel is located maybe a minute walk from the Tram and maybe three minutes to the gondola at Jackson Hole. You can easily return to the hotel any time during the day when skiing, if you want a break or to warm up. A free breakfast was provided. Every morning there was fruit, eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes or waffles and some type of potato. There was cold or hot cereal, pastries,sandwich meats and yogurt. Coffee, tea , juice and hot chocolate was also available. A treat in the afternoon, if you get back in time, of warm chocolate chip cookies and hot chocolate. The room was comfortable. A humidifier was provide to alleviate the dry air you often get in hotel rooms in the winter. The shower was excellent. Not the usual crappy water pressure found in many hotels. There is an outdoor hot tub and heated outdoor pool. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay again!!!
My whole trip was booked through Jackson Hole Central Reservations. One stop shopping.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PRS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    101
    31
    15
    11
See reviews for
89
128
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Two of my friends and I spent 3 days skiing JHMR and the Teton pass the second week in Feb. Staying at the Alpenhof is as much a part of our annual trip as riding the aerial tram. The location is a few steps from the tram. The hosts and staff are welcoming. The rooms are cozy and clean. Overall it is an excellent value. The hotel bar area is the perfect place to begin the day with a great breakfast and to initiate apres ski festivities. In addition to skiing the resort, we spent one day in the backcountry touring and skiing pow off the Teton pass. What an outstanding trip! Can't wait until next season. We will be definitely be staying at the Alpenhof again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Q_65203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Alpenhof for a week and we had a wonderful time! This hotel is so charming in so many ways. The moment you walk in you feel like you are In a small Bavarian mountain town. We arrived just in time for homemade chocolate chip cookies which were delicious! I also loved that the owners 3 dogs would hang out at the hotel. Sam, one of the golden retrievers, loved to have his belly rubbed. The staff was super friendly and helpful. Our room was a bit small but we knew that beforehand and with all the skiing and activities the area has to offer we did not mind. We also ate in the Bistro every morning at the breakfast buffet that's included in the lodging. It was a great breakfast selection to fill us up for a day of skiing. We also participated in après ski a few times at the Bistro too. The hotel is also extremely well located to the ski lifts and all the other restaurants and bars in Teton Village. Is this hotel like the 4 Seasons? No. If you want 4 seasons luxury then stay at the 4 seasons. But if you are looking for something with character, charm and an intimate feel, then this place is it! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a vacation to Jackson Hole.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mieke82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

Alpenhof is an affordable hotel right in the middle of Teton Village near Jackson Hole.
What it lacks in up-to-date furnishings, it more than makes up in hospitality, proximity and amenities (complimentary breakfast, outdoor hot tub).

I was there for a wedding in a small double room. The beds were comfortable, the room a bit dated and the air dry (the hotel shared a humidifier on request).

The complimentary breakfast was a good continental spread. One night we had soup and a salad from the restaurant, which they brought upstairs to the bar so we could be with the rest of our group. For dinner the other nights, we went to other restaurants in the village, which are all in easy walking distance.

I didn't use the hot tub, but others in the party couldn't get enough of it :)

I would love to go back to Jackson Hole and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank libscostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed here over Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. There was a major error with an excursion that we had paid for in advance and it did disappoint us. What we were astounded by though was the effort the staff made to accommodate and compensate us. They went far beyond what was expected and this was hugely appreciated; so much so the error was largely forgotten by us. We had an alpine room with an open fire. The room was so comfortable that to come back after skiing and light the fire and lie on the bed or the sofa prior to dinner in front of a blazing log fire became a holiday highlight. The breakfast was fantastic with a great selection of food. There are glaring issues with being slightly understaffed. One or two more staff the hotel could do with. But, the staff they do have are absolutely wonderful. This was a perfect find for us and when we make it back skiing in Jackson Hole we'll definitely be staying here again.

Room Tip: If there in the winter an alpine room with an open fire is so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dion_dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada Flintridge, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

When researching ski lodges in Teton Village, I read the reviews for the Alpenhof so knew what I was getting. The hotel is a cozy, older ski traditional ski lodge decorated in a plain Swiss/German theme. There is even one of those Swiss coo-coo clocks in the lobby. Our Tyrolean room on the third floor had plenty of space for our family of four. Its not a modern hotel with all the amenities but it has what you need if your expectations are appropriate. For example, there is Wifi in the rooms, but it is slow. There is a television in the room, but its an old tube TV. There is a computer with a printer provided in the lobby, but it was not connecting to the internet when I tried to print out our boarding passes and there was no paper in the printer. Lots of stairs everywhere to get to your room, the elevator or one of the restaurants. On the other hand, it was also almost half the price of what the Four Seasons was charging for the same week, and significantly less than some of the other hotels I checked. We were there during New Years week so prices were high everywhere. The Alpenhof, at $500-$650 (depending on the day) was one of the lower priced options. So its a decent value for Teton Village. The location is great, right next to the tram. Breakfast (which was an adequate hot and cold food buffet set up) is provided as part of the lodging package each morning, which is convenient and saves further money. Beds were soft and comfy.

The staff were all very friendly to us. We requested a late check out on our last day (because our taxi was picking us up for the airport at 1:30 pm) and its was no problem. There are these large dogs that roam the hotel who are very friendly. They are also extremely sedate and kid-friendly.

Some observations and suggestions:
1. The ski storage area is really small and fills up - it would be great if there were an area where you could actually sit and get your boots on.
2. Although the lodge is very close to the tram, there are a lot of steps to climb to get to the main gondolas like the Bridger gondola. A ski valet service near the lifts would be really helpful. Similarly, if you have kids and are putting them into the Kids Ranch, it is a 10 minute uphill climb in ski boots with your kids to get them to the check-in area.
3. There was a nice deck off the room, but no chairs or furniture on the deck. It would be nice to have a chair or two so you can enjoy the deck.
4. The hot water in the shower is very inconsistent. Often running out during the evenings.
5. In the bistro, the hot cocoa is very watery -- probably because you are using powder and water. Our kids wouldn't drink it. You should make real hot cocoa with milk.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mike-lcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreview, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

we were in the village to spend Christmas with our daughter who lives a short block walk away. we had stayed the previous winter at the Snake River Lodge but it was looking a little to spendy for our needs,so this was a perfect choice. We arrived early and although we had been told check in was late afternoon we were planning on just storing our bags for a bit and found our rooms were ready to go. the bed comfortable, room was plenty big enough for our needs (we had the King bed), real coffee mugs and Starbucks in the room (big hit for me) the breakfast was wonderful every morning, and such a nice room to walk into for breakfast. Staff was very friendly and helpful if needed. We cooked mostly at our daughters but during the afternoon when looking for a place to sit and play cards and have a beer the Bistro was a hit, most places were too crowded after runs closed so we always came back to the Alpenhof. the only things we wished they had was a little more selection of draft beers and a place where you could sit and relax and read out side of your room. Since we were spending more time out skiing and hiking and at our daughters small place this was a great value, perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abuelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teton Village
0.2 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa- A Noble House Resort
0.0 mi away
Snake River Lodge and Spa
Snake River Lodge and Spa
#4 of 7 in Teton Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Jackson Hole
Inn at Jackson Hole
#6 of 7 in Teton Village
3.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
8.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Property: Alpenhof Lodge
Address: 3255 West Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Teton Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Spa Hotel in Teton Village
#5 Family Hotel in Teton Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhof Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Teton Village
Alpenhof Teton Village
Alpenhof Lodge Jackson Hole/Teton Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing