We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I liked it!”
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpenhof Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Teton Village
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC US
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I liked it!”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

The Alpenhof Lodge is steps from the tram and the gondola at Jackson Hole. The atmosphere is laid back with a dash of charm and history thrown in. The staff is super accomodating and will even give some mountain tips too. The food was great for both dinner and breakfast. Far above average. The room was cozy. This property feels old, but in a good way. But it is not for those who love modern and slick. We loved that the place is home to three dogs that run around and gladly let you give tummy rubs. If however you have allergies or don't dig dogs it might creep you out. Overall we were very happy.
Jackson Hole mountain proved to be one of those things you have to do at least once. The mountain is dramatic and that tram ride up is better than a a ride at an amusement park. The gondola makes the mountain fun in any weather! For spring skiing, the mountain got very mogul ridden by mid afternoon. Early morning was very icy, so be smart about making the most of your day that time of year. We started at the right hand side of the mountain that sits at a lower elevation and worked our way across and up to higher elevations as the snow warmed up and softened. Lunch at the top of the Gondola lift was yummy. Upstairs lots of options for grown ups and downstair great pizza for the kids- all were satisfied!

Room Tip: We loved our room with a balcony that overlooked the entrance to the Jackson Hole tram.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ehfemia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    101
    31
    15
    11
See reviews for
90
128
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Alpenhof last month. Three things standout about this hotel. First, it couldn't be better located - - 100 feet from the main tram at Jackson Hole. Second, the service provided by hotel staff is outstanding. While there, we asked for assistance with several unusual tasks, and we got terrific help each time. Lastly, the food in both dining rooms is the best !! We travel to Austria occasionally, and the Austrian menu at the Alpenhof matches anything we've encountered abroad. This is a very well-managed, friendly hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

As previous reviewers have said, this place is not the swankiest or most modern option in Teton Village. Although it has a some 'faded edges' to the decor, the friendliness of the staff, the comfortable beds, the location, and above all, the wonderful bar (service and ambience) for apres ski conviviality, make this a great place to stay. This was our third stay at the hotel. Previously we stayed in the smaller dolomite rooms but this year went for one of the bavarian rooms, which was well worth the small additional cost. Overall I think the Alpenhof offers much better value for money than other lodgings in the village. On our last visit, two years ago, we tried out the Hotel Terra, which was very nice, but a quite different style of hotel. However when we were planning this trip the rates offered at the Terra were approaching the level for the Four Seasons...which was absurd, so we returned to the Alpenhof, and in the end we were pleased that we chose to do so. For those who prefer to concentrate their energies on the mountain but want somewhere cosy and convenient to rest weary limbs at the end of the day, it ticks all the boxes. We'll be back, hopefully next year.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLG29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I am late writing this review as we stayed at the Alpenhof in August of 2011. The owners were wonderful! When we discovered that the Edelweiss "Suite" was one large room, the owners saved our trip by allowing us to let our son sleep in a portable crib in an adjoining room at no extra cost! Our room was beautiful in the Swiss style. The hotel restaurant the Alpenrose has a killer wiener schnitzel. The daily European breakfast was also quite good with eggs and bacon, cheeses, and yogurt. When we arrived at the lodge after a 13 hour day of traveling with our infant, crestfallen to hear that the restaurant had just closed, the male owner had the staff bring a delicious meal up to our room. I can't say enough nice things about the owners. We had a great 6 night stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmcgowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASEAN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at the Alpenhof for three weeks, which is probably longer than most guests would stay. The hotel exceeded all our expectations.

It was not that the rooms or the building were exceptional, as other reviewers have said - some fresh paint and a few newer fittings here and there would be a welcome improvement - what will get us to return to the 'hof is the staff.

From Mark the manager to Phil, the guy who carried our bags to our room when we arrived, every single staff person we met gave us six star friendly service. I have never experienced such sincere, helpful and friendly staff anywhere else.

If you are going to Jackson Hole to ski I would not consider staying anywhere else. There are more expensive hotel options in Teton Village, but there are no better ones.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed here for 6 days in the desperate-for-snow-nice-dump week in January 2012. The beds were ULTRA comfy, the sheets divine and the housekeeping well done. (Very picky about those) Our room fireplace had a kindled fire, match-ready to go at the end of everyday. Nice enough hot tub, good sauna and great bathrobes to wear around the hotel as needed. There is a great Apres scene which includes many locals in the upstairs pub, where they "own" a mug space (and get a nice deal on beers). Amy, the Bartender, was really great to get to know and introduced us to a lot of interesting people. We felt like the people who worked and stayed here were, for the most part, interested in good conversations with other people. We had a good breakfast everyday, and the service was really, honestly fabulous. We only had dinner there once- at the dollar burger pub night- I weigh 115 lbs pound but I had two! Yes, the hotel could use a fresh coat of paint--new bathroom fixtures perhaps--but it is all clean, just a little last decade. We really enjoyed our stay because we got to know the great people who work and hang out there.

Room Tip: Slopeside rooms are nice. It is all ski=in, but about two flights of hike to the slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneSmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We spent four nights this January at the Alpenhof and once again enjoyed the old world charm this lodging has to offer. If you are looking for clean, sleek or modern - this is not your place. The Alpenhof is an old school slopeside hotel with a lovely bistro and two glorious hotel dogs. The included breakfast is filling and a perfect start for a day on the slopes. After checking out a couple of other bars, we really enjoyed the ambiance of a post ski brew at the Bistro. The staff was always helpful and quite friendly. If you are looking for a reasonably priced alternative to the modern hotels - this is your place. We also recommend Masa Sushi for dinner over at the Inn - amazing sushi and hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babuloki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teton Village
0.2 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
0.2 mi away
Inn at Jackson Hole
Inn at Jackson Hole
#6 of 7 in Teton Village
3.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.0 mi away
Snake River Lodge and Spa
Snake River Lodge and Spa
#4 of 7 in Teton Village
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Property: Alpenhof Lodge
Address: 3255 West Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Teton Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Spa Hotel in Teton Village
#5 Family Hotel in Teton Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhof Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Teton Village
Alpenhof Teton Village
Alpenhof Lodge Jackson Hole/Teton Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing