We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully accommodating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alpenhof Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alpenhof Lodge
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Teton Village
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderfully accommodating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

I am late writing this review as we stayed at the Alpenhof in August of 2011. The owners were wonderful! When we discovered that the Edelweiss "Suite" was one large room, the owners saved our trip by allowing us to let our son sleep in a portable crib in an adjoining room at no extra cost! Our room was beautiful in the Swiss style. The hotel restaurant the Alpenrose has a killer wiener schnitzel. The daily European breakfast was also quite good with eggs and bacon, cheeses, and yogurt. When we arrived at the lodge after a 13 hour day of traveling with our infant, crestfallen to hear that the restaurant had just closed, the male owner had the staff bring a delicious meal up to our room. I can't say enough nice things about the owners. We had a great 6 night stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tmcgowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    97
    30
    14
    10
See reviews for
84
123
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ASEAN
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at the Alpenhof for three weeks, which is probably longer than most guests would stay. The hotel exceeded all our expectations.

It was not that the rooms or the building were exceptional, as other reviewers have said - some fresh paint and a few newer fittings here and there would be a welcome improvement - what will get us to return to the 'hof is the staff.

From Mark the manager to Phil, the guy who carried our bags to our room when we arrived, every single staff person we met gave us six star friendly service. I have never experienced such sincere, helpful and friendly staff anywhere else.

If you are going to Jackson Hole to ski I would not consider staying anywhere else. There are more expensive hotel options in Teton Village, but there are no better ones.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BizVoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

We stayed here for 6 days in the desperate-for-snow-nice-dump week in January 2012. The beds were ULTRA comfy, the sheets divine and the housekeeping well done. (Very picky about those) Our room fireplace had a kindled fire, match-ready to go at the end of everyday. Nice enough hot tub, good sauna and great bathrobes to wear around the hotel as needed. There is a great Apres scene which includes many locals in the upstairs pub, where they "own" a mug space (and get a nice deal on beers). Amy, the Bartender, was really great to get to know and introduced us to a lot of interesting people. We felt like the people who worked and stayed here were, for the most part, interested in good conversations with other people. We had a good breakfast everyday, and the service was really, honestly fabulous. We only had dinner there once- at the dollar burger pub night- I weigh 115 lbs pound but I had two! Yes, the hotel could use a fresh coat of paint--new bathroom fixtures perhaps--but it is all clean, just a little last decade. We really enjoyed our stay because we got to know the great people who work and hang out there.

Room Tip: Slopeside rooms are nice. It is all ski=in, but about two flights of hike to the slope.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneSmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We spent four nights this January at the Alpenhof and once again enjoyed the old world charm this lodging has to offer. If you are looking for clean, sleek or modern - this is not your place. The Alpenhof is an old school slopeside hotel with a lovely bistro and two glorious hotel dogs. The included breakfast is filling and a perfect start for a day on the slopes. After checking out a couple of other bars, we really enjoyed the ambiance of a post ski brew at the Bistro. The staff was always helpful and quite friendly. If you are looking for a reasonably priced alternative to the modern hotels - this is your place. We also recommend Masa Sushi for dinner over at the Inn - amazing sushi and hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babuloki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Pathetic. I am not sure how they are still in business. After being seated, I waited approximately 2 hours to get a soggy chicken-nugget sized piece of buffalo steak that cost 25$. Our table of 8 couldn't help but burst out in laughter. For their supposedly busy christmas week there were 2 waiters...1 of which (ours) must have been stoned. There is really no other explanation for his lack of service given the number of people in our party and the lack of other people in the restaurant. Maybe the chef was testing his blingfolded, one-hand skills? Is that what took 2 hours? Or maybe they were out of buffalo and were trying to figure out the most effective way to split the one portion into the 4 requested portions for our table? Only if this was the first meal cooked by your first child could you be impressed by the quality, quantity or presentation. Ha. If you have time and money to spare and are in search of the worst utility for your cash you've found the spot.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake, Utah
Level Contributor
323 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This was our second October trip to the Alpenhof and it was wonderful. The staff is excellent. You must remember that Teton Village is a ski resort and October is their "downtime" so most of the village is closed but if you are looking for peace and quiet and relaxation then this is for you. We had a Tyrolean king room that opens onto the front balcony and it is true about the bed. It is huge and the room was so comfortable. They upgraded us from what we had booked when we checked in and we didn't even ask. We had a Dolomite queen last year and loved it. I am looking for something different when I go here. I don't want to stay in a hotel that could be anywhere if I didn't look outside. I want that European feel and they truly deliver. I have priced the other hotels in Teton Village and you won't get a better rate. The breakfast again was perfect and enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbird123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
138 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Alpenhof in August. The hotel definitely could use a complete makeover, but that would ruin the 60s ski lodge vibe. The beds were comfortable and the place was clean... but... dated... as in 30 years past prime. The staff was attentive, and even switched our rooms when we weren't happy with the garden view (below grade) room... no questions asked. The breakfast was perfect and the locations is IDEAL! Centrally located between Jackson and the Tetons.
The kids enjoyed Teton village (bungee, concerts, etc) and we took the gondola to the top for drinks and appetizers during happy hour (a must!). We hiked daily and enjoyed dinner in Jackson. We would stay at the Alpenhof again. Just remember, it's not the Ritz, but it was just fine for us.... and well-priced.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Teton Village
0.0 mi away
Snake River Lodge and Spa
Snake River Lodge and Spa
#4 of 7 in Teton Village
4.0 of 5 stars 610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa- A Noble House Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Terra Jackson Hole, A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inn at Jackson Hole
Inn at Jackson Hole
#6 of 7 in Teton Village
3.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
8.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Jackson Hole
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpenhof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpenhof Lodge

Property: Alpenhof Lodge
Address: 3255 West Village Drive, Teton Village, WY 83025
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Teton Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Teton Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in Teton Village
#5 Family Hotel in Teton Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpenhof Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Alpenhof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpenhof Hotel Teton Village
Alpenhof Teton Village
Alpenhof Lodge Jackson Hole/Teton Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing