We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing to say the least!”
Review of Red Reflet Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Reflet Ranch
Denver, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing to say the least!”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

When we began planning our honeymoon, we knew we wanted to make once in a lifetime memories! So we researched and found this beautiful little chunk of heaven in little Tensleep, WY! We began saving our money and managed to save enough for a 6 night stay... it was not long enough! Everything and everyone was wonderful! We were in awe the moment we arrived from the beautiful cabins to the absolute breathe taking views!
We rode horses, fourwheelers, went to the rodeo, rented the SUV-drove to yellowstone and cody for one day... and another day went to Kaycee WY (chris Ledoux fans)

The staff was awesome... they certainly make you feel at home!

Cant wait to return!!! :)

Room Tip: Each cabin is different- the panorama was awesome! We loved everything about it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrs-little
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    2
    1
    1
    3
See reviews for
52
26
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

I don't know where to start! After doing many hours of research on dude/guest ranches, I chose Red Reflet based on the types of activites offered and the lack of schedule; we were able to do what we wanted, when we wanted. It is more expensive than some, but it is worth EVERY... SINGLE...PENNY.

We were absolutely thrilled with our stay. This is a first class, well run ranch. Bob and Laurence Kaplan are unbelievable hosts, who always have your wishes on the top of their list, every day. Ann Herb, the guest services guru, is fabulous as well. She made sure that our day was packed with activites, if we wanted, and arranged everything with the staff to make each piece of the vacation run smoothly, even down to the meals. Clay and Tammy Trollinger, who run the horse stable, worked so well with us and our boys, making sure we rode as often as we wanted and went out of their way each day. The wrangler interns were great as well. Chris Henderson, the ranch chef, presented "Top Chef" meals each day. He takes such pride in presenting delicious, fresh, organic food and is more than willing to prepare anything you want. My picky 9 yr. old even made him a list, and Chris accomodated him whenever possible. The ENTIRE staff is wonderful, attentive and very friendly!

The area of Wyoming that holds Red Reflet is stunning. You will never tire of the gorgeous mountains that you will see on your horse or ATV. There is an abundance of land to explore, and the staff will help you see as much of it as you can! The chalets are beautiful, well stocked and as comfortable as your own home. The little details they think of are great!

I think what made the biggest impression was the vision of Bob and Laurence. They have made this ranch their life's work, and it is obvious they love this land and want to share it. They are so environmentally concious, and their passion for nature is contageous. We now look at the outside world with new eyes! Our boys, age 13 and 9, were able to do so many activites that they had never experienced. This is a vacation that we will remember forever. Do not hesitate to choose Red Reflet...it truly is a piece of heaven on earth!!

Room Tip: All of the chalets are beautiful, the Panorama offers the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We were there for a wedding and everything seemed wonderful. The price quoted from the owner turned out to be false, it was considerably higher when we received our bill. There were mouse droppings in some of the bedrooms, the staff only picked up our trash one day and we were there for 5 days and there were 10 of us!!!! No beds were made or bathrooms cleaned or any vacuuming done. The day of the wedding the iron was not working and we had to call twice for someone to bring us one. We have traveled all over the world and there was not one place where we stayed that did not clean daily. Several of us wear white socks around the house and every night the socks were filthy! There is a 15% gratuity for services for what I can't imagine!!! We were so disappointed and I know the bride and groom felt terrible about all of this and it was the last thing they needed to be concerned about. It is a beautiful place, but keep in mind...every activity outside of sleeping will be extra, check your bill, get everything in writing!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim51327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Our 3rd trip back - we LOVE this ranch, already have our reservation in for this summer. It's a great combination of luxury and outdoors, all delivered with very personal but unpretentious service.
Horses - They are very good about matching riders with horses in terms of ability, and then training as you go, so every level of rider is comfortable. They'll even loan you cowboy boots, and remember your size for next time . We highly recommend "team penning" where you sort cows while in a horse in their indoor arena. It's a great way to learn how to handle a horse. There are so many trails for horse rides, you'll never see the same one twice.
Non Horse Fun Stuff - ATVs, hiking, shooting range (guns and arche). Every shot a Colt 45? They'll show you how!
Cattle - this is a working cattle ranch. We've helped round up cattle in the fall, and seen calves born in the spring. There are several hundred head - it's really a photographers delight.
Food - unbelievably good and fresh. Eggs from their own chickens, fresh herbs from their garden, watercress from a nearby stream, not to mention the best beef you've ever had. We've had great swordfish, scallops. Food to delight adults and children. A great wine selection - literally hundreds of bottles, and a full bar. All included. You make your own breakfast, which they will supply according to your every wish (fresh oranges and a juicer? no problem!)
Staff - Bob & Laurence are wonderful owners and very involved with their guests - taking us on hikes, having a fabulous dinner. The staff lives on the ranch, so it's a family atmosphere, and everyone has their specialty - food, horses, cattle, housekeeping, etc.
Accommodations - The chalets are huge ranch cabins with jaw dropping views. Hot tubs! Wonderful beds :) They also have a rock solid wireless internet connection in the rooms. They will train you on how to ride an ATV, which is how you get around the ranch. The chalets are far enough away from each other you truly feel a sense of privacy and one with the outdoors..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracebridge, Canada
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2010

The ranch is run by Bob and Lawrance Kaplin, who not only perform this current occupation with a great deal of hospitality and experience, but they both have a very extensive backgroung of facinating life experiences to draw from, which also makes for endless and interesting dinner conversations.

The first 2 things I must comment on are a) the incredible food that chef Tobby puts out everyday, and b) all of the guest facilities being the chalets, lodge, mountain cabin etc, which were designed by Bob, are second to none in terms of quality and features. Nothing was spared.

Next, is the perspective of numbers of people at a resort. A normal resort holds 100 to 200 or more guests all looking to uses the same facilities, in a therefore more crowded and less personal fashion. At red reflet, there are only 4 chalets and although they can hold up to 30 people at one time (if larger crowds book together), the norm is more like 1 family or couple in each for a total number more like 12 or 14 people to share the 25000 acres and all it's beauty and facilities. Basically, it's your family, or your family and a ranch hand if you need guidance and not another soul for miles around. It is therefore, much more private and personal, not to mention more hands on fun with no waiting your turn.

Next, is the endless breath taking landscape which can be enjoyed from the hot tub in your chalet, the deck of the lodge, on ATV, on horse, or hiking. Again, the website looks great, but is unable to compare to the real thing.

And lastly, I would just like to say that every business has issues to deal with, but at red reflet, Bob and Lawrance really know how to role with the punches and always make something positive out of it. For instance, the airline (not red reflet) lost our luggage on the way there and they arranged for one of ther ranch hands to drive that evening to the worland airport to retrieve it for us in time for the first morning. Also, there could have been an issue with space for our luggage in the Ranch's little prop plane which picked us up in Gillet when we arrived, so Lawrence herself, personally piloted their jet on the way back so all of our luggage was accomodated. These are just a couple of examples of the dedication that red reflet has to the quality of it's guest's vacation.

This frist vacation to the ranch was only 5 days because we weren't quite sure how much we were going to like it, but we were immediately sorry we didn't make it a full 7 days from the start, and are already planning our next trip here for a full week and possibly bringing more family and friends to share it with.

Thanks again to Bob, Lawrance, and all your staff Red Reflet,

The Whites.......

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolemarkwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

First of all, the other review (in French) rates the facility as "average". A little research finds this review is rated higher than any other review contributed to TripAdvisor by this individual (9 total), including the Four Seasons in Seychelles and other high-end accommodations worldwide. Every other review was either below average or poor, so I guess an "average" rating on this person's scale must be pretty good!

Okay.....that said. Red Reflet Guest Ranch is a 25,000 acre working ranch located in the Big Horn Basin, east of Yellowstone National Park and on the western side of the Big Horn Mountains. The lower elevation is approximately 5,000 ft., and this is where the facilities are located, including the main lodge, individual chalets, horse and ranch operations......oh, and don't let me forget, their private airport. The higher elevations are at about 8,000 ft., which is where the cattle are located during the summer. The property has small ponds/lakes and streams, as well as abundant deer and elk.

I could go on-and-on, but rather than attempt to cover everything, let me just say you will not be disappointed. Although not cheap by any means, it is an excellent value for your money. The staff, the food, the owners (Bob & Laurence Kaplan) are exceptional, as are the accommodations. Everyone's itinerary is customized, i.e. horseback riding, exploring the ranch by ATV, taking flying lessons from their private pilot, fly fishing, cooking lessons from the chef....and many other activities. You can also volunteer to assist in daily ranching activities, as helping to repair farm equipment or butcher chickens, or simply lay by the pool and take an afternoon nap. Just tell them what you want, and they will try to make it happen.

My wife and I left with a feeling we were part of the family, not simply a customer. We look forward to returning sometime in the future.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butchhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

The Red Reflet Ranch is an amazing place for an adventure in the wilds of Wyoming. We stayed there for a week, but could have stayed a month quite happily. Laurence and Bob, the owners, have created a retreat where nothing is forgotten, everything is provided and the guest is king. The accommodation is superb in modern luxurious chalets, although 'chalet' doesn't do it justice. The units are so much better than that! All have hot tubs, HD TV, the comfiest beds and amazing views. The food provided by Chef Toby is all fresh and of the highest quality, think Prime Rib, fresh fish, homegrown vegetables picked from the garden that day. The riding is outstanding on high quality horses with excellent instruction from Clay and Tammy and their team. My kids had never ridden before, and were helping round cattle on the mountain within a couple of days quite happily, and trying out Barrel Racing and Team Penning with a degree of success! In addition to the horse riding, there are ATVs, hiking through wonderful scenic countryside, shooting, fishing, rock climbing, dirt bikes, even aircraft sight seeing tours. Apart from the aircraft, everything is included. We got involved with cattle rounding and were encouraged to get as involved as we wanted to with the cattle operation. What we wanted to do was arranged for us. If we wanted just to chill, we could do that as well. No pressure from anyone to do anything, but if it was requested, Ann the Guest Services Manager would ensure it was arranged. In the evenings, all the guests, plus Bob, Laurence and Ann dined together sharing stories of the days activities and planning what to do the next., while enjoying fine wines. I would thoroughly recommend the Red Reflet to anyone who enjoys the finer things in life, but without the formality. This was a holiday of lifetime, made extra special by the wonderful staff, incredible scenery and the attention to detail. Oh, and there is no mobile phone signal so the office cannot contact you on a daily basis!! The only negative was having to leave at the end!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 84wessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Reflet Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Reflet Ranch

Property: Red Reflet Ranch
Address: 10 Lodge Rd, Ten Sleep, WY 82442-8878
Location: United States > Wyoming > Ten Sleep
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Ten Sleep
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Reflet Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Red Reflet Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Reflet Ranch Hotel Ten Sleep

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing