We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dirty bathroom, surly clerk” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn Sundance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Sundance
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sundance
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty bathroom, surly clerk”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

Our bathtub was so dirty, not one of the three of us showered there. The floor around the toilet was wet; it appeared that the seal from the toilet to the sewer pipe leaked. The evening desk clerk stated that the breakfast was "around 8AM" and the morning desk clerk couldn't have cared less whether breakfast was available or not. Her chief concern was what guest had blocked 'her' parking place!!

Not a place to stay if it can be avoided!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrior49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t-dodd, Manager at Rodeway Inn Sundance, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
In response to your review, I certainly agree that the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel does not represent the level of service we strive to provide.
We are very sorry that you were dissatisfied with our housekeeping efforts and with the inappropriate treatment you received from our front desk clerk. I appreciate your feedback and have discussed every issue with our staff. They are committed to ensuring that these problems will not occur again.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests. We hope that you will consider this an isolated incident and that you will continue to stay at Choice Hotels for quality accomodations and services in the future.
-TAD
p.s. After discussing the "parking" incident, it was discovered that in fact it was a security related issue and not a matter of "her parking space". The incident was in relation to a person in a poor situation and actually I am very happy that my front desk clerk was able to recognize and report the incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    8
    8
    18
See reviews for
20
16
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
birmingham, AL
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2010

We had an awful stay at this hotel. We were first given an occupied room with the sheets unmade. We then needed to relocate to a new room, this time the key didn't work. finally we got into the room to find it very unclean - it seemed as if the sheets hadn't been changed (other people's hair on pillows, etc). The bathmat in the bathroom was old and mildewed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trippicker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
279 reviews
277 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2009

i agree that the town of sundance is totally dead- there's nothing to see or do there. i think the main reason people might stay there is if they are visiting devils tower national monument, which is a great site to visit. if you go there, be sure to hike on the loop trails to really experience the park. otherwise, the only reason to stay in sundance is if you're travelling along interstate 90 and need a room for a night.
the rodeway was an acceptable place to stay- no worse than any other economical motel chain. my room was quite large and very clean. the furniture was sturdy and clean- it included a table, chairs, drawers, queen bed and expanded cable tv. the only dirty thing in the room was the airconditioner. but what was really strange is that the room had no closet or hangar rod or anyplace to hang clothes. don't know if all the rooms are that way!!
there was a large indoor pool and hottub, laundry and ice machine. a brochure in the room said that breakfast was served at 6:30 a.m., but a sign in the office said that it was served at 8 a.m., which is when they put out the cold cereal, juice and small muffins. i suspect they do it at 8 because most travelers have left by then, so they save money. i think it's inconsiderate of their guests to serve breakfast so late- other chain motels serve breakfast by at least 7 a.m.
overall, i think it's an ok place to stay and it was cheaper than other area motels.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whomever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

Sundance is a dismal little town and this is a dismal little hotel. We arrived to find the advertised pool was closed, the hot tub was closed, there was no breakfast available and one of our rooms had been down graded from a king to a queen with no reduction in cost. After looking round town we decided to pay for the night but to move on without staying.

  • Liked — Nothing going for it.
  • Disliked — Lack of facilities
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fertang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2006

Request a room inspection prior to paying at this location. Not only was my first room already occupied, but the second room had only the beds made. Due to lack of housekeeping in this room, I'm not sure that I actually had clean sheets on my bed. Towels had not been replaced since the last guest, nor had the bathroom facilities been cleaned, nor floors vacuumed. A stain on the bathtub edge indicated to me that it was urine...not coffee or orange juice or beer for that matter. Due to lack of staff, I could not get a hotel employee to come to the room for inspection...nor could I arrange other accomodations. Desk clerk had freely given out my room number to persons inquiring about my arrival and fresh towels were given to a friend to deliver to me. Based on reviews of another national hotel chain in the area...its apparent that customers had gone to their location due to the unacceptable accomodations of the un-named competition. I highly suspect they were talking about Rodeway's Sundance Mountain Inn.

I have never written a review before... good or bad. But this location had to be brought to people's attention. I do have photos available if so requested.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t-dodd, Manager at Rodeway Inn Sundance, responded to this review, June 5, 2009
We are now under new management and conditions have improved drastically. We invite you to come and stay with us.
We have an entirely new staff, from manager to housekeeping with better training and organization. Our rooms are clean and the staff is very courteous. We care about your stay here and recognize that our actions can help influence the rest of your vacation.
Please accept the apologies of the entire Rodeway Inn Sundance staff for your previous experience and once again we invite you to come to the beautiful and historic town of Sundance, WY., and give our little Inn another try.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sundance
0.2 mi away
Bear Lodge Motel
Bear Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Sundance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Sundance
22.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Devils Tower Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bearlodge Mountain Resort
17.5 mi away
Sawin' Logs
Sawin' Logs
#2 of 4 in Devils Tower
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Budget Host Arrowhead Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Sundance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Sundance

Property: Rodeway Inn Sundance
Address: 26 Hwy 585, Pob 589, Sundance, WY 82729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Sundance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sundance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Sundance 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Rodeway Inn Sundance, located near the center of downtown Sundance at the foot of scenic Sundance Mountain. We are one of the area's local hotels and are conveniently located near local dining, shopping and great golfing. We are the central location for major national parks like Devils Tower, Mt. Rushmore/Crazy Horse and the Black Hills National forest all within a hours drive. Our guests are accommodated with comfortable rooms, featuring cable flat screen television, free high speed WiFi, an indoor pool/hot-tub and complimentary coffee service. Also available, we have on site self service guest laundry. We are a pet friendly hotel with a small fee per pet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn Sundance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing