We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large room for a family group - just adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Sundance
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sundance
Minnesota, USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Large room for a family group - just adequate”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were traveling with a family group of 5 adults and this motel had a room to accommodate all of us. The main room had 2 queen beds and a smaller room had a full size bed, and was somewhat clean, but it looked like vacuuming was missed. The breakfast was lacking compared to the other Choice Hotels where we have stayed. It consisted of a bagel, mini muffins, juice and coffee.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    8
    8
    18
See reviews for
20
16
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The BW down the road overbooked and sent us here (see my other review of the BW Sundance). The staff (a younger man and woman) at the Rodeway were very kind as we had just faced a traveler's nightmare at the BW down the street and we were staying at the Rodeway not by choice. They raced to make a up a second room (again long story..see the other review) and to make keys, which kept not working. The rooms were not very clean - the floors of the bathroom and sink area had clumps of hair and stains, there were several dead flies on the table, the refrigerator had disgusting black mold inside it and the sheets were stained. The cleanliness is the reason for a poor rating and I am giving the Rodeway two stars (circles..whatever they are) ONLY because the front desk staff was so nice to me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewlyWedTeacher82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

When we arrived the outside was pleasant, and when I checked us in, the lobty was clean and smelled nice. We tried two rooms before being forced to leave. The first room offered no Internet, but when we went inside that was the least of our problems. We noted that the floors had not been cleaned, the bathroom was dirty and there was no toilet paper, we called the front desk and where given another room, bad idea. When we went in again the floors where not vacuumed, the edges around the tub where brown and had slime on them. The inside of the bath tub was brown with dirt stains. The room itself smelled clean however. My mom went to pull the top blanket off and behold it appeared as if someone had blown their nose in the blanket ( full snot buggers crusted and dried in) the sheets appeared to be dirty with stains of body fluid. We told the girl at the front desk that we could not stay due to the lack of cleanness, and wanted a refund, unfortunately she did not know how to do that, and had to leave trusting our money would be credited. We ended up staying down the road at the Best Western.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quiltybeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Bow, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

On May 29 thru May 31, 2011. Our experiences at Rodeway Inn in Sundance, Wy was awesome. Staff was very freindly and helpful. Rooms were very clean for a older motel, I would recommend people to stay there anytime. I plan on staying there aagain in Aug. 2011 when i return to Sundance, Wy.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucindaGibson-Hegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2010

To be brief and to the point: This motel is the second worst we've ever stay in. (Don't ask about number 1) Just avoid it like the place was horrible, as it is! Sleep under a tree.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoCatSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t-dodd, Manager at Rodeway Inn Sundance, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
Thank you all for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed on these occasions, and I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve services that we offer to our guests.
We hope to have the opportunity to provide accomodations for you in the future and show you how these remarks were used constructively.
Thank you,
-TAD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Our bathtub was so dirty, not one of the three of us showered there. The floor around the toilet was wet; it appeared that the seal from the toilet to the sewer pipe leaked. The evening desk clerk stated that the breakfast was "around 8AM" and the morning desk clerk couldn't have cared less whether breakfast was available or not. Her chief concern was what guest had blocked 'her' parking place!!

Not a place to stay if it can be avoided!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrior49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t-dodd, Manager at Rodeway Inn Sundance, responded to this review, October 12, 2010
In response to your review, I certainly agree that the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel does not represent the level of service we strive to provide.
We are very sorry that you were dissatisfied with our housekeeping efforts and with the inappropriate treatment you received from our front desk clerk. I appreciate your feedback and have discussed every issue with our staff. They are committed to ensuring that these problems will not occur again.
We sincerely appreciate your feedback, as it provides us with the information needed to correct problems and improve on the services we offer our guests. We hope that you will consider this an isolated incident and that you will continue to stay at Choice Hotels for quality accomodations and services in the future.
-TAD
p.s. After discussing the "parking" incident, it was discovered that in fact it was a security related issue and not a matter of "her parking space". The incident was in relation to a person in a poor situation and actually I am very happy that my front desk clerk was able to recognize and report the incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, AL
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We had an awful stay at this hotel. We were first given an occupied room with the sheets unmade. We then needed to relocate to a new room, this time the key didn't work. finally we got into the room to find it very unclean - it seemed as if the sheets hadn't been changed (other people's hair on pillows, etc). The bathmat in the bathroom was old and mildewed.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trippicker101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sundance
0.2 mi away
Bear Lodge Motel
Bear Lodge Motel
#1 of 5 in Sundance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Inn At Sundance
22.2 mi away
Best Western Devils Tower Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Budget Host Arrowhead Motel
0.6 mi away
Bearlodge Mountain Resort
17.1 mi away
Lytle Creek Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Sundance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Sundance

Property: Rodeway Inn Sundance
Address: 26 Hwy 585, Pob 589, Sundance, WY 82729
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Sundance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Sundance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Sundance 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Rodeway Inn Sundance, located near the center of downtown Sundance at the foot of scenic Sundance Mountain. We are one of the area's local hotels and are conveniently located near local dining, shopping and great golfing. We are the central location for major national parks like Devils Tower, Mt. Rushmore/Crazy Horse and the Black Hills National forest all within a hours drive. Our guests are accommodated with comfortable rooms, featuring cable flat screen television, free high speed WiFi, an indoor pool/hot-tub and complimentary coffee service. Also available, we have on site self service guest laundry. We are a pet friendly hotel with a small fee per pet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn Sundance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing