We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost an overload!”

King's Saddlery and Museum
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Sheridan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum is home to a large collection of artifacts from the Old West and tools of the modern cowboy.
Fulltime RVers
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Almost an overload!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

This was one of the main things I wanted to visit in Sheridan and was very pleased with what I saw. Way too much to take in with less than 3 hours. I was fascinated with the leather work area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    47
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
135 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“If you're into horses, roping or riding, you will love this place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We had some time to kill in Sheridan, so stopped by this place after seeing it on Trip Advisor. We are not rodeo or horse people so it wasn't something that I would do again but it did have a ton of historic memorabilia in it, so most people are sure to find something that interests them. The man working on leather carving was very nice and answers questions about his craft.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bergmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good stop for Western History buffs!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in Sheridan on our way to Little Big Horn. My husband found out about this place from the American Cowboy magazine. Sheridan is a nice town and I wish we had more time to explore it.

The museum is free and is packed with interesting items. By packed, I mean packed ceiling to floor with items. Everything from Old West and Native American items to Hollywood cowboy memorabilia, a Sheep Herders wagon and art. Lots of saddles! The store is nice too. The museum is definitely worth the stop.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank zookyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth
Level Contributor
120 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Saddles to die for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The range of saddles in this place is incredible. It's a great place to wander round and there's a museum with loads of interesting things including more saddles of all shapes (well 1 shape really) and designs. There was a custom belt maker doing his thing and his work is well sought after and not cheap. The workmanship that goes into making one of his belts is intricate and it's amazing for an item whose purpose is to hold your pants up. A really worthwhile place to visit and its free. If you're into horses this is a Mecca for equine lovers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank babaDADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OMG!!! The history!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place was incredible. We could have spent all day and only had an hour. This place has so much to see. The history and the money in this place was really something to see. They don't charge an admission but I felt guilty that I didn't pay one. There is a gratuity box that I definitely dropped a few dollars in. This is the kind of place that is a secret and you should not miss. But make sure you have plenty of time to see it all. I was disappointed that we could not stay longer.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ODCleaverMissHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Saddlery and Museum also viewed

 

Been to King's Saddlery and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing