We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stop "on the way"...”
Review of Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mill Inn
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sheridan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed here on my way (every year, several times) from Montana to my Colorado home, and believe me, it's worth it to me to make the extra distance from Billings MT (my usual stopping place on my driving trip) to Sheridan WY , an additional 100 miles. Billings seems uniformly to be a high-cost place to stay, and the Mill Inn is clean, welcoming, convenient to the Interstate and to the many local restaurants in Sheridan, and is to be highly recommended.

And it runs about $70 per night for very nice accomodations, compared to the more-usual $90-110 and up cost of Billings hostelries.

Room Tip: First floor rooms make for an easy, "early morning" getaway, which I prefer to do on drivi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2161mill, Owner at Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

We're very pleased that you are willing to drive an "extra 100 miles" to
stay at the Mill Inn. Since you have stayed with us "every year, several
times on your travels from Montana to Colorado", we look forward to your
next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 378 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a historical property, newly renovated. It use to be a flour mill and is just off of the freeway exit. You can see the silo from the highway and it is one or two miles from the city center. This is an amazing bargain as the rooms are clean and bright as is the hotel lobby and breakfast area. The bed was very comfortable and quiet The rooms were very quiet and the sink was outside of the toilet and shower room. The free breakfast included waffles and cereal.

Room Tip: Rooms are limited so book ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2161mill, Owner at Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for your compliment of considering the Mill Inn "an amazing bargain" with clean and bright rooms, lobby and breakfast area. We're also pleased that your bed was to your liking and that the room was very quiet. We hope your travels continued to go so well for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

As we pulled into the Mill Inn on Sept 14th, we had a smile as we saw the unique set-up of a motel created from an old flour mill............The lobby was attractive and the staff very cordial and friendly. However, we saw that the seating for breakfast was extremely limited (maybe 4-5 tables at best) and the continental selections were just so-so. Our ground floor was clean and had a microwave and refrig. However, the carpet looked and felt very aged ---- and uneven. (the old mill feeling ??!!). Overall though, we were OK with the Mill Inn.....price was very reasonable which made up for some of the weak aspects.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronh47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2161mill, Owner at Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We understand your concern that the seating capacity for our free breakfast
is limited; we are limited in our space due to our efforts to maintain the
historical integrity of the former Sheridan Flouring Mills. One of our
"winter upgrades" is to replace the carpet in several of our rooms. We're
glad you found our "lobby attractive and the staff very cordial and
friendly". Thank you for traveling in our area and staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We only stayed here for one night but I wouldn't mind staying here for a longer stay. The rooms are clean, very nice and plenty of space. They have a flat screen TV, microwave, coffee maker, and a small refrigerator. It's on the National Registry of Historic Places because it once was an old Flour Mill. The front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Our reservation process was very easy and their rates are better than fair. We would definitely stay here if we were ever in this area again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milyroeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2161mill, Owner at Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We're pleased you enjoyed using our "flat screen TV, microwave, coffee
maker, and a small refrigerator" that are in all of our rooms. Thank you
for noticing that our rooms are "clean, very nice with plenty of space".
Should you return to our area, we look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

In some ways I wish that I could give this motel a higher rating but there's something about it that's a bit on the unusual side. Just can't put my finger on it but appears to be in a bit of a time warp.

A plus point is the location as there are lots of fast food outlets in the immediate vicinity.

Another plus point is that breakfast is included in the price but be warned that the food on offer is very basic.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank panama_patti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2161mill, Owner at Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

We're sorry you "just can't put your finger on" what you found "on the
unusual side" with the Mill Inn. We would have appreciated your comments
(or criticisms) at the time of your visit so we could have tried to correct them.
We hope your travels went well for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night in September. We were on a road trip and made it to town late in the evening. No time for sightseeing, just wanted to get food and get to bed. I had made a reservation here from the reviews in Trip Advisor, so I was hoping the room would live up to its good reviews. I was not disappointed in any way. We had a nice big room with a very comfortable king bed. Just what we needed to get a good night's sleep to start the next day. The free breakfast was very adequate and got us started with a full stomach. Also, the location is great, easy off, easy on to the freeway. Overall I'd say this is a very nice place and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2161mill, Owner at Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We're pleased that, based on our "good reviews" on Trip Advisor, you were
"not disappointed in any way". Since you "would stay here again", we will
be pleased to have you as a guest the next time you are in our area. We
hope you enjoy the rest of your travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I am not sure what I expected, but I expected more. This place is a Historic place turned into ,"A fine INN", but I thought it was just kind of plain almost a little dreary. It is an old Flour Mill with history, but I probably wouldn't stay there again. Our room was ok.. Bedding was old and needs to be ugraded. The price was really low and breakfast was included. The floor underneath the carpet was rotting and you could feel it give when you walked. I was surprised it is AAA approved. No extra lock on the door. Door hard to open. If you are into Historic places, then this would be a place to stay, otherwise I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2161mill, Owner at Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

We're sorry you didn't notice the extra dead bolt on our "Onity" card-key
door locks which are on all of our rooms. We're also surprised that you
felt the floor underneath the carpet was rotting since all of our floors are
concrete (original from the Sheridan Flouring Mills). We apologize for not
meeting your expectations and wish you safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheridan hotels
2.2 mi away
Best Western Sheridan Center
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 19 in Sheridan
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sheridan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sheridan
Hampton Inn Sheridan
#1 of 19 in Sheridan
501 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 19 in Sheridan
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sheridan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Inn

Address: 2161 Coffeen Ave, Sheridan, WY 82801-5754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Sheridan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Sheridan
Price Range: $70 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted flour mill houses this inn offering some rooms with mountain views. 42 Units with some units featuring kitchen or jacuzzi tub. Two stories with exterior corridors. Parking on-site. Amenities include irons, hair dryers ,free wireless internet ,coin laundry ,continential breakfast ,excercise facility ,lobby computer,and fax service(fee for this service). Pet friendly (fee), children stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Sheridan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing