We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the price”
Review of Mill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mill Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sheridan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Located in a converted flour mill, the rooms are quirky but clean and nice. It's nice to stay at a local place that has charm and history. The breakfast is good and plenty of choices. The price is really good for he room which is a welcome change!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2161mill, Owner at Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. We're pleased you enjoyed staying "at a
local place that has charm and history", as well as providing a free
breakfast that is "good with plenty of choices".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

210 - 216 of 375 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed for two nights September 2013. The two story 45 room Hotel forms part of the original Mill building (note the tower block rising out of the Motel you see in photos is used as offices) and is on a main road corner relatively close to the Interstate. Apart from a few artifacts in the lobby relating to the former Mill times, the remainder of the hotel including the rooms is no different from anything found in a normal chain motel. Room was OK with all amenities, free WiFi etc but possibly smaller than you find in a modern Motel. Toilet and bath/shower were en suite in a small separate bathroom with the wash sink incorporated into the main bedroom space. Any road noise seemed to go away late evening and started again next morning but was not a problem for us. Hot water totally failed on our first morning (Labor Day) but to the credit of staff was fixed that same day.Waffles and continental style breakfast on offer in morning was OK. There are limited dining facilities nearby and you have to drive a mile or two toward the older part of Sheridan for more, albeit limited, choices. Frankly we did not find as much 'character' in either the Mill, the old town itself or the dining options as we had hoped and came away a little disappointed with Sheridan overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the adjacent main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank royt974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2161mill, Owner at Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

We're sorry you did not find as much 'character' in the Mill Inn, "the old
town itself", or the dining options for which you had hoped. We hope the
rest of your trip went better and that you traveled safely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

20th & 21st August
Our room was accessed from the front, next door to reception. Despite being at the front we had no trouble with noise, in fact we overslept the next morning!
The room was large clean, modern and comfortable and had a small fridge and microwave and a coffee maker.
Breakfast was reasonable with a good choice.
We were happy to stay for 2 nights and would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank WestUSATravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2161mill, Owner at Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the
Mill Inn. We would be very pleased to have you as our guest when you're
"out our way" again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

The positive- we got the last room in Sheridan and didn't have to sleep in out car. Also, it was only $79.00.
The negative- the night desk clerk was a really guy who made me feel like I needed to prop a chair against my door.
The room was OLD and...well...crappy. Ugly dirty bedspread, old matted carpet, a strange wrought iron rail...it was really "rough" and not in a charming "stay in an old mill" sort of way.
It was also a SMOKING room. Who still allows smoking? It WAS the last room in town though, so we plugged our noses and went to sleep. My suitcase still reeks of a thousand Marlboroghs. Hygiene supplies were bottom shelf as well...
All in all, yes, it was better than sleeping in the car, but just barely...

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritagMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2161mill, Owner at Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We are very disappointed that we did not meet your expectations! We wish
you safe travels on the remainder of your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Staff were very accommodating. Room was clean with a good selection of TV channels. We stayed in the suite room. Not much for dining choices in Sheridan but we enjoyed staying here. The historic touches were nice and yet the hotel did not seem old.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank Jef1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2161mill, Owner at Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thank you for being our guest and we're glad you enjoyed our "good selection
of TV channels".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Rooms have outdoor entry. My husband was skeptical when we drove up and he saw a motel like appearance. There were no frills but very clean. Nice pet policy. Did the trick. We had to leave early so we didn't take advantage of breakfast. Seems to be a well kept place to stay at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OmahaKwatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2161mill, Owner at Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We appreciate that you liked our pet policy. We have special "pet rooms"
with flooring, other than carpeting, that allows us to keep them sanitary
for our next guest traveling with a pet. We're glad we "did the trick" and
that we met your cleanliness standards as well as being reasonably priced.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We use Sheridan as a stopover when driving from Denver. After a poor experience at another hotel in Sheridan, we decided to try this place on our next trip through the area.

The rooms are large, clean and quiet despite being near the interstate and at a major intersection. They use the slogan "best rest out west", and it is true.

Staff members here were very helpful (specifically Barbara and the gentleman who checked us in, I believe his name was Dave or David).

The hotel is an old mill that was converted into the hotel, and despite it's age, appears to be very well maintained. The view you get from the glass elevator and top floor is quite spectacular. Parking is ample. Breakfast at this place was your standard continental- waffles, cereals, oatmeal, fruit etc but no hot items like eggs and so forth, but theres a few fast food places nearby (McDonalds, Taco Johns, Goodtimes, Jimmy Johns, Qdoba etc), and you are near a walmart and a few sit down places like Perkins so it shouldn't be a big problem if you like a big breakfast.

Rates at this place are better value than other options in the area. Service by the staff, as mentioned, was great. We will likely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarge_The_Duck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2161mill, Owner at Mill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We are glad that you endorse our slogan "best rest out west" the original slogan for Sheridan Flouring Mills was "best out west". We hope to see you on your next stopover in Sheridan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheridan hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#4 of 19 in Sheridan
423 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Sheridan Center
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sheridan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Sheridan
Hampton Inn Sheridan
#1 of 19 in Sheridan
499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 19 in Sheridan
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sheridan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Inn

Address: 2161 Coffeen Ave, Sheridan, WY 82801-5754
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Sheridan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Sheridan
Price Range: $69 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mill Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A converted flour mill houses this inn offering some rooms with mountain views. 42 Units with some units featuring kitchen or jacuzzi tub. Two stories with exterior corridors. Parking on-site. Amenities include irons, hair dryers ,free wireless internet ,coin laundry ,continential breakfast ,excercise facility ,lobby computer,and fax service(fee for this service). Pet friendly (fee), children stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Hotel Sheridan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing