We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be titled "A Train runs through it"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Sheridan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super 8 Sheridan
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Sheridan
Central Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Should be titled "A Train runs through it"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2007

Only stay here as a last resort. Freight and passenger trains run almost next to the motel sometimes every 15 minutes or so with about 3 or 4 whistle blasts each time. Fairly clean, but microwave in breakfast area was inoperable and you could grow potatoes inside it as it was this dirty.

  • Disliked — Noise of trains and hiway noise
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jsorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    47
    49
    44
    46
See reviews for
77
59
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, MA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

We stayed in this hotel on a cross-country roadtrip from Boston to Seattle. This was THE WORST stop on our trip.

1-Our rooms were DIRTY, and although we reserved non-smoking, at check-in, we were informed that only smoking rooms remained. The rooms STUNK of stale smoke. Additionally, the carpets were dirty, and even sticky, like movie theater carpeting!! It was around 1AM when we checked in, and we had no other options, so we had to stay anyway.

2-We had 2 rooms, and both had broken sinks. 1 leaked from beneath, so your dirty shaving/toothpaste water dripped onto your feet while you used it. The other room had a broken stopper so the sink would not drain at all.

3-This Hotel is practically IN a train yard. Directly behind the hotel, at LEAST 5 sets of train tracks run through (check it out at an online map service). Trains came through blasting their horns all night long...it was loud even with the windows closed, but because the room smelled so bad, we had to keep them open, so it was even louder...thus we got no sleep.

At checkout, we nicely notified the clerk on Duty of our issues, and he told us:
A) That he didn't believe us. "The rooms are clean and if the sink was broken, housekeeping would have notified me"
B) That we get what we pay for. "This isn't a Hilton"
C) That we should have notified him on check in so they could fix the situation.

While I understand what he means about notifying him on check-in, we checked in around 1AM, and went straight to bed. We had already been told there weren't any other rooms available, so we'd have to deal witht he stench, and we didn't discover the sink situation until we tried to use the bathrooms in the morning to prepare for our day.

After we explained this to him, he still refused to believe us, and demanded that we take him back to the rooms to prove it. We showed him, but he didn't feel that the leaking sink warranted any compensation ("just put a towel under it" he said). He did give us a small compensation for the sink that wouldn`t drain of about $25.

We had reservations at other Super 8s along this trip, but after this stay, we cancelled all our Super 8 reservations and rebooked at other chains. I just wanted to share our experience at this AWFUL hotel.

  • Liked — I only had to stay for 1 night!
  • Disliked — Smell, Trains just outside the window, No elevator, Unfriendly/Unhelpful Staff
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostonian29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UV G, General Manager at Super 8 Sheridan, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit. If I can provide any assistance, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 307-6729725. Sincerely, UV General Manager Super 8,Sheridan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sheridan hotels

Eau Claire, WI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2005

A good place to rest your head on your way to somewhere nicer! The room was clean and so were the linens, but the walls were way too thin and so were the towels. Breakfast was the usual Continental fare, we went to the Country Kitchen just down the street instead because the nook that held the food was so small only two people could get in at a time. I think my biggest complaint would be the floor boards creaked EVERY time someone walked in the hallway and the people loitering around the outside of the building were a little questionable. The saving grace to this particular hotel was the in-room microwave and mini fridge, that made our day!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2004

myself, my sister and her husband took the week-
long vacation we had to move her son's belongings
to him in sheridan, wy. it was a long trip from
des moines, ia. we all feel it was definately worth
the trip. sheridan, wy. is one of the warmest,
most friendly cities we have ever been. our stay
at the super 8 was very satisfactory. the employees there made every effort to make our
stay a pleasant one. the stores where we did our
shopping, the restaurants where we ate couldn't
have been more pleasant. people we met on the
street smiled and spoke. the people there seem
to have the attitude that they have time to make
3 out-of-towners feel welcome. we are so happy
for our relative that has moved there. i'll quit with
one more observation. the scenery surrounding
this town is breathtaking.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2004

We stayed at the Super 8 Motel in Sheridan in August 2003 for one night. The lady at reception was neither welcoming nor courteous and literally flung our credit cards back to us after taking our details and then flung pens at us to sign the booking slips. We were under the impression that America only tolerated high standards of customer care and we certainly would not recommend Brenda for any awards in the tourism industry.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sheridan hotels
3.7 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 21 in Sheridan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 21 in Sheridan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sheridan Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Mill Inn
Mill Inn
#4 of 21 in Sheridan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
3.3 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sheridan
1.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Sheridan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Sheridan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Sheridan

Property: Super 8 Sheridan
Address: 2435 N Main St, Exit #20 on I-90, Sheridan, WY 82801-9200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Sheridan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Sheridan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Sheridan 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Sheridan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Sheridan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing