We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice drive and easily accessible”

Bighorn National Forest
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Sheridan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over one million acres of scenic mountains, valleys and alpine tree forests: great for hiking and biking.
Rapid City, South Dakota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice drive and easily accessible”
Reviewed February 17, 2012

We drove over the mountains from Sheridan on Hwy 14 and back to Buffalo on Hwy 16. 14a was closed. It was very nice and picturesque, a little long for me, but worth the drive. The ruggedness of the land on either side is not as pleasant as the Black Hills but the height of the mountains is more impressive.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    51
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
735 reviews
442 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,307 helpful votes
“Beautiful drive.”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

A gentle drive over this gorgeous range provides spectacular views of the western and eastern plains of Wyoming. We marveled at the sceneries as we cruised slowly from Sheridan to Greybull on Route 14, approx a 2 hour traverse that takes you to exposed layers of ancient rocks, lodgepole pine forests, falls, rivers and canyons. At that time, we were warned of an ongoing forest fire towards the southwestern end of the highway but it did not deter us from enjoying this place. The smoke was visible as we headed down from the top of the ridge. We made a stop at the breathtaking Shell Falls, walking along its paved hair-raising trails that provide stunning views of the canyon at every turn. The highlight of this mini trek was walking along the shaky suspension bridge that took us to a direct view of the thundering falls as it carved its way through the granite canyon.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank ebbtide123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The mountains are just beautifull.”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

The trip along Bighorn Scenic Byway and Shell Canyon is just gorgeous. It was quiet up there with such lovely scenery. We wanted to go up to the Medicine Wheel, but it is located on top of a mountain where you have to drive 1.5 miles up a dirt road to the car park, and then a further 1.5 miles walk to get to it. We thought better of this in our rental car not equipped for those sort of rough roads being without four wheel drive. We did see Moose browsing on the willows by the side of the road. We also took a horseback ride from South Fork outfitters just outside Buffalo. There were only the two of us and our wrangler, so it was very nice.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank funkymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“neat day trip”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

very impressive sites..buttes, mountains and animals..

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank naplesnole77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WY
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Summertime Day-loop (High Clearance Vehicle)”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Red Grade Loop (NO 5'rs, trailers, or RV'S) --Wild Wyoming:

From Sheridan head South to Big Horn; you'll plainly see the 'Red Grade' road right up the face of mountain, this is the portion of road requiring high clearance as it is steep and rough, especially in spring. Once on top the road is smoother gravel. Travel across top (approx 1-1/2 hr) via 'forest road 26' -- see Dayton-Kane stage route, remains of a 'Splash Dam', explore a tie hack or mining camp via one of several primitive spur roads, mountain vistas will take your breath away, and imagination will put a 'gold pan' in your hand.

Just past Dead Swede Campground there is a 'Y'. Left at 'Y' takes you to paved Hwy 14. Right at 14 takes you to Burgess Junction (and off the mtn via Dayton-Ranchester back to Sheridan); take a Left at Hwy 14 to Shell-Greybull. This can also be a paved day-loop back to Sheridan via Hwy 16 and Buffalo --consult map.

Hang a Right at the 'Y' (about 1/2 hr more of gravel road, past Tie Flume CG). This is now the 'Black Mountain' road --keep your eye on the horizon to glimpse the old Black Mtn Fire Lookout and you will now catch Hwy 14 (take a Right) at a lower elevation and closer to Dayton-Ranchester (you'll bypass Burgess Junction).

I'll share more of 'my mtn' with you and tell ya a story or two (written by 'Rattlesnake Jack') of a "Crazy Swede", or "Lost Cabin Mine" if ya email me ------- . Here's hoping Sheridan will be your next destination and not just a day-trip!!

NOTE TO SELF: a detailed (forest service or topo) is worth 'gold' here too.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank bd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bighorn National Forest also viewed

 

Been to Bighorn National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing