We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Affordable Getaway with lots to do!”
Review of Hotel Wolf

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Saratoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Wolf
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saratoga
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Besides a great restaurant and saloon at the hotel, it has a relaxed the atmosphere is with lots of friendly people. It's a place to let go of your cell phone and need for wifi. You can easily walk and enjoy this whole town. Not to mention a fun 9 hole golf course, hot springs(emphasis on hot) 24/7 no charge, great way to start the day. Plenty of fly fishing just blocks away on the North Platte,a fun place to cruise on your bike. The drive up to Mirror Lake, in the Snowy Range, is a great drive and offers a nice hike around the lake. It certainly beats the I-70 corridor mountain traffic. Take HWY 287out of Ft. Collins to Laramie, then to Hwy 130 to Saratoga for the quicker and more scenic route. Totally casual attire for this trip.

Room Tip: Call first to hear room descriptions and make a resevation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank cmsauro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 98 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed in a suite here this summer and it was a great hotel. The place is an old west experience with great charm. Our beds were really comfortable and I never like hotel beds. The service was adequate-- there was not a desk person around the clock, but it seemed to work out fine.
I would not recommend the restaurant. The staff gave us a little speech about the importance of making reservations even though there were tables available. The food was overpriced and we waited a considerable amount of time for steaks that were definitely not representative of cattle country. FYI- Don't miss the free hot springs!

Room Tip: Get the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank foodrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Was a wonderful dining experiance! A+++ service and a step back in time! Ate with a few friends and was IMPRESSED!

Room Tip: Never stayed here but have eaten.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendynp2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Had to walk-in to reserve a room last minute, and the bartender/owner maybe was very nice and accomodating. Apartment Suite on the top floor was much cheaper than small room at another hotel I was at the night before in the same town.

Hotel is very old, bottom floor smelled like the restaurant, but the room I stayed in smelled fine. Beds were not bad, but the shower was a little shorter than normal shower. No AC in the Apartment suite.

Cell service and free wifi did work in my room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Whenever I travel through Saratoga (twice a year) I am happy to dine in the historic
Hotel Wolf's restaurant - its charm is rustic enough for casual attire yet elegant enough
to outpace other local eateries. I especially recommend the half pound (fresh ground
sirloin) hamburgers with various toppings and the salad bar (the best one will find in
this sweet small town). Service is hospitable if a bit relaxed in pace during Lunch and
Dinner service (Breakfast is not offered; Restaurant closed Sundays). Free popcorn and
pretzels are available in the Bar adjacent to the Dining Room. Visit for a decent meal
and a unique place to unwind.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Checked in on a Sunday (hotel bar and restaurant closed which was explained when we booked.) Room on the top floor very good value - nice and spacious, comfortable and traditional wild west style decor. Steep stairs and no lift so beware if you have lots of luggage !

We went out to Tommy's Smokehouse for dinner and had baby back ribs and cajun sausage with fresh coleslaw that was delicious. They are only open certain days and close when the meat runs out so check before you go - well worth the effort and the cleanest cafe I have EVER been in!

Went for a walk around Saratoga on Monday morning and fell in love with the place. The people are very friendly, the river is beautiful and the locals say " if you are in a hurry - you're in the wrong town".

The bar opened before we left on Monday so we were able to see the "saloon" and go through the saloon doors, like in the movies. Met a real life cowboy at the bar who still had a twinkle in his eye and a story to tell.

Don't miss Hat Creek - the shop that sells everything! and the local art gallery. We made time to do some of the snowy range road and it was beautiful - would definitely make time to do this in the future. Our one night in Saratoga at the Wolf was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ADEnV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2011

Saratoga is small and downtown Saratoga is even smaller. But it is really beautiful with some really lively and friendly locals.
The hotel has an old antique feeling - in a good way - and owned by locals who mainly have family/extended family working for them. They're very nice and can help get you around.
The bar is a happening place all nights and the food is delicious!
We stayed in Saratoga for a 5 days and met some really great people who all enjoyed hanging out at The Wolf.
The rooms are small, but they're very quiet and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CamilleAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saratoga hotels
0.1 mi away
Sage and Sand Motel
Sage and Sand Motel
#5 of 5 in Saratoga
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Lodge
Riviera Lodge
#6 of 8 in Saratoga
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hood House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Saratoga Hot Springs Resort
13.5 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Brush Creek Ranch
0.3 mi away
CopperLine Lodge
CopperLine Lodge
#5 of 8 in Saratoga
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf

Address: 101 E. Bridge St., Saratoga, WY 82331
Location: United States > Wyoming > Saratoga
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Saratoga
Price Range: $50 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Wolf Hotel Saratoga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing