We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be scared by the outside!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Outlaw Inn
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Rock Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

When we drove up to this hotel during our cross-country trip, my first thought was, get back in the car and drive some more - it looked old, shabby and a little scary. So I checked Tripadvisor, and reviews were positive, so we stayed. Very good decision.

The place is older, but our room was very clean, kind of charming and had a lot more of the free stuff like amenities, cups, etc than any other hotel we'd stayed at on our way. Service was good, wifi worked. Very quiet. I slept like a baby.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoutlaw, Owner at Best Western Outlaw Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2016

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at The Best Western Outlaw Inn ……….. a while ago! In reviewing our Trip Advisor site – we noticed, for some reason, a response had never been sent your way ~ Our Sincerest Apologies. We appreciate your taking time to send us your thoughts and we do hope you’ll stop in again to stay at the corner of I-80 and WY-191. When you do ~ You'll be pleased to see our work over the past 6 years as we've spent a great deal of time (and $$$!) "renewing" this grand, full-service property. The Outlaw Inn & The Open Range Restaurant – both 2015 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winners – along with our famous Outlaw Saloon are celebrating 50 years in 2016 ~ Please come by and help us celebrate!
Until then………Happy Trails to you and yours.
Mark D. Anslemi
Owner & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (714)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 714 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed at the Outlaw Inn for 1 night in september 2012.
Our room was nice and clean, but a bit noisy as it faced the road. There was also a bit of noise coming from the other rooms.
The hotel felt a bit dated, with the indoors swimming pool situated in the middle of an open atrium, next to the bar.
Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parisienn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoutlaw, Owner at Best Western Outlaw Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2016

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at The Best Western Outlaw Inn ……….. a while ago! In reviewing our Trip Advisor site – we noticed, for some reason, a response had never been sent your way ~ Our Sincerest Apologies. We appreciate your taking time to send us your thoughts and we do hope you’ll stop in again to stay at the corner of I-80 and WY-191. When you do ~ You'll be pleased to see our work over the past 6 years as we've spent a great deal of time (and $$$!) "renewing" this grand, full-service property. The Outlaw Inn & The Open Range Restaurant – both 2015 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winners – along with our famous Outlaw Saloon are celebrating 50 years in 2016 ~ Please come by and help us celebrate!
Until then………Happy Trails to you and yours.
Mark D. Anslemi
Owner & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Rock Springs is a mining town, and doesn't cast itself as anything else! It's a pit stop in the middle of no where..! However, this Inn is ok..it's an older "dome" in, meaning everything is built nearly free standing under a cavernous pitched roof..an interesting design. It's clean, very quiet, has everything you might need, pool, bar, restaurant...all right on the premises.
The "Saloon" is, well...old, and has that smell reminiscent of years of smoking. As it turns out smoking in the bar is now banned but you can still tell. The decor there is VERY Sammy Davis and Dean Martin. Prices are reasonable.
The Restaurant: UGH. Nicely appointed, but not so great food. The prices are horrendous. I ordered a burger just to keep costs low and was shocked at it's appearance. Glad I didn't order the steak! The breakfast is complimentary, and it was alright..and they open at 5, which is unusual on this trip, usually its 6..
The Room: old, but in great repair, and comfortable beds. And really, what else do you need?

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms are below grade so VERY quiet! However ours had no window ..so if you are claus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patriotemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoutlaw, Owner at Best Western Outlaw Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2016

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at The Best Western Outlaw Inn ……….. a while ago! In reviewing our Trip Advisor site – we noticed, for some reason, a response had never been sent your way ~ Our Sincerest Apologies. We appreciate your taking time to send us your thoughts and we do hope you’ll stop in again to stay at the corner of I-80 and WY-191. When you do ~ You'll be pleased to see our work over the past 6 years as we've spent a great deal of time (and $$$!) "renewing" this grand, full-service property. The Outlaw Inn & The Open Range Restaurant – both 2015 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winners – along with our famous Outlaw Saloon are celebrating 50 years in 2016 ~ Please come by and help us celebrate!
Until then………Happy Trails to you and yours.
Mark D. Anslemi
Owner & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The motel takes dogs, which we appreciate, and it had a nice grassy place for her to walk and do her business; however, the dog fee at $20 we felt was high. Plus, since the hotel is older, the room was quite small although the bathroom was fairly large and had been updated. Unfortunately the bed was not comfortable, and had we not had a "feather bed" with us which we spread across the bed under us, we would have had a totally sleepless night. Bed comfort is just so important!

The "free" breakfast is in their restaurant, and upon checking in we were given a sheet of breakfast items and told to mark one beverage and three entree type choices (cereals, scrambled eggs, bacon, etc). Our choice of scrambled eggs were dry and tasteless, bacon that we requested be "crisp" was good and was crisp, but the cinnamon roll was doughy in the center and inedible. Coffee my husband described as rather like "soapy water," and the water for my hot tea wasn't hot enough to really brew properly. No fresh fruit was on the sheet, only "fruit cocktail." We ate what we could and were happy to leave the restaurant.

Next time we are in the area, we will look for a hotel with larger rooms and a more modern feel.

Room Tip: Look before you buy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SierraSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoutlaw, Owner at Best Western Outlaw Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2016

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at The Best Western Outlaw Inn ……….. a while ago! In reviewing our Trip Advisor site – we noticed, for some reason, a response had never been sent your way ~ Our Sincerest Apologies. We appreciate your taking time to send us your thoughts and we do hope you’ll stop in again to stay at the corner of I-80 and WY-191. When you do ~ You'll be pleased to see our work over the past 6 years as we've spent a great deal of time (and $$$!) "renewing" this grand, full-service property. The Outlaw Inn & The Open Range Restaurant – both 2015 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winners – along with our famous Outlaw Saloon are celebrating 50 years in 2016 ~ Please come by and help us celebrate!
Until then………Happy Trails to you and yours.
Mark D. Anslemi
Owner & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Based on all the Trip Advisor reviews of this place, I thought I'd head over for lunch. Ordered the "spicy buffalo chicken" sandwich (I think it was called). It came breaded and fried (no mention of this on the menu), which I detest. After removing the breading/outer shell/whatever it was, the bit of chicken left was about the size of one of the tomato slices. At least the fries were okay...

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
Thank mkherz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoutlaw, Owner at Best Western Outlaw Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2016

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at The Best Western Outlaw Inn ……….. a while ago! In reviewing our Trip Advisor site – we noticed, for some reason, a response had never been sent your way ~ Our Sincerest Apologies. We appreciate your taking time to send us your thoughts and we do hope you’ll stop in again to stay at the corner of I-80 and WY-191. When you do ~ You'll be pleased to see our work over the past 6 years as we've spent a great deal of time (and $$$!) "renewing" this grand, full-service property. The Outlaw Inn & The Open Range Restaurant – both 2015 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winners – along with our famous Outlaw Saloon are celebrating 50 years in 2016 ~ Please come by and help us celebrate!
Until then………Happy Trails to you and yours.
Mark D. Anslemi
Owner & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My sister and I were on a cross country trip trying to make is from Mississippi to Oregon in 5 days. This was day 3 and we'd been driving for 12 hours and were ready to crash for the night. She likes Best Westerns so we saw the sign for this one and thought we'd try it.

In the words of my sister "the outside looks like something you'd see in a snuff film" but the rooms were surprisingly nice! It really does look old and crappy/creepy outside except they've built a nice portico/drive through thing that you see in the pictures. Otherwise the outside is very dated, we almost kept driving to find one that looked nicer but I'm glad we didn't. There are rooms with outside doors facing the parking lot and then there are a few levels of inside rooms. It's a weird layout inside with the first floor being below ground and all the rooms' windows on the face in towards the pool so we had to keep our curtains closed the whole time so people couldn't see in. Not having any daylight was kind of a downer but the room was very clean, the beds were comfortable with lots of fluffy pillows and a lovely down type comforter, even real fitted sheets instead of just a flat sheet laid over the mattress. I notice these things! The decor was tasteful, a little on the Western side since it IS Wyoming but I liked it. New TV and furniture. I sleep with earplugs so I can't say how good the insulation between rooms is. I think it is all non-smoking, which personally is a bonus because cigarette smoke makes me really sick.

I've never stayed anywhere with this kind of a hot breakfast set up. At check in they give you a piece of paper with all your choices for breakfast and they are quite generous. I had biscuits and gravy, juice and fruit cocktail. Just a word of warning, it really is fruit cocktail out of a can and it was disgusting. I was hoping for a fresh fruit thing. But everything else was good. They do expect you to tip your server. We forgot to bring our purses cuz we'd already loaded up the car so had to go back out to get some money. So the breakfast isn't totally "included" but it's nice. We got there around 8 and were seating right away but it got super crowded with a line waiting for seating not long after that. They also have "to go" bags for people who have to leave really early before breakfast is served, which I thought was nice of them. It's something simple like an apple and granola bar but I've still never seen that at any other hotel.

Overall I'd definitely recommend this hotel. Don't judge it by the outside like we nearly did!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrstutrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoutlaw, Owner at Best Western Outlaw Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2016

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at The Best Western Outlaw Inn ……….. a while ago! In reviewing our Trip Advisor site – we noticed, for some reason, a response had never been sent your way ~ Our Sincerest Apologies. We appreciate your taking time to send us your thoughts and we do hope you’ll stop in again to stay at the corner of I-80 and WY-191. When you do ~ You'll be pleased to see our work over the past 6 years as we've spent a great deal of time (and $$$!) "renewing" this grand, full-service property. The Outlaw Inn & The Open Range Restaurant – both 2015 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winners – along with our famous Outlaw Saloon are celebrating 50 years in 2016 ~ Please come by and help us celebrate!
Until then………Happy Trails to you and yours.
Mark D. Anslemi
Owner & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were on a cross-country trip from California to Colorado and broke down outside of Wyoming in Utah. We were towed by AAA to a mechanic and luckily Rock Springs was the place we ended up. I say luckily because what an absolutely amazing experience it was to meet Mark, the owner of the Outlaw Inn! He went above and beyond continuing to amaze us in many instances! He helped coordinate us with local towing company/mechanics and made sure we had absolutely everything we needed before leaving us to the road. There's a restaurant in the Inn that makes amazing food and even has vegetarian options! IF YOU'RE PASSING THROUGH ROCK SPRINGS, MAKE A STOP AT THE OUTLAW INN! Even if just to say hey to these friendly folks, you won't regret it :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwoutlaw, Owner at Best Western Outlaw Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2016

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at The Best Western Outlaw Inn ……….. a while ago! In reviewing our Trip Advisor site – we noticed, for some reason, a response had never been sent your way ~ Our Sincerest Apologies. We appreciate your taking time to send us your thoughts and we do hope you’ll stop in again to stay at the corner of I-80 and WY-191. When you do ~ You'll be pleased to see our work over the past 6 years as we've spent a great deal of time (and $$$!) "renewing" this grand, full-service property. The Outlaw Inn & The Open Range Restaurant – both 2015 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winners – along with our famous Outlaw Saloon are celebrating 50 years in 2016 ~ Please come by and help us celebrate!
Until then………Happy Trails to you and yours.
Mark D. Anslemi
Owner & General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rock Springs hotels
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rock Springs
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Springs
Hampton Inn Rock Springs
#3 of 17 in Rock Springs
514 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rock Springs Holiday Inn
Rock Springs Holiday Inn
#7 of 17 in Rock Springs
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rock Springs Green River
2.1 mi away
My Place Hotel - Rock Springs, WY
2.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#5 of 17 in Rock Springs
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Outlaw Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Outlaw Inn

Address: 1630 Elk St, PO Box 1570, Rock Springs, WY 82901-4021 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Outlaw Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Sweetwater County > Rock Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rock Springs
#4 Business Hotel in Rock Springs
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rock Springs
Price Range: $112 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Outlaw Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Outlaw Inn is Southwest Wyoming's finest full-service hotel (locally owned and managed) with an AAA-3 Diamond rating. The award winning Open Range Restaurant (where hotel guests are served a free, hot breakfast) is popular with travelers and locals alike. The entire staff of the Outlaw Inn prides itself in offering the best in service and assistance to travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Outlaw Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Outlaw Hotel Rock Springs
Best Western Rock Springs
Rock Springs Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing