We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“v good japanese restaurant in Rock Springs”
Review of Bonsai

Bonsai
Ranked #1 of 72 Restaurants in Rock Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“v good japanese restaurant in Rock Springs”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

You wouldn't necessarily expect good japanese cuisine few yards away form the interstate in Rock Springs, so the surprise was great when we were served with crispy tempura, nice sushi and teriyaki. Portions are big, and the quality of food pretty good. A little more attention to service would make it a perfect place (the soups were forgotten and they started cleaining the place with quite few tables still eating...).

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BoboRossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    59
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Morgan, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great break from the normal Steak”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Excellent food at reasonable prices, outstanding service right next to the best hotel in town. Great selection of Sushi along with a regular dinner menu. Highly recommend you try it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fred G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Back again!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The sushi at Bonsai was as wonderful as it was last year.....the service is great...beautiful presentation on all dishes we ordered.....second time we went, we also ordered the "boat"....outstanding fish "on board"!! Had several others with us and they, too enjoyed the boat...we will be going back again next year as it is one of our favorite places to eat in Rock Springs!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheridanGreymare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Busy but would not go back.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

There is not much choice on restaurants in Rock Springs & this restaurant was walking distance from our hotel. I read reviews of this restaurant before going & I'm afraid I agree. The chinese is very salty & tasted like chinese food used to 20 years ago. Not a great experience. The portions are huge so don't over order. The best think that can be said about it is it's clean & the beer's cold. Sorry.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Finediiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I did not expect this restaurant to be as good as it was. The sushi was great and the rolls were very imaginative. After I was already stuffed, I saw another table order something that was served on fire and wished I had ordered that myself! Points for creativity and taste. The service was decent and our waiter was very friendly. They also serve Chinese food if you are not into sushi so this would be a good place for everyone.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KelliM819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonsai also viewed

Rock Springs, Sweetwater County
Rock Springs, Sweetwater County
 
Rock Springs, Sweetwater County
Rock Springs, Sweetwater County
 

Been to Bonsai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing