We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay For Families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Rock Springs
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Rock Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Stay For Families”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on June 21, 2013. We were traveling from Denver to Utah and we spent the night here. We didn't make a reservation. We arrived at the hotel at about 9:30 PM.

The hotel was easy to find off the interstate. I'd looked for hotels before leaving home and knew this is where I wanted to stay because it included a free hot breakfast. When you're traveling with four, that's a big added bonus. The quoted rate online was $129 a night for a king one bedroom suite.

We arrived and Miranda was the desk person. She was very personable. After looking up rooms, she gave us a rate of $109. Fantastic! We were in room 210.

The room itself was nice. Good size. It had a king bed, a desk, chair, dresser, TV, couch that folds out and an ottoman. It also had a full kitchen. The room was a bit stuffy so we tried to turn on the air. There's a remote control on the wall but it was hard to get it to connect with the unit. My husband got down on the floor and tried it and it did work but the air flow was pointed directly to the carpet. What it looked like is the air conditioner was installed close to the floor instead of close to the ceiling and when the vents open, it points to the ground. It did cool off the room some but not what it should have.

The fold out sofa was pretty comfortable. A full set of sheets was provided and a comforter. The bathroom had shampoo, conditioner, soap, mouthwash. There was no bathtub; just a stall shower that was a good size. We forgot the kids' toothbrushes and the desk gave us complimentary brushes and toothpaste.

The next morning we went to the breakfast area and it was a madhouse. I don't know what happens to people when there's a free breakfast but they're rude and pushy and everyone is in their own world. The breakfast was pretty standard. Eggs, potates, sausage, waffles, toast, danish, cereal, juice, etc. One thing...there should be some better directions on using the waffle maker. We have one at home and I know how full to make the batter but others don't and they were overfilling the waffle maker over and over making a huge mess and wasting batter. We were there just after 9 AM and many things were running low and not replenished while we were there. No canned redi whip for waffles, no regular butter for waffles. The sausage and potatoes were very good! Coffee was not very warm and by 9:30 the stronger coffee was gone and not replenished. We couldn't find a seat inside and we went outside to the patio to eat.

Checkout was easy and Mary behind the counter was very nice. If we're ever in Rock Springs and need a hotel, we'd stay here again even with the little issues. Price was good and the little things were just little things.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MileHighGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    91
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
189
170
19
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overnighting in Rock Springs, we stayed at the Homewood Suites. I'm a Hilton brands fan but have never warmed to Homewood's model based on other stays in other cities. But the experience at this one was great and will make me more likely to stay at Homewoods elsewhere. In a town short on quality lodging, this is likely the class of the company and in the context of Rock Springs deserves an excellent rating which for us means if we were to go back this property would be our first choice. .

SERVICE:
Friendly and efficient at check in and check out. I like that they called the room half an hour after check in to be sure all was well and we were happy with the room and to ask we had any questions. Nice. The desk staff also happily answered our questions about nearby sites.

ROOM:
Suite style with bedroom and living area separated by a door. Spacious enough bath with lots of counter space at the sink. Kitchenette with full sized refrigerator. Table and two chairs for dining in if you choose or to use as work surface. (No desk in room.). Comfy seating in the living room. Comfy bed and pillows in the bedroom. Good TVs in both. Very clean throughout.

WIFI:
Free and good speed.

FACILITY:
Spacious lobby with comfortable seating if you need to use it as a meet up place. Large gathering room / breakfast and dinner room with fireplace and TV. Noted on our late afternoon check in that there were folks seated at tables in there working on laptops so it serves that purpose too. Worth noting that all public spaces were sparking clean.

FOOD SERVICE:
Homewood properties have a light dinner option in the gathering room on five or six nights of the week. The menu for same for a couple of weeks time is posted on the fridge door in the room and the staff will also tell you the nightly offering when you check in.

We've never been a fan of these kinds of meals so we normally pass. But on this night when we were exhausted and with a dearth of places in Rock Springs to eat, we were pleased to see the dinner choice would work for us. Hot dish, green salad bar offering that was good-ish and fresh with Paul Newman dressings, we were happy.

Same with breakfast in the morning, which was better than most free breakfast buffets for both hot and cold offerings. And decent coffee too as chain dining goes.

A nice touch at Homewood is the friendly people who bus the tables and help keep things clean and tidy.

No liquor license at this property though so unlike some Homewood's that serve wine and beer with the evening meal, that is not the case here.

LOCATION:
Right off the freeway so very convenient yet far enough back you don't hear the traffic noise. An easy hop to downtown (such as it is) and some of the coal mining history we wanted to see.

THIS N THAT:

1) ROOM TIPS: This is a four floor property. Third and fourth floors are best. We asked for an upper floor in quiet location and received the same in room 303.

2) RESERVATIONS: We reserved well in advance and I'd advise the same as it seems to fill up

3) ACCESSIBILITY: Accessible parking in lot. Level in and throughout. All public spaces seemed nicely accessible. Didn't check rooms. But Hilton is better than most for equal access compliance since they settled a national ADA non compliance suit brought by a DC advocacy legal firm a couple of years back with agreement to get all properties in line with the 23 year old law.

4) PARKING: An ample amount in the lot. No bumper car parking here. Hooray.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piacere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great hotel. The suite was very large. Complimentary supper was great! The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. This is the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Great value. If we are ever in Rock Springs again, we will definitely stay at Homewood Suites.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very helpful and accommodating staff. They will go out of their way to make sure your stay a pleasant one. Just let them know if there is anything you need. The menu for breakfast has the typical fare, but with varying hot items daily. Dinner is a nice meal and will save you time and money. The rooms also have a full kitchen, except for no oven. Having a full fridge with a freezer, along with the ability to cook in the rooms, help stretch a food budget during an extended stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent 1 night in a 2 bedroom suite on our route back from yellowstone to denver... what a beautiful property... super super clean.. looks brand new.. staff is terrific.. our suite was PERFECT... the breakfast in the morning was abundant.. kids loved the pool .. we loved the jacuzzi and the fitness room... We cannot more highly recommend this property and the price was very good too... We would recommend highly and definately return but this time for more than just 1 night.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marko1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The only good hotel on Rock Springs. The other ones are dust.
This hotel has a swimming pool, nice gym, friendly staff, kitchenette, free breakfast, free dinner (Monday to Thursday). All other Homewood facilities available.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, worths the price! Staff surveying the breakfast and dinner is very friendly, they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DecQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My family was traveling with my parents. I was very happy to find this hotel that had a suite with two bedrooms and two bathrooms! We could share the common areas and retire to our private areas. The combined suite was cheaper than renting two separate hotel rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rock Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Rock Springs
Hampton Inn Rock Springs
#2 of 16 in Rock Springs
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rock Springs Green River
0.6 mi away
My Place Hotel - Rock Springs, WY
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rock Springs Holiday Inn
Rock Springs Holiday Inn
#7 of 16 in Rock Springs
220 reviews
2.7 mi away
Best Western Outlaw Inn
Best Western Outlaw Inn
#3 of 16 in Rock Springs
654 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel
Clarion Hotel
#5 of 16 in Rock Springs
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Rock Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Rock Springs

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Rock Springs
Address: 60 Winston Dr, Rock Springs, WY 82901-5772
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Sweetwater County > Rock Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Rock Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Rock Springs 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Rock Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing