We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good motel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sundowner Station Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Riverton
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the first night of our vacation. The staff was friendly and the check in went smoothly.

We had a 2 bedroom site that was nice because it also had 2 bathrooms. The air conditioning did not work very well, so it was a little warm in the rooms. Overall it was ok.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank quigley82072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Sundowner Station Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 28 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

Lots of places to choose from in Riverton, was skeptical simply by the motel designation and the outside appearance. However, it was awesome! Great restaurant, has a bar, the rooms have sliding doors to outside. The Holiday Inn is over $100 a night here, we got this room for somewhere around $72 and the room was better than any Holiday Inn I've been to! Great bed, super clean, rocking chair in the room, big flat screen and awesome bathroom. STAY HERE!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I've been here for several weeks and couldn't be happier. My room is clean, quiet, and comfortable. The staff is very accommodating and helpful. There is a restaurant and bar, not the most beautiful, but the food is very good. The exercise room is nice but missing a treadmill. All in all I have been very happy here and would certainly recommend the Sundowner Station.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms have sliding doors, convenient access to parking.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

On the last night of our road trip, we pulled into Riverton, since our intended destination seemed a bit of a bust. Based on TripAdvisor, we drove to the Paintbrush but found it sold out. (Clearly, TripAdvisor is working well for it!) Right next door is the Sundowner, so we tried there and were lucky to get their "business suite". What could that be, I wondered. For well under $100, we got 2 rooms, one with huge meeting table and refrigerator, sink and coffee maker. (Can't recall if there is a microwave.) The bedroom features a huge, California king bed with down comforter in fresh duvet, lots of pillows, fresh, heavy sheets (no see-through sheets here!), a couple of side chairs, flat screen, big closet, and ok bathroom. I say "ok" only because it feels small compared to the rest of the suite, but in reality it's what you'd expect from a motel of this age and price range.
The room overlooks a 3-sided courtyard with bushes, flowers and a fountain, which keeps it well insulated from any road noise. There are sliding doors to a small balcony, and an efficient and pretty quiet A/C unit. Other rooms open onto the parking lot with sliding doors, and while that would have been fine, the interior room offered a more pleasant view.
The receptionist indicated that there are a lot of long-term guests here, which may account for the small number of reviews. Based on the bed alone, we would stay again, and probably not try the Paintbrush after all!

Because it was late and I had a hankering for the prime rib sandwich, we ordered take out from the bar. We got cream of broccoli soup (a bit pasty), lots of stuff from the salad bar, and a huge slab of prime rib for $14. They served it up on real plates on a tray that we took to our room. Great service.

Room Tip: Interior rooms are quieter; the "Business Suite" was a real treat.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Two_and_TheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stopped in Riverton on a road trip.
Sundowner allows pets, which is why we chose this motel.
Bonus: they have excellent Beds, very clean rooms and a nice breakfast!
When travelling through Wyoming, will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruskel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Stopped by this very comfortable family ran Motel on our way back from vacationing in Yellowstone park. They had the perfect room that fit our family of 5, two bedrooms and two baths at a very reasonable rate. The room was clean with plenty of space, both rooms had flat screen TV's The staff was very friendly and willing to answer questions. The beds were very comfortable, best night sleep in ten nights. I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stopped for the evening driving back from Yellowstone. Was an excellent value, the room were clean, the beds were very comfortable, It was the best night sleep we had in ten days. All the employees were very friendly and helpful. We had a nice dinner and breakfast in the attached restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Riverton
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Riverton
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Riverton
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Riverton - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#8 of 12 in Riverton
56 reviews
22.6 mi away
Rodeway Inn Pronghorn Lodge
0.0 mi away
Paintbrush Motel
Paintbrush Motel
#2 of 12 in Riverton
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundowner Station Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundowner Station Motel

Address: 1616 N Federal Blvd, Riverton, WY 82501-2726
Location: United States > Wyoming > Riverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Riverton
Price Range: $75 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 61

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing