We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stop en route to the next stop.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Tree Inn Rawlins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn Rawlins
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Rawlins
Dallas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good stop en route to the next stop.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

Our room was large, clean and quiet. Everything in the room was functional. We had a coupon for the attached diner, and since we do not eat meat for breakfast, the coupon covered an ample hot breakfast. We enjoyed the show at the diner as they handled the orders very efficiently.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roadrunner5527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    28
    23
    7
    9
See reviews for
16
37
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

We stayed here while moving for the summer. I was pleasantly surprised to find that each room comes with a plunger. I called the 'desk' (actually a person in the dirty diner) to tell them our toilet was overflowing.

Me: "Our toilet is overflowing. I flushed it when we came in as an experiment."
Them: "Oh, does maintenance need to bring down a plunger?"
Me: *after an incredulous pause* "No. There is one here already. . ."
Them: "Well just stick it a few times and it should go down." *click*

The beds were rock hard, the carpet was torn and ragged, the hotel diner was a greasy, overpriced, 50s style diner. On our way out in the morning I spotted some sticky mouse traps in the hallway hidden under an overhanging heater. One of them was covered in mouse hair from one that "just got away".

I have no idea how this place has gotten good reviews from people. Ignore what you may see. This is not a good place to stay. You may think this is an exaggerated account, but I swear on everything good and holy it is 100% true.

In fact, I wouldn't even consider staying in Rawlins again. They know that the only people staying there are on long drives. The lack of care and competition is evident throughout the town. If possible, make it to either Rock Springs or Laramie. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rawlins hotels

portland, or
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

You check in at the attached diner next to the hotel, the free breakfast is a $7.75 coupon per person for the diner which is enough to cover some of the breakfasts but not tip, etc. The room was dirty..garbage left under the bed, no water cups, no coffee cups, no coffee for the coffee maker, etc. I called the manager and he delivered some coffee but he said they only have DECAF left!!!! Needless to say I wasn't happy. In the morning the maid opened our door at 8am and started walking in the room and I had to explain to her that we had not checked out yet! She said the front desk told her we where gone. The only good thing I can say about the hotel is that they have a nice fitness room and the decor is at least up to date and nice. Overall the experience was poor and I would not go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superpete93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2009

We stayed with our boys (10,16) in a double room at this hotel this April. The check in is a little weird. You check in at the diner outside. The room was typical, but the very clean and the beds very nice, but maybe a bit firm. There was a fridge and a microwave in the room as well. We paid $90 which I thought was a lot until I priced the other motels in the town! It was in the middle and looking at the other reviews of the area motels, I thought a good deal.
Breakfast is at the diner next to the hotel. They give you a voucher for $7.50 so you can get what you want. I thought that was interesting. The diner was OK. Nothing to squeal about.
If I had to stay in Rawlins again, I would stay here.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraleigh9mm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2009

I was traveling with my dog and found a welcome respite from I-80. The place was easy to find, clean, and the staff members polite and friendly. The spacious and spotless room was nearly soundproof, and came with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. There was a workout room and a diner on the property that provided a free hot breakfast. Free and fast WFi as well. What more could any tired traveler need?

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xmascolors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2008

Clean from the hallways to the rooms, friendly staff. Honored internet price even though I checked in in person. Very good value for the Dollar. Pleasantly surprised at the quality of the Hotel. Highly recommend if your visiting or driving thru Rawlings to stay here. This review is being written connected to their high speed internet which is working awesome.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Papamelx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2008

Clean/Decent hotel & room. Staff is very friendly. My only disappoints were that because I booked through a corporate discount card they didn't give me the free breakfast (a $7.75 disc. on any brkfst at the adjoining diner) - and no coffee in the room.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank diana9559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rawlins hotels
1.1 mi away
Pronghorn Inn & Suites
Pronghorn Inn & Suites
#5 of 18 in Rawlins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rawlins
Hampton Inn Rawlins
#1 of 18 in Rawlins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 18 in Rawlins
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN CottonTree Inn
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rawlins
0.4 mi away
Days Inn Rawlins
Days Inn Rawlins
#13 of 18 in Rawlins
3.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn Rawlins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn Rawlins

Property: Oak Tree Inn Rawlins
Address: 2005 E Daley Street, Rawlins, WY 82301
Location: United States > Wyoming > Rawlins
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Hotels in Rawlins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Tree Inn Rawlins 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Oak Tree Inn Rawlins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Rawlins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing