We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dinner”

Aspen House Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Rawlins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wyoming
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I have lived in Rawlins for the the past eleven years, my husband and I go out of town for fine dining and I had never eaten at the Aspen House. Wow, had I known then what I know now. The Restaurant is wonderful! We had the Crab Rangoon appetizer, my husband had the fillet with the new potatoes and soup. He loved his meal, the meat was so tender, one of the best fillets ever. I had the cowboy steak with the veges and a salad that came with the Aspen House's homemade vinaigrette, it was fantastic. The waitress we had was great and I can honestly say that I will go definitely go to the Aspen House again and will recommend to everyone I know.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chachibalboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    58
    17
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice find out in the middle of nowhere :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Excellent dinner. We started with the Thai shrimp. Very good, but a bit too sweet for my taste.
I had the spicy balinese beef which was very tasty. Not too spicy, just right. My companion had the Cajun ribeye steak. He loved it. The accompanying salad was extra fresh and the dressing home made.

We ate upstairs and I felt like I was eating at my grandmother's home. Very quaint atmosphere. Our waitress was prompt and courteous. We just loved this dining experience.

There is something for everyone on their menu. You won't be disappointed at The Aspen House.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bhauxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick
Level Contributor
148 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Jewel in Rawlins, don't miss this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

My husband and I travel a lot since we are now retired but not nearly as much as when we were in corporate America. Meaning, we have eaten in great restaurants all across America, and this one was superb. Chose this based on other reviews and after a long day of travel we were ready to set down and have a good meal. We were warned that it was expensive but that's a relative statement. I'll pay for a good meal.

Quaint little old house, limited seating but we arrived an hour before closing so got a seat right away. We brought our own wine which they corked for a minimal fee. My husband has a chicken Alfredo pasta which was heavenly. I had the rack of lamb - the best I have ever eaten. Anywhere.

Staff was polite, efficient, friendly. Food over the top. Ambiance quaint. Do not pass this one up if you like excellent food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Five star dining in Rawlins Wyoming?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the only, and I mean only place to dine in Rawlins Wyoming. The service was excellent, the food terrific and the ambiance very nice.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Who would have guessed?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Who would have imagined that a little town like this would have such a fabulous restaurant? The Aspen House is a charming old house that contains an amazing restaurant. We shared steamed chicken dumplings, crab rangoon and calamari, which were all good, especially the dipping sauce for the dumplings. My husband had an amazing steak. My brother-in-law and I both had lamb, which was cooked perfectly and delicious. My sister had the seafood pasta. It had a delicious sauce; Alfredo with a kick. We shared two greatb desserts, carrot cake and triple chocolate cake. Our waitress, Natasha, was charming and efficient. It couldn't have been better.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank COSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aspen House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Aspen House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing