We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not stay at this motel”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Super 8 Rawlins

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Super 8 Rawlins
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Rawlins
salt lake city, utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Do not stay at this motel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2008

This hotel is awful I was in Rawlins for a interview but that is another story. The entire hotel reeks with crigratte smoke houskeeeping is awful breakfast buffet is a joke the staff is rude and super 8 corporate does not care

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — I hated everything
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank resfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    22
    36
    37
    43
See reviews for
46
41
19
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brigham City, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

We usually find Super 8 Motels to be nice, clean and inexpensive when we are just going on a roadtrip. In fact, we had just left the nice Super 8 in Deadwood, South Dakota. (see my review for that one) The Rawlins Super 8 is an exception. Basically, it was a dive. It is hard to even know where to start. My first complaint would be that the entire building is marked No Smoking along with a no smoking sign on each motel door. However, it wasn't enforced at all. Not only was there smoking in the enclosed hallway, but also in the room across from ours, which came into our room by the large gap under our door. We were able to remedy that by going down to the desk and getting an extra towel. (since there were only 2 flimsy ones provided to us in the room.) We blocked the gap under the door with the towel and that took care of the smoke problem. It was quite hot, but when we turned on the window mount cooler, it rattled and hummed so loud, we thought it was breaking down. We left it on since we needed the cool air. Unfortunately, the racket from the cooler wasn't enough to drown out the hacking and coughing all night from the smoker next door. We could hear it as clear as if they were in the same room as us, because the walls seemed to be paper thin. The bed was as hard as a rock!

My advise to you would be to drive to the exact opposite side of town where you will find brand new hotels such as Comfort Inn, Holiday Express Inn, Quality Inn, etc. Right next to a new McDonalds and other nice eating establishments. Unfortunately, we didn't discover them until we had already checked into the Super 8.

I will say that the people running the desk were really nice and apologetic.

  • Liked — The people at the desk were nice.
  • Disliked — Smoke, hard bed, paper thin walls
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitt_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rawlins hotels

Kansas City, Mo.
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2007

We stayed here one night on our way to Jackson. Management was rude and hard to understand their poor english. Charged us $82 which was less than the other chain motels in the town. The room was clean and everything worked. The breakfast selection was only cereal and toast with coffee or juice. The motel seemed to be in the bad side of town but we had no problems. Most eating establishments were on the other side of town with the other motels. We might stay here for another one night stop-over to save a buck but will probably stop in another town since Rawlins has little to offer.

  • Liked — clean and cheaper than other area motels
  • Disliked — Management attitude
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MountainMurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2007

My family after a long day of driving from California decided to stay at this hotel, and after eveything was saifd and done we were charged $256.00 for a stay that lasted 5 hours. . We wanted to find something that would allow our two dogs and the Rawlins hotel was it. When we got there the gentalman spoke very poor english which I dont mind, but he chrged us our rate twice on my credit card. Which I noticed when I checked my balance before we were going to get back on the road. I proceded to speak to the gentelman at the counter and he did understand what I was telling him about him over charging us. So he told me to wait until the manager came in which was about an hour. We spoke to the manager and he stated that we were over charged and proceded to refund our money but it never was credited and it has been 3 days sine our stay. The kicker is after all of that we were charged the next day for another stay and when I called the man acted like he didnt understand and told me that we were going to get that money refunded as well.
My advice to anyone DONT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

  • Liked — ABSOLUTELY NOTHING
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank trideout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2006

On 20 aug I made a reservation online for 31 Aug. I cancelled the reservation on 29 Aug online. I have confirmation numbers for both transactions.

In Sept when I reviewed my credit card bill I noticed a charge for TWO rooms at Super 8. I contacted the Super 8 in Rawlins, WY, the clerk took my name and number and told me I would be contacted later in the evening, no return call. I called the next night no return call.

I contacted Super 8 customer service and told them my story. I received a letter a week later stating that even though I had canceled my reservation I had contacted the motel directly and made another reservation which was charged to my card.

I explained that I had not made another reservation. Customer service gave me the confimation number and told me to take it up with the motel in Rawlins.

I contacted the Super 8 in Rawlins and asked them who made the reservation with the confirmation number that super 8 customer service provided me. The clerk told me it was an invalid confirmation number and no reservation exsisted with that number.

I asked the clerk who charged my cc for the two rooms under that number the clerk did not know and could not provide me with any explaination on who made the reservation, when it was made and what clerk took the reservation. The clerk told me to call Super 8 customer service if I had a problem.

I called super 8 customer service and was told that the super 8 in rawlins had all of that information I needed and that customer service was not going to do anything about it.

Do not conduct any business with the super 8 in Rawlins, WY. I would suggest not doing any business with any super 8 as you have no recourse when unauthorized charges are made to your credit card.

I have contacted my credit card company and I am in the process of disputing the charges.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank B1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2006

We made reservations for one night two months prior to staying at the Super 8 Motel in Rawlins WYoming. We were quoted a price of $64.00 for a non-smoking, two queen room. When we arrived, there was nobody at the desk. Finally a man that we could not understand his english very well arrived and checked us in. He said the total was $85.40 with our AAA discount. Well, I said, I was told it was $64 when I made the reservation (I even wrote it down). He said no. We proceeded to leave. The hotel was not clean and the breakfast room had not been cleaned from the morning breakfast and it was after 1:00 p.m. when we arrived. Do not stay here the service is awful.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Parkspass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amma,WV
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2006

I was moving family accross country decited to stay here because it was the first place we came to. Staff and management unkind, management did not speak english. We should have learned from the two other people in front of us that seen their room and demanded a refund. But we were tired, slept six hours and left ASAP.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVJs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rawlins hotels
2.4 mi away
Pronghorn Inn & Suites
Pronghorn Inn & Suites
#5 of 18 in Rawlins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.8 mi away
Days Inn Rawlins
Days Inn Rawlins
#13 of 18 in Rawlins
3.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
2.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#10 of 18 in Rawlins
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Rawlins
Hampton Inn Rawlins
#1 of 18 in Rawlins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rawlins
2.7 mi away
Oak Tree Inn Rawlins
Oak Tree Inn Rawlins
#11 of 18 in Rawlins
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Rawlins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Rawlins

Property: Super 8 Rawlins
Address: 2338 Wagon Circle St, I-80 Exit 211, Rawlins, WY 82301-5129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Rawlins
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Rawlins
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Rawlins 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Rawlins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing