We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, clean, saved our butts...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ranchester Western Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ranchester
Layton, Utah
Level Contributor
74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Small, clean, saved our butts...”
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We drove over the Bighorn mountains late at night thinking we would find a place to camp. Unfortunately, the mountains were still deep in snow and all the campgrounds were closed. We got to the bottom of the hill close to I-90 and came through Ranchester completely exhausted (on our way toward Montana). We saw the motel and jumped at the chance to sleep in a bed. The woman who checked us in was very nice to me even though it was late at night. The room was very small and everything inside looked like a throwback to the 1960s, but it smelled very clean. I didn't notice any of the bad odors mentioned by other reviewers. I felt completely comfortable here and was happy to have a quiet place to sleep. No complaints about anything at all given the circumstances.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RJSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    4
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
9
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Billings
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

Tiny check- in office had a really bad odor which was nothing compared to guest room. I took two steps in and knew I could not sleep there. I can't tell you what it was that smelled so badly. I have never smelled anything so rank in my life and I am a nurse. Went right back to the office and told the women I no longer wanted to stay there. She refused to give me a refund saying I had made a reservation and that she would spray the room. No amount of spray would have covered up what was present. The more she refused to give me a refund the more I knew I made the right decision not to stay. Apparently she only knew how to run charges not give refunds. I am thankful to my credit card company who I called immediately. Even though this little motel in Ranchester is near by my family I will never go there again and will make the drive to Sheridan WY if needed.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ranchester hotels

Colorado
Level Contributor
136 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2007

We stayed at this hotel as it was the only one within a few minutes from Sheridan Wyoming. All the hotels in Sheridan were booked.

The outside looks ok. It is a smaller, one story, older hotel.
My mom said the office smelled of urine.

Our room seemed clean but it smelled horrible (smoke) and was very hot. It took a long time for the air conditioner to cool it down.
They only had soap in the bathroom, no shampoo.
The beds were hard.

In the morning there was coffee in the office. My mom tried to get ice. She said the hotel attendent had to get an ice chipper and the ice looked a bit dirty.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casinocim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 18, 2005

We stopped here for a good night's rest while on our way to Yellowstone. If all you want is to get a few hours of sleep, this is probably as economical as you will get out there.

However, this is strictly bare-bones accomodation. Our room was extreemly cramped. The fixtures and layout of the room made me wonder if this was originally conceived to be a motel (which it must have been judging by the outside). There were two spotlights in the back corner of the room that served as the room light, the TV was on a wall mount so close to the bed that it seemed to float over it, and everything seemed older and cheap.

From the outside, this place does look nice... just don't expect that level of asthetics to continue on the inside.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ranchester
13.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 19 in Sheridan
388 reviews
12.5 mi away
Best Western Sheridan Center
14.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Sheridan
Candlewood Suites Sheridan
#10 of 19 in Sheridan
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Sheridan
Hampton Inn Sheridan
#2 of 19 in Sheridan
467 reviews
14.3 mi away
Mill Inn
Mill Inn
#4 of 19 in Sheridan
355 reviews
14.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ranchester Western Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ranchester Western Motel

Property: Ranchester Western Motel
Address: 350 US Hwy 14, Ranchester, WY 82839
Location: United States > Wyoming > Ranchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ranchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ranchester Western Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ranchester Western Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing