We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This motel does the job”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Powell
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Powell
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Note: This story has a pleasant surprise - happy ending. We stayed here on trip to visit Yellowstone in week after labor day because accommodations in our price range weren't available in Cody. We arrived after dark and to be honest, the place didn't look the best. Old signage was on side of building, and the hotel looked old and worn. But the desk person was pleasant and intelligent and the lobby/breakfast area was clean and well kept. The rooms didn't have the most upscale decor, and you could tell it was an older property from the room layout. BUT -- The room was clean and the beds were brand new and very comfortable, in fact among the most comfortable of a 14-day trip that included stays at Hampton Inns and the like, generally our motels of choice. Nice, fresh, fluffy towels (better than other places), a microwave and fridge, nearby laundry facilities which are great if you travel light. The room was quiet, thanks to the older construction, and the wifi connection was excellent. Breakfast was OK - cereal, coffee, breads, biscuits and gravy. The clientele included business folks working temporarily in area and teams of high school students in town for a swim meet. All in all, a good, no-frills place to spend the night. Powell itself is an interesting town and you can get some good eats in much less touristy venues than you'd find in Cody.

Room Tip: You can get a little noise if your room is by stairs up to second floor. AC filtered out a lot of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nosybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

This inn provided a very clean environment with great views. The staff were very nice and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on my way in or out of Yellowstone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KShad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

If you use this motel's Value Club Card you get 15% off the room rate. We booked this motel 2 months before our trip and then applied for the card online. It came in plenty of time to use for this location and another one farther down the road.
There isn't a guest laundry but there is a laundromat next door - very clean and reasonable. While we did the laundry from our roadtrip through Yellowstone we relaxed at the outdoor pool.
It might be in the middle of the parking lot near traffic but it was a treat to use.
The front desk staff was friendly and helpful about how to get to nearby places and where to have dinner and lunch.. They put out cookies in the evening and the free breakfast was enough to get you going for the day - cereral, juice, coffee,waffles, yogurt etc.
It was worth the stay there to drive into Cody for the rodeo.
It isn't a fancy place but it does the job!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chambord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We just started using America's Best Value Inn and we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived in Powell. The room is big and spotless, wifi, cable and an excellent continental breakfast. I think we struck gold.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RVFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

We spend 2 nights here. This is a good place to stay to visit Big Horn Canyon. The room & bathroom were clean. The staff at the desk were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was nice (cereals, waffles, toast, ...) .

At the desk there is a pc with internet connection available for the guest for free.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank VisitorsFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2007

It's a fairly budget motel - reasonably clean. Rooms are reasonably sized, with a table and chairs for reading, etc.
The continental breakfast was good - cereal, pastries, juice, etc. Even a waffle maker occassionally.
Powell doesn't offer many choices - this is the one we choose when we visit.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HappyVisitior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell
21.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
22 mi away
Beartooth Inn of Cody
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Powell
Super 8 Powell
#2 of 2 in Powell
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24 mi away
Big Bear Motel
Big Bear Motel
#13 of 29 in Cody
602 reviews
18.4 mi away
Cattlemen Motel
Cattlemen Motel
#1 of 1 in Lovell
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Powell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Powell

Address: 777 E 2nd St, Powell, WY 82435-2004
Location: United States > Wyoming > Powell
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Powell
Price Range: $76 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Powell 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Powell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing