We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ACCHHOOOO!!! Don't stay if you have pet allergies”
Review of Super 8 Powell

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Powell
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Powell
Reviewed July 23, 2013

For a price of over a hundred bucks a night, I expected a lot more than this, and got a lot less than most Motel 6 stays. The motif appears to attempt "rustic west" with pine wood fixture trim and lobby with western motif. Breakfast was okay for a Super 8....but that was about it. Rooms...okay sized, but aged poorly. Both rooms had funky smells...and as it turned out, from previous pet stays...we found hairs from dogs of all sorts on the floor on closer inspection. Everybody in both rooms got a headache from the smell. The pool was tiny and floor exceedingly slippery. The bathroom in the pool area didn't have toilet paper for two days and the floor was constantly soaking wet. There are electric heaters in the pool area...strapped to the walls...but with plugs plugged in. WTF??? SHOCK HAZARD!!!! i will be reporting this to Super 8 corporate and OSHA. This is seriously messed up. The pool was also super cloudy. Overall....pay more and go elsewhere....unless you love dog hair. You don't get what you pay for here.

Room Tip: Best room is the one you don't get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfwilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 328 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

I mean, it's a motel, right? Now that we've gotten that out of the way, this is a very well-maintained motel. I was legitimately impressed with the cleanliness of the bathrooms (and unfortunately quite well-acquainted with it, as I arrived in the midst of a bout of altitude sickness).

Yes, the furnishings and finishes in the room are dated, but they are clearly cleaned very frequently and thoroughly! Even the coffeemaker in the room was clean enough that when I used it to make a pot of tea it didn't taste at all of residual coffee.

Breakfast in the morning was standard fare- though again, an unexpectedly large number of options on the small things; types of oatmeal, types of creamer (Almond Joy? Chocolate Caramel? Of COURSE I'm ready to make bizarre decisions like this first thing in the morning and thank you for the option!).

The furniture in their lobby, reading and breakfast rooms is real, honest-to-god furniture. Not cheap, bulk hotel stuff, but tufted leather, carved wood, brass studs. All of this of course contributes to the rustic atmosphere...Super 8 Powell, cudos. Perhaps my view of you is retroactively boosted by the mental comparison to all of the other disgusting motels wherein I've previously had the displeasure to stay, but you are doing it well. I would actually return, if I were ever to find myself in Powell again, which is a statistical impossibility.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank KaVictoire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Betty W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed Here For The Tour De Wyoming. The Rooms Were Clean And The Beds Were Very Comfortable. The Front Desk Person Was Very Helpful. We Had A Little Bit Of A Delay Getting Into Our Room Because They Were Short Some Staff. The Breakfast Was Ok For A Continental Breakfast. The Pool And Jacuzzi Were Clean. Overall A Good Value For The Money During Tourist Season.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quigley82072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Lodge-themed super 8 with generally comfortable rooms. PoolNO ELEVATOR for 2nd floor access. is small. Fridge & microwave in room was nice. We stayed 2 nights- returned after 4 PM to a room that had not been cleaned. Laundry room with a washer that required the desk staff to mess with it to start it. Breakfast was "why bother" with few choices and what there was had not been kept stocked-we went out for breakfast.

Room Tip: No elevator- if you have issues with stairs, ask for a first floor room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msspode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

hallways and stairwells worn and somewhat dirty. There was a dog in the room next to me that barked.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Powell
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Powell
21.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cody at Buffalo Bill Village
22.1 mi away
Beartooth Inn of Cody
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
A Wyoming Inn
A Wyoming Inn
#23 of 29 in Cody
160 reviews
22.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Ivy Inn & Suites
21.8 mi away
A Western Rose Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Powell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Powell

Address: 845 E Coulter Ave, Alt 14, 3blks from center town, Powell, WY 82435-2114
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Powell
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Powell
Price Range: $72 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Powell 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home is located right here with us at the Super 8. We love serving our guests and making you feel right at home with our rustic decor and friendly service. We look forward to greeting you on your travel adventures! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Super 8 Powell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Powell Hotel Powell
Super Eight Powell
Powell Super Eight
Powell Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing