We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy cabins, noisy town...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Log Cabin Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Pinedale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cozy cabins, noisy town...”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Log Cabin Motel after reading several glowing reviews on Trip Advisor, and I would say the positive comments are right on the money. Our cabin was cozy, clean and tastefully appointed with western-themed quilts and earthenware coffee mugs. The staff is very friendly and accommodating, and there are plenty of options for drinking and dining within walking distance of the motel. My only criticism is that a restaurant/bar across the street had a band playing on their outdoor patio until after midnight which made getting a good night's sleep very difficult. Certainly, this is not the fault of the Motel, but noise is something to consider on weekend nights. Pinedale itself is a charming western town and is a good alternative to Jackson which has become very congested and expensive.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
being2012, Owner at The Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
We have a few concerts on Saturdays, one being during the Green River Rendezvous Days on the second weekend of July, and a couple of outdoor music concerts ending at about 10PM. We are sorry that the band played later than normal on the night you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    43
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
91
132
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Drove up to the Log Cabin Motel after a long day on the road. Saw the little cabins with the little tables and chairs, just like on the website. Thought, this might be our best night yet. Then, after checking in, the helper showed us our room. Argh!!! It wasn't one of the cabins. It was in the building at the back of the office, just through the storage area. I couldn't believe it. I felt totally duped. I had done my research, and this wasn't in the ad.

After dinner, we met Forest, and everything changed for the better. We told him how we felt. He ended up bringing us some amazing cookies, along with a full credit for our room. I actually felt bad that he gave us a full credit. He is an incredible guy and my wife and I talked with him for probably an hour before heading to bed.

Although the room was in an odd location, it was clean and decorated like a nice little cottage. The bathroom was a bit rustic, but clean. Shower, but no tub. Air conditioning would have been nice, but it did cool off pretty good that night.

This place wasn't as nice as the brand new Holiday Inn Express that we stayed in the next night, but it's not always about that. Forest is a great guy and a very caring owner. I think he would truly do anything to make your stay the best that he could, and that is the type of guy I like to support.

I would stay there again in a heartbeat, given I'm staying in a cabin.

Room Tip: If I booked again, I would call to make sure I'm getting a cabin and not the overflow room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
being2012, Owner at The Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
It was definitely nice to meet you and your wife and hear about your trip, especially your stories about Mt. Rushmore and Crazy Horse. As I mentioned in our conversation, we have come up with a new plan for our economy room. We now call all reservations done through the internet for our economy room and make sure they understand it's a cozy and clean room, but not a stand alone cabin. Thanks for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, UT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Staying at the Log Cabin Motel is a must for those visiting Pinedale. We stayed two nights and found it to be a first class establishment and will never consider staying anywhere else, as we visit Pinedale frequently. Sophia made us feel very welcome, and don't miss out on the farmer's market with Forest's baking! The cabins have everything you would want, and give you a good Wyoming feel. The price point is very accommodating, I would pay a lot more for this experience. Highly recommend this place, it was more than perfect for my wife and I, and our two girls! We had a great time staying there over the 4th of July!

Room Tip: If you like sitting on a quiet covered deck, any of the cabins will do!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
being2012, Owner at The Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
It was great having you and your family here over the 4th of July. We look forward to seeing you all again in August. We appreciate your sense that we provide a good value, as we are constantly working in and around the cabins to make sure our guests experience is welcoming and cozy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosamond
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in one of the little log cabins, which was two rooms, which Sofia arranged to suit our family for a long stay, a little kitchen (including stove, refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker), and a bathroom. The cabin also had a (2) TV's and shampoo/conditioner/lotion. It did have the pots, pans, and dishware needed for people staying out of town. It was very quiet and peaceful, and we could sit on the porch and watch the deer come right up to the porch. This is a lovely town, with access to pristine and uncrowded wilderness, including forests, lakes, and meadows. We were tempted not to tell you about this little jewel so it remains uncrowded. The staff even stood in for our wedding held at the cabin :)
Mike, Rochelle, Dustin (March '06)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iron Station NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Owners Sophia & Forest were very helpful in pointing out the area must see sights. The Old Log Cabin Motel was a nice break from the generic hotels. We made a 6,000 mile round trip from NC to see Tetons, Yellowstone, Salmon ID(visiting relatives), Glacier National Park, Crazy Horse Monument and Mt Rushmore before heading home. Pinedale was an unexpected pleasure and one of our favorite stops. Highly recommend the experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
being2012, Owner at The Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
I enjoyed to explore the mountains around Fremont Lake with Ben on our trusted horses - we hope you can stay longer next time out West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

While on a geology trip we spent time here and enjoyed the cabin so much. There is great hiking to do on the trails in the Wind River range. The cabins that are all different have a micro and refer that are so very clean, with vehicle parking right at your door. The flowers and grounds are so beautiful that goes hand in hand with the area. The town has a good grocery store and eateries too. The enviornmentally conscious owners have made these historic cabins such a warm place, that we also stayed on the way back from our geology trip. We will be back to "take a moment"

Room Tip: All rooms are different, saw a few and what I saw were very good, hard to choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 3bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
being2012, Owner at The Log Cabin Motel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Great to experience guests who enjoy so deeply the area and its natural wonders. Thank you for returning for a second time within days, and to allow us to listen to your adventures and enjoyments including our landscaping, flowers and environmental stewardship of this historic place in Pinedale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberlin, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is a collection of sweet cabins first built in the 1920s and maintained with care and style. Our family of four was welcomed and very comfortable. The motel is also close to great trailheads (Sacred Rim and many others -- from 4 to 50 miles long) and only two blocks from a very nice aquatic center, complete with gym, two pools, three-story climbing wall. We spent 3 nights and could imagine staying a lot longer. The hosts were wonderful as well.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pinedale hotels
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Pinedale
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Pinedale
0.7 mi away
The Lodge at Pinedale
The Lodge at Pinedale
#5 of 5 in Pinedale
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Pinedale Inn
0.8 mi away
High Country Suites
High Country Suites
#4 of 5 in Pinedale
15 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sundance Motel
Sundance Motel
#3 of 10 in Pinedale
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Log Cabin Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Log Cabin Motel

Property: The Log Cabin Motel
Address: 49 E Magnolia Street, P.O. Box 217, Pinedale, WY 82941
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Pinedale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pinedale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Log Cabin Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Log Cabin Motel is a National Historic Place established in 1929 in downtown Pinedale. With your own private porch and kitchens, these cabins are the perfect place from which to explore lakes, trails, and any outdoor activity, as well as our nice western town. Check out this Pinedale Specialty Motel for discounts and promos by calling us today. In the off-season, it is a comfortable place for extended stays as the cabin ambiance affords our guests the feeling of a home-away-from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Log Cabin Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing