We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but portion size overfaced us!”
Review of China Gourmet

China Gourmet
Ranked #5 of 30 Restaurants in Pinedale
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
556 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Good food, but portion size overfaced us!”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We ordered a set meal and looked forward to a change from the standard BBQ type food.

The soup came first - in a huge tureen for just the two of us! We enjoyed it, but it blunted the edge of our appetite.

The main courses and rice were just enormous! I'd expect a plate of rice that size to serve 4, maybe 6 people!

The food was hot and very tasty, but we were just overfaced and could not eat that much. As we were staying in a hotel it wasn't practical to take a doggy bag, so it was all wasted.

Incredibly good value - it was a pretty cheap meal - but a shame to waste so much!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soozee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Decent food and prices”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

While passing thru town we wanted something bc burgers... this workedout well. Clean, Decent food and fair prices. We were satisfied.

Helpful?
Thank Maof2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not quite...”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The restaurant is just lovely. It's well-appointed, nicely decorated, and very clean. Unfortunately, the Pad Thai was a COMPLETE miss. It was more like sweet and sour noodles. I have had super spicy Pad Thai and Pad Thai that is too 'fishy', but never have I had a sweet Pad Thai. Literally, it was the same bright red color as the sweet and sour sauce that came with my friend's egg rolls. Not really what I expected at all. As I am unable to eat gluten, this was the only readily available choice on the menu (note: Moo Goo Gai Pan was surprisingly not listed).

Still, my friend loved his food, so if you aren't on a heavily restricted diet this place may work for you. If you have celiac disease or are on a restricted diet, then this place is probably not your best choice.

PS-- Pinedale is a surprisingly beautiful little city that is well worth the visit!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thebioarchaeologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pinedale
1 review
“best!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

great best chinese food,and thai food is really really good. service are nice. lettuce wrap chicken is best, so delicious .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lora7741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Chinese in a small town”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Really good, fresh Chinese in a small town. I usually get the vegetable fried rice and it is delicious! Can't complain!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheRamblingMusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Gourmet also viewed

 

Been to China Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing