We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful River View”
Review of Oxbow Bend

Oxbow Bend
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.00*
and up
Grand Teton National Park Sunset Tour
More Info
$56.95*
and up
Grand Teton Park Self Guide Driving Tour from Jackson Hole
More Info
$225.00*
and up
Grand Teton National Park Tour from Jackson Hole
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Moran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Calm backwater in the Snake River in Grand Teton Nat'l. Park.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Peaceful River View”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

No matter the time of day you'll get stunning views of the Teton Range from this side of the road pullout.

People will tell you this is a great spot for sunrise, as the sun will perfectly light up the mountains. I'll agree with them, but the days I was there were very overcast, and pretty boring. If the water is calm you can get a nice reflection of the mountains too.

There's opportunities to see all sorts of birds on this stretch of the river because it's so calm.

It's worth a stop on the road at least, especially if you're staying at Jackson Lake Lodge, or Signal Mountain Lodge as it's so close.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lord-xeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    36
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
89 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“great for photographs”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Its a great place to take photos, very beautiful and scenic. Didn't get to see any wildlife there. Went there three time times but no luck with wildlife. I guess when it comes to wildlife its a hit or miss.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JujuFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great photo stop opportunity”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great photo op. Beautiful scene with the Tetons in the background of the scenic body of water.
Limited parking. Crowded at times. Quick stop and look, then move on.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Favorite Spot”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We really loved visiting this spot. We had lunch here twice and visited again late one afternoon. It truly is a beautiful sight, popular with the birds (especially pelicans) as well as people. Make sure you make time to visit at least once.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MSandersCarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Serene scenery”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Oxbow Bend is one of my favorite places. If you can get there in late September, the Fall colors of the Aspen trees are beautiful as they reflect on the water there. I took a photo, had it enlarged and framed and it is now hanging in our house for us to revisit whenever we look at it. OB is such a peaceful place, especially if not many other people are there. I could sit and listen to the sounds there for a long time...ducks quacking or flying in for a landing in the water, geese honking, beavers splashing about, perhaps a Moose in the distance...It is truly a wonderful place that I wish I could visit every day. If you love nature, visit here and you won't regret it. I was just there last week and I miss it already!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ranny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxbow Bend also viewed

 
Moran, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to Oxbow Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing