We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wow!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxbow Bend

Oxbow Bend
Book In Advance
$129.00*
and up
Grand Teton National Park Sunset Tour
Ranked #2 of 7 things to do in Moran
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Calm backwater in the Snake River in Grand Teton Nat'l. Park.
Houston,TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We rented canoes and kayaks at Dornan's and paddled from just below the Jackson Lake Dam to Pacific Creek, thru the Oxbow. What a peaceful and beautiful trip. We saw beaver, eagles, geese, huge trout. Unfortunately, we did this midday, so didn't see alot of the other wildlife we'd have seen if it was in the morning or early evening. But the view of the Tetons and the calm clear water made it something I wouldn't have missed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ncntrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    32
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Don't Miss Photo Op!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Beautiful pictures are taken here. If you go early in the morning as the sun is coming up the sky has a pink tint along with the blue. Also in the fall it's not uncommon to see moose hanging out here.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AvalonGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Most picturesque setting in Tetons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a must-see... it is just an incredible view of the Tetons. Would be a great place to have a picnic or just sit and enjoy the view. We saw a bear close by. Any photo with any camera will be a keeper.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank emp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“bear sittings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is a great area to look for the 399 and her cubs. They like to hang out here at times. Even if the bears are not around, it's a pretty area to hike around and seems to attract a fair amount of wildlife.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank debra k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourbonnais
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just like the pictures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Probably one of the most photographed places around, especially in the Tetons, magnificent view and good area for animal viewing. Saw beaver and a grizzly on our stay.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxbow Bend also viewed

Moran, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Grand Teton National Park, WY
Grand Teton National Park, WY
 

Been to Oxbow Bend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing