We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins were great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Togwotee Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cabins were great”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in one of the housekeeping cabins. It was very clean and comfortable for the 3 of us. We cooked our own breakfasts and then set out for several Grand Teton day trips. The staff was incredibly helpful! They arranged a rafting trip and a chuck wagon dinner for us. The cabin area was pretty full but very quiet at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 269familyof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    194
    64
    29
    21
See reviews for
217
217
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Togwotee was our first real stop on a 10-day vacation to the Grand Tetons, Yellowstone, Wyoming and the Black Hills. Although we were a little concerned about finding it, we didn't need to be. The lodge is right on the highway into the national park in the midst of the Bridger-Teton and Shoshone National Forests. Our cabin was at the back of the property, right on the edge of the trees. The view wasn't spectacular, but we were close enough to the wilderness that deer came right by our cabin twice.

Check-in was a breeze, and we were able to check out the modest restaurant attached to the main building. The food was hotel-average, and as with most eateries in this area, a little on the high side. We paid between $60 and $70 for meals for four of us. The bar on the other side of the main building makes fresh pizza that is also available in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet is a nice option, with an American option ($15) and a continental for a little less.

We were able to park right in front of our cabin, which featured a small front porch with a picnic table. The front room of the cabin had a table and chairs, leather pull-out sofa and a small kitchen with mini fridge and two-burner stove. We didn't cook, but it was nice to have the option. The coffee maker was just a mini, but there was also Starbucks by the cup for free near the check-in desk if we needed more. Our boys took the front room, with one sleeping on the couch (not folded out to the bed) and one on our inflatable mattress. The bathroom was in between the two rooms and good sized. Fabulous thick towels, possibly the best on our entire trip (funny how little things like that make a difference). Shampoo, conditioner and soap were provided, although we brought our own. The bedroom in back had two very comfortable full-sized beds with fantastic bedding and a memory foam bolster pillow. I hated to leave these beds at the end of our two-night stay! The grounds were nice and quiet, perfect for sleeping in the thunderstorm that rumbled through.

There were some nice extras: the pool table near the restaurant, free wifi, and two very nice whirlpool spas in their own little open-air cabin. No pool, but we didn't miss it. There is a little store on the property for snacks and necessities, although the operating hours were a little odd. While we did not use them, the lodge offers horseback tours, a hiking trail, and in the winter, snowmobiling.

The lodge is a beautiful 25-30 minute drive from Grand Teton National Park, but the road is good. We were able to drive north to Jackson Lake and south to the town of Jackson with no problem.

Our cabin was $215 a night for Monday and Tuesday, but state tax, service charge, Teton City lodging tax and the interesting "Friends of the Forest" fee brought the nightly total to $244. Still not bad for size of the cabin and the going rate in the Jackson Hole area. This was a great place for us to work from as we were not interested in the atmosphere of Jackson itself. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Grand Teton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhawkmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
soleil2jours
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I wish we'd had longer to stay! My husband, 2 daughters and I were in cabin #111 and were quite comfortable. The first night we arrived at dinner and barely had time to enjoy our temporary home. We had dinner at the lodge and all thoroughly enjoyed it. The locally caught trout was some of the best fish I have ever eaten. Our server, John from Hawaii, was a super nice guy and provided excellent service. The main desk staff recommended we take a drive down the "Old Yellowstone Hwy" which is basically a gravel road. Our minivan did well and we saw a female moose with two calves! The main desk staff was very helpful with directions and suggesting other attractions. Our cabin stayed surprisingly cool despite it being quite hot while we were there. We had a marmot couple who lived just below the hill near our cabin, an amazing view of Grand Teton and we saw something that looked like elk ears in the bushes when we drove back to our cabin. I just wish the service vans weren't parked quite within our view (I would suggest they park them in two shorter rows given that the lot was wide enough). The second night we ate dinner at the lodge again given our wonderful experience of the previous night - pizza and salads all around - and it was one of the most economical meals of the whole trip, not to mention delicious. The kitchenette was good for a little breakfast or lunch prep. They didn't skimp on the coffee quality - Starbucks. The décor was simple and not the usual over-countrified look, but went with the wildlife, wilderness setting. There's a little cabin with two moderately sized hot tubs which was nice at the end of the day. And for our daughters, the WiFi was reliable. They didn't get a lot of screen time, so it was important that they could enjoy the little they had. I just wish we'd scheduled our one main day there better so we could have gone horseback riding. The Togwotee Mt Lodge really has a lot to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soleil2jours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Great Cabin about 1hr away from the south entrance into yellowstone national park. The staff was excellent and helpful anytime given the opportunity. Restaurant within lodge was a timesaver after driving around all day in Yellowstone. Would stay here again, cabins have everything you need including fire wood, kitchen and fireplace (only thing missing is AC) and most of the time you dont need AC within Moran. Would def stay again if in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank figment7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
353 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent 3 wonderful nights at Togwotee Lodge. The staff couldn't have been any nicer if they tried. Everyone: the general manager, front desk staff, kitchen staff & wait staff were all fantastic. I don't know how they have found so many wonderful people to work here! The only thing we didn't get to do that we wanted to was a trail ride, but we will do that next time because we will definitely be back. Restaurant food was very good, the cabins were well furnished and it was nice having a mini-fridge & microwave, especially since my husband and son have to keep gluten free. The beds were comfortable and we slept very well. The hot tubs were nice and never crowded. We had a picnic up by the lodge's campsites and were lucky enough to see a moose with her two calves in a nearby meadow. I can't say enough things about how wonderful this place was. I think we will come back and try their snow mobile packages in the winter. They even have snow mobile packages that take you into Yellowstone. I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buffy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 16, 2013

When we arrived I was a little nervous looking at the outside of the building but when we checked in to our room was extremely pleased. Very clean and comfortable. The desk clerk was so friendly and helpful. The waiter and waitress in the dining room were great and the food was excellent. We were a party of 6 from ages 10 to 69 and all had a great time.
We will go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucknow, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice rustic CLEAN room. Great staff that is more than willing to help out. Good location for Teton National Park, as also very close to Yellowstone. We reserved for one night but ended up staying for three nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moran
19.3 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
19.3 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#2 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
1,785 reviews
22.7 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Luton's Teton Cabins
11.1 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
7.9 mi away
Hatchet Resort
Hatchet Resort
#2 of 2 in Moran
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Togwotee Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Togwotee Mountain Lodge

Property: Togwotee Mountain Lodge
Address: 27655 Highway 26/287, PO Box 91, Moran, WY 83013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Togwotee Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Togwotee Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Togwotee Mountain Hotel Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing