We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Winter Vacation Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Togwotee Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 16, 2008

My husband and I were at Togwotee from Jan 31, 2002 through Jan 7, 2002. We are aged 36-41 and avid snowmobilers from Michigan. Togwotee was the best vacation we’ve ever had. If you snowmobile, this is the place to do it! We went on a long cruise for our honeymoon that we thought was good, but now we wish we would have gone to Togwotee instead.

We reserved the cabin package, which included shuttle from the airport (Rachel, our driver was a sweetheart), lodging, breakfast, dinner, discounts in the gift shop, and happy hour drinks from 5:00-6:30. We stayed in a cabin with a fireplace. Breakfast is perfect for people who will be outside & active in the cold all day. It is a buffet, with fresh, hearty choices and also offers oatmeal, cereal, bagels and yogurt. Dinner was good too; especially the elk chops. We are very social, though, and met so many nice, fun people at happy hour, that we ordered dinner to go (from the bar menu) and they brought it to us in the fireside room with everyone else. The staff was very accommodating. We ate dinner in the dining room three nights only. . The Lodge put on a great crab leg and steak dinner for New Year’s eve and had a fun band. After a few drinks, people were even dancing and we stayed until closing time!

Our log cabin was comfortable & clean. Two double beds were in the back room with a TV, a bathroom/shower with hair dryer, kitchenette, and in the front room, there was a 4-person dining table, pullout couch, and another TV. They do have cable, and a BBQ on the porch. Next year, we may not do the all inclusive, though, because we love to BBQ and could save a lot of money. The cabin was well stocked with wood for the fireplace. When you make a fire, though, make it small with just two or three small logs at the most, and don’t put more wood on it until the fireplace warms up the chimney. I set off both smoke alarms because the cold, contracted chimney sends smoke back in the room until it warms up.

There is an awesome double hot tub in another log cabin structure in the middle of the cabin complex. It was very refreshing to sit in there after a day’s riding.

There is a laundry building, so we did loads of laundry before we left. It’s nice not to bring suitcases full of dirty clothes home. And looking out the window or standing on the front stoop of the laundry building, drinking a beer, looking at the mountains, and watching people on their snowmobiles come and go was the best laundry experience I ever had.

The service was excellent. They really appreciate their tips. The wait-staff, bartenders, shuttle drivers, and guides were all fantastic.

The bar has a pool table and a jukebox. The fireside room has another pool table and comfortable seating. It is nice to sit there in the afternoon and visit

If you plan on dog sledding, you may want to reserve before your trip because they were booked the whole time we were there. Just listening to the barking excitement and watching the sleds take off was invigorating. They get so excited!

On the first day, we snowmobiled with a guide for a half day with Polaris 600 RMK’s. We did some powder riding and riding on the trail. They told us to be there promptly at 8:00 am, but didn’t get on the trail until 9:30 because of paperwork and waiting for the guide. Boy, those guides have some wonderful techniques for getting those machines out of deep powder. Our guide was Jeff (our assigned guide had to help get the groomer repaired) and he was very patient and accommodating as I got stuck 4 times and Bill 3 times. Weather was fantastic and don’t forget your camera! We saw a moose on the way back to the lodge. The second day we went on the Yellowstone Canyon excursion. We booked the “Loop” tour of the whole park, but were the only ones who reserved it, so there weren’t enough people. That’s OK, because our trip through Yellowstone was beautiful. Smooth as glass trails (roads), bison, elk, coyotes, otters, and scenery that photos just can’t do justice. But don’t forget your camera anyway! We had to slowly ride through a whole herd of bison on the road. That sure made our hearts beat faster! We had a group of eight and Bill and I were the only experienced snowmobilers, so anyone can ride through the park. It’s easy because the trails are so smooth. The speed limit is 45 mph and there are radar cops on snowmobiles to monitor groups. Tyler, our guide was so nice. He took us to some beautiful places and was always informative and friendly. This trip takes a full day, We were gone from 8:00am until 5:30pm. The machines were Yamaha and Arctic Cat 660 4-strokes. Since the riding was easy and the speed limit so low, they were just fine for the tour. The black Arctic Cat was better handling than the red Yamaha as we switched machines between us, so if you have a choice, you’ll know. They had hand warmers, thumb warmers and seat warmers for comfy riding. The third day we rode the trails from the lodge without a guide. Because we told them we were going to stay on the trails, they gave us Yamaha 4-stroke short track sleds. They were fine for easy going trail riding, but we would never ride them on the trails at home. They would be too slow and stiff. I didn’t like the tiny windshield because it didn’t wrap in front of the handlebars, so the front of my hands froze even though I kept the warmers turned on. But it was another great day and the machines did the job just fine. We ate lunch at Brooks Lake Lodge, which is wonderful, and rode some “temporary” switchback trails. We had to turn around once and find another way because of a snowslide that blocked the trail, so that was exciting! On the way back to the Lodge we saw 5 moose!

After being there from Monday through Saturday, we were shuttled to our hotel in Jackson Hole and stayed two nights to sightsee and shop. It was a nice, relaxing ending to our fun filled vacation.

We have no complaints. The staff and the fellow riders were all so fun to be around. I want to go back tomorrow! It is such a special place.

Lauren and Bill
Michigan

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ICRF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 633 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2007

We spent 4 days in the Tetons after a long week in Yellowstone. The cabins at Togwotee were incredibly clean, nicely furnished with comfortable beds,TV's, updated furniture, plenty of towels...it was just a great place.
The cabins were very close together which was the only complaint we had.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank missy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2007

Did the all inclusive package. Food needs to be improved. Rooms are very nice for a mountain lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Polarisrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

We stayed at Togwotee from 10/15/07 through 10/20/07 the shoulder season. Our stay was awesome! We got snow three out of the five days. The cabins were comfortable and clean. The staff was very helpful.
We searched for two months for a place to stay near The Tetons and Yellowstone. We picked Togwotee because of its location, price, and other basics such as TV and internet. Being a suburbanite from Atlanta Georgia, I throughly researched the area before I booked a cabin.
Togwotee is located between Jackson Wy and Yellowstone. A great location to visit Yellowstone and the Tetons. The 16 mile drive up the mountain to Togwotee from Moran was nothing compared to the driving you do visiting Yellowstone or the Tetons. I drove down the mountain with ease even with 12 inches of snow. I recommend Togwotee if you are going to visit both Tetons and Yellowstone.
I recommend to those travelers who have never visited the area to DO YOU RESEARCH ! The area around the Tetons and Yellowstone is a vast remote area. There is not a convenience store down the road to shop. Mcdonalds is an hour drive to Jackson. We were preapared. We did all our grocery shopping before we arrived. Togwotee is not for you If you want fine dining, 5 star hotel service and a Macdonalds. Stay in Jackson if you want those amenities and drive the extra hour to Yellowstone. If you want a quiet comfortable place to rest after a day of visiting the parks then stay at Togwotee. I suggest anyone going to visit the area to read Bearman's Travel Guide to Yellowstone at the web address:
[--]

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kg1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We were disappointed with this place .. Thankfully we only stayed one night.. The lodge itself was large enough 2 double beds and a pull out. Bathroom was small but clean. Restaurant served very nice food but was a little expensive and had limited hours of opening ... Front desk staff could do better when dealing with guests as I was made to wait quite sometime whilst other guests that had arrived after me were dealt with first. I found this very rude. The Lodge itself could do with a good spring clean. There are no views out of the window as you are surrounded by trees. The Laundry room is very dirty !!! I wouldn't recommend you use it unless desperate !!

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank LynnClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We stayed at Togwotee for nine days in July and had a great time. We chose Togwotee to be able to visit all the surrounding attractions, and were generally pleased with the location. It is a little bit of a drive to get anywhere, but we knew that in advance. (however, we didn't know that part of the road to get there was under major construction). We spent most of our time in the Grand Teton National Park, and that drive is pretty managable. We went in to Jackson quite a few times also. We did book a room in Yellowstone for a night, because it takes so long to drive around Yellowstone (Togwotee is pretty close to one entrance, though). Togwotee's grounds are very nice, the cabins are cute, clean, and exactly as advertised (no surprises). One minor issue - there's no door to the bedroom, so no privacy if someone is on the pull-out couch. We enjoyed the lodge's "camp store", gift shop, horseback riding, laundry facilities, hot tub, and Internet access, although we didn't eat any meals there (except when we cooked in our cabin). Staff is hugely helpful - if you need anything, don't hesitate to ask. We did find housekeeping to be a little spotty - sometimes they made the beds, sometimes not, sometimes they came, sometimes not, but we never has a problem that wasn't corrected with a call. Having been to the Jackson area, I would plan differently if I had it to do over again (maybe move locations once or twice for proximity to sights), but we certainly enjoyeed coming home to the Togwotee at the end of every adventure and can happily recommend it to other folks.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2007

The surroundings are beautiful, the lodge was fine. We stayed in a suite in the main lodge. It was large and had bunk beds for the kids. That was a nice plus. The decor was dated but comfortable. The bathroom had two separate sinks. We only had breakfast and it was good but, nothing special. It is a good place if you want to be away from Jackson Hole. The road to Yellowstone is being worked on and can be slow and go.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ShariJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moran
11.1 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
30.6 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Fla...
#7 of 16 in Grand Teton National Park
576 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hatchet Resort
Hatchet Resort
#1 of 1 in Moran
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 16 in Grand Teton National Park
1,177 reviews
10.8 mi away
Luton's Teton Cabins
19.3 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#4 of 16 in Grand Teton National Park
2,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Togwotee Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Togwotee Mountain Lodge

Address: 27655 Highway 26/287, PO Box 91, Moran, WY 83013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Moran
Price Range: $238 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Togwotee Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Togwotee Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Togwotee Mountain Hotel Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing