We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Cabin and away from the crowds Great Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Togwotee Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jasper, ga
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location, Great Cabin and away from the crowds Great Vacation”
Reviewed November 7, 2007

We stayed at Togwotee from 10/15/07 through 10/20/07 the shoulder season. Our stay was awesome! We got snow three out of the five days. The cabins were comfortable and clean. The staff was very helpful.
We searched for two months for a place to stay near The Tetons and Yellowstone. We picked Togwotee because of its location, price, and other basics such as TV and internet. Being a suburbanite from Atlanta Georgia, I throughly researched the area before I booked a cabin.
Togwotee is located between Jackson Wy and Yellowstone. A great location to visit Yellowstone and the Tetons. The 16 mile drive up the mountain to Togwotee from Moran was nothing compared to the driving you do visiting Yellowstone or the Tetons. I drove down the mountain with ease even with 12 inches of snow. I recommend Togwotee if you are going to visit both Tetons and Yellowstone.
I recommend to those travelers who have never visited the area to DO YOU RESEARCH ! The area around the Tetons and Yellowstone is a vast remote area. There is not a convenience store down the road to shop. Mcdonalds is an hour drive to Jackson. We were preapared. We did all our grocery shopping before we arrived. Togwotee is not for you If you want fine dining, 5 star hotel service and a Macdonalds. Stay in Jackson if you want those amenities and drive the extra hour to Yellowstone. If you want a quiet comfortable place to rest after a day of visiting the parks then stay at Togwotee. I suggest anyone going to visit the area to read Bearman's Travel Guide to Yellowstone at the web address:
[--]

  • Liked — The atmosphere of the cabin
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kg1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    197
    65
    29
    21
See reviews for
219
220
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We were disappointed with this place .. Thankfully we only stayed one night.. The lodge itself was large enough 2 double beds and a pull out. Bathroom was small but clean. Restaurant served very nice food but was a little expensive and had limited hours of opening ... Front desk staff could do better when dealing with guests as I was made to wait quite sometime whilst other guests that had arrived after me were dealt with first. I found this very rude. The Lodge itself could do with a good spring clean. There are no views out of the window as you are surrounded by trees. The Laundry room is very dirty !!! I wouldn't recommend you use it unless desperate !!

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank LynnClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

We stayed at Togwotee for nine days in July and had a great time. We chose Togwotee to be able to visit all the surrounding attractions, and were generally pleased with the location. It is a little bit of a drive to get anywhere, but we knew that in advance. (however, we didn't know that part of the road to get there was under major construction). We spent most of our time in the Grand Teton National Park, and that drive is pretty managable. We went in to Jackson quite a few times also. We did book a room in Yellowstone for a night, because it takes so long to drive around Yellowstone (Togwotee is pretty close to one entrance, though). Togwotee's grounds are very nice, the cabins are cute, clean, and exactly as advertised (no surprises). One minor issue - there's no door to the bedroom, so no privacy if someone is on the pull-out couch. We enjoyed the lodge's "camp store", gift shop, horseback riding, laundry facilities, hot tub, and Internet access, although we didn't eat any meals there (except when we cooked in our cabin). Staff is hugely helpful - if you need anything, don't hesitate to ask. We did find housekeeping to be a little spotty - sometimes they made the beds, sometimes not, sometimes they came, sometimes not, but we never has a problem that wasn't corrected with a call. Having been to the Jackson area, I would plan differently if I had it to do over again (maybe move locations once or twice for proximity to sights), but we certainly enjoyeed coming home to the Togwotee at the end of every adventure and can happily recommend it to other folks.

  • Liked — Cabin was very cozy and cute
  • Disliked — Driving to go everywhere in the Jackson area
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2007

The surroundings are beautiful, the lodge was fine. We stayed in a suite in the main lodge. It was large and had bunk beds for the kids. That was a nice plus. The decor was dated but comfortable. The bathroom had two separate sinks. We only had breakfast and it was good but, nothing special. It is a good place if you want to be away from Jackson Hole. The road to Yellowstone is being worked on and can be slow and go.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ShariJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2007

A lovely place with clean, quiet rooms and two dining options. We stayed one night and had dinner in the bar/lounge area. It was a wonderful stopping point between the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone Park.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IAgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2007

We stayed at the Togwottee Mountain Lodge the latter part of June 07 and stayed in one of their cabins. What appealed to us in booking this hotel was that we have an 18 month old and we knew we wanted a kitchenette to do some food preparation for her. The only problem - there is a kitchenette but where do you buy the food?! You have to drive approx 16 miles to Moran Junction, where there is only a post office and no food places. Then, it is another 40 min ride (approx) to the city of Jackson where we found an Albertson's and a Whole Foods. We really didn't like having to drive so far just to stock up. If you wanted to dine in the restaurant at Togwottee you have two options - the bar or the Grizzly dining room. The Grizzly will set you back at least 50.00 for dinner and we preferred the bar due to its slightly better pricing and we really liked their Buffalo Burger. We felt that the hotel was not convenient to anything and we frequently commented to ourselves (as we were driving over the bumpy highway completely torn up to get to the hotel) that we wished we had booked the hotel in Jackson. If you visit the hotel after the summer of 07, this highway construction might be done but it was awful and really beat up our rental car. Also, another point, the housekeeping arrived promptly at 8:00 each morning because we were the first cabin on the route. Only problem was that we were still eating breakfast in the cabin. Since we were in the room, housekeeping did not make our beds unless I asked and they only brought us towels each day. They never, ever, once while we stayed there in a week, did they ever wipe down the bathroom with cleaner. Because of this, I kept thinking the room was filthy and we had to keep our 18 month old off the floor (impossible). Also, when you check out, buyer beware, they add a "tax" that looks suspiciously like it could be a tip to the housekeeping. I forget what it was specially called on our bill. At that point in the game, however, all we wanted to do was to get home and we didn't fight it.

Another user wrote a review that they were disappointed with the view. They were correct - there is no view. The cabins are in a bunch of trees.

If you want solitude then this is the hotel for you. If money is no object, then you'll like the dining in the Grizzly Dining Room because they had some expensive and elegantly prepared dishes.

  • Liked — The fact that it was a cabin
  • Disliked — Out in the middle of Nowhere!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoesMomCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

Stayed in main building in a room with 2 queen beds. Room was a bit larger than average. Bathroom size was adequate. Overall, the room was fine. No air-conditioning, and the cool evening air was slow to enter the room through the screened window. Not a major dissatisfier, just something to be aware of.

The biggest problem for us was the location. It is 16.2 miles from Moran Junction, high in the mountain. And after you drive to Moran Junction, you are still nowhere - more driving is needed to get into the Park. The fact that the main road to this hotel is currently under construction made the journey to the Park even slower. One day it took 30 minutes just to get to Moran Junction, which is a town that consists of a post office and little more. If you are staying here some time after Summer 2007, you may have an easier journey.

Some previous reviewers liked the remote location of this lodge. The only reason we stayed here was because we booked our vacation on very short notice and every other place was sold-out. We checked-in around 9:45 pm and we hurried to the lodge thinking we would go straight to the dining room for a late dinner, because surely the dining room would close at 10:00pm We were wrong - it closed at 9:00 pm and they also stopped serving food in the bar at that time. So, there we were without dinner and in an isolated location. This event was what made us realize the downside to the quiet, remote location that others had found so charming. From that point forward, we decided to minimize our use of their food & beverage facilities. We ate one light meal in the bar. All other meals were taken elsewhere. The meal we had was good enough, but the service was amateurish, albeit friendly.

Other TripAdvisor reviewers were turned-off by the touristy nature of Jackson (an hour drive away), but if I were to return to this area and could not get lodging in the Park itself, I would consider Jackson before returning to the Togwotee.

Again, the hotel itself was OK, but its location just didn't work for us. To each his own.

  • Liked — Room size and furnishings were OK
  • Disliked — Remote location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank SFCAcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moran
19.3 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
19.3 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#3 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
1,826 reviews
22.7 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
10.8 mi away
Luton's Teton Cabins
7.9 mi away
Hatchet Resort
Hatchet Resort
#2 of 2 in Moran
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Togwotee Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Togwotee Mountain Lodge

Property: Togwotee Mountain Lodge
Address: 27655 Highway 26/287, PO Box 91, Moran, WY 83013
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Togwotee Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Togwotee Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Togwotee Mountain Hotel Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing