We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Avoid If You Can” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hatchet Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hatchet Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moran
San Diego
Level Contributor
85 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Avoid If You Can”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This motel is on a road used by large trucks from time to time (i.e. can be noisy). It is remote in the sense that the nearest alternative restaurant is many miles away. You are trapped in that regard. Our cabin was nice and spacious, but had a porch that looked out on the gas pumps (motel has its own gas station) about 25 yards away. There was no refrigerator in the room and there is no ice machine. They direct you to the back of the restaurant, where an cook will fill a bag of ice for you. This is not a terrible hotel and the restaurant was not terrible, but having driven through the national park just prior, it was a real disappointment. If you can do so, pay the extra cost (if any) for one of the national park accommodations. You'll have a nice view, various restaurant options and you'll be in the park with gorgeous views, rather than at a lonely and sometimes noisy roadside motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifesaver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    71
    32
    34
    48
See reviews for
83
102
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Well furnished cabin with a huge bathroom close to the Grand Tetons. It felt a little far from Yellowstone, but that may be because we were tired, hungry, and it was late and therefore completely deserted and dark outside. A minor complaint is that the management didn't leave the password for the internet, so I knocked on a neighbor's door and got it that way. Our cabin was much more expensive than what we paid just outside the northeastern entrance to Yellowstone in Cooke City, but still much cheaper than anything comparable within the parks.

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 28 -- separate bedroom, couch with a trundle bed, mini fridge, and a huge bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank JulianaQM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotts
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Reserved two nights, stayed one and they refused to refund anything for the second night, we didn't use. No breakfast included-the prices at the restaurants we out of sight!
9.50 for two eggs. And the waitress from the whetstone added her own 10.00 tip.
Not a good value for the money and poor customer service

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ikobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moran hotels

DC Metro
Level Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I chose this because it was close to the Grand Tetons and not in a crowded area. The room was nice and clean. The bed was comfortable and there was free WiFi available in the room. No fridge or microwave in the standard room. Limited cable stations. I was tired so I slept like a log. My friend said that the kids in the next room kept her awake all night. Decent for a one-night stay. I felt it was a bit pricey, but probably no more so than any other motel in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank soonerj92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
237 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

First, resort is a rather grand term when applied to this stop along the side of the road. While there is a certain amount of charm to the place, we found employees generally didn't care about anything. This led to an unsatisfactory experience overall. To be fair one gal who served breakfast was great. The norm was "Yea we know wifi doesn't really work well in the rooms. You can sit out on a bench by the office". Really? Be eaten by mosquitoes and have no place to write? Oh, and the phones don't work in the room either, so you have to walk to the office to communicate the information that will be promptly ignored.

There is a claim by management in a response to a prior review that they installed new mattresses. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, maybe they did. However, the mattresses are 4 inches thick and it seems like the box springs have not been replaced. The beds are not comfortable at all.

A plus is that you are closer to the (Grand Teton) park than if staying in Jackson and its less crowded - since there is nothing within 10 miles of the "resort".

All in all I cannot recommend the facility due to the poor quality of service. If I return to the area, I will be looking for other lodging. I suggest you do the same.

Room Tip: Suites are roomy, but there is no comfortable furniture. Most have a view of the Teton range from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOpsDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at the Hatchet Resort for a week and will stay there again. Staff could not have been more pleasant. Room was rustic and basic but clean and comfortable. Hatchet has a restaurant, small store and gas pumps along with a trail behind the resort that goes for miles.
Location is close to the National Park entrance. We would highly recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gail b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We checked into room 4. The decor was quaint but the room was dark and several bugs in our room were unwelcome. The staff was friendly especially at the restaurants (BBQ brisket was outstanding). There was also a convenient store and gas station. It's a no frills resort and although lodging at the parks south entrance is limited, I would consider all options before booking again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 907chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moran
24.8 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
15.0 mi away
Colter Bay RV
Colter Bay RV
#4 of 12 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 982 reviews
8.0 mi away
Togwotee Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#3 of 12 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
3.4 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
18.5 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#2 of 12 in Grand Teton National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatchet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Resort

Property: Hatchet Resort
Address: 19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatchet Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hatchet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Resort Moran
Hatchet Hotel Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing