We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Inconsistent service, but a reasonable location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hatchet Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hatchet Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moran
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
242 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Inconsistent service, but a reasonable location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

First, resort is a rather grand term when applied to this stop along the side of the road. While there is a certain amount of charm to the place, we found employees generally didn't care about anything. This led to an unsatisfactory experience overall. To be fair one gal who served breakfast was great. The norm was "Yea we know wifi doesn't really work well in the rooms. You can sit out on a bench by the office". Really? Be eaten by mosquitoes and have no place to write? Oh, and the phones don't work in the room either, so you have to walk to the office to communicate the information that will be promptly ignored.

There is a claim by management in a response to a prior review that they installed new mattresses. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, maybe they did. However, the mattresses are 4 inches thick and it seems like the box springs have not been replaced. The beds are not comfortable at all.

A plus is that you are closer to the (Grand Teton) park than if staying in Jackson and its less crowded - since there is nothing within 10 miles of the "resort".

All in all I cannot recommend the facility due to the poor quality of service. If I return to the area, I will be looking for other lodging. I suggest you do the same.

Room Tip: Suites are roomy, but there is no comfortable furniture. Most have a view of the Teton range from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOpsDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    72
    33
    35
    50
See reviews for
87
107
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed at the Hatchet Resort for a week and will stay there again. Staff could not have been more pleasant. Room was rustic and basic but clean and comfortable. Hatchet has a restaurant, small store and gas pumps along with a trail behind the resort that goes for miles.
Location is close to the National Park entrance. We would highly recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gail b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We checked into room 4. The decor was quaint but the room was dark and several bugs in our room were unwelcome. The staff was friendly especially at the restaurants (BBQ brisket was outstanding). There was also a convenient store and gas station. It's a no frills resort and although lodging at the parks south entrance is limited, I would consider all options before booking again.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 907chick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We recently stayed at The Hatchet Resort for one night. It was a very pleasant and comfortable stay. The scenery and location is superb. I would much rather stay outside of Jackson than right in Jackson, and this location lends itself well to access the National Park. We loved the playground for the little ones. We stayed in the stand alone cabin, which was perfect for our infant. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We ate dinner and breakfast at the resort restaurant and were impressed with both meals. I would definitely recommend the smoked brisket when it is available! Overall we wouldn't hesitate for a second to refer our friends and family for a stay at the Hatchet Resort!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shae00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights in early June. Traveled with wife and 2 dogs.
The hotel: Was just remodeled this year (2014). Stayed in room 3. Room and property were well taken care of and very cutely done. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel at all. Staff, food, room were all great. Only complaint was with the specific room 3 (budget room). This room is the "corner of the bend" room in the building, and ends up with about 2/3 the room of a smaller motel room. With two dogs, two humans, and 5 days worth of stuff, stuffed is the word to describe it. If it were a normal room, it would have been much better, just to have the additional floor space for the dogs and bags. We made this trip on a last minute whim, so we were thrilled just to be able to get anything at all. Bed was comfy, noise was limited to crickets and wildlife (didn't hear any traffic or either neighbor the whole stay).
The property and what's close by: Property has two restaurants (one for break/lunch, one for dinner), a gas station with minimal inside stock (no bags of ice even). There is a couple of larger looking suites there as well as a small cabin that you can rent daily. Nice grass area for some touch football, or to get the dogs out. We did not visit the restaurant for break/lunch ever, as we were up and off to the parks every day, but we did visit the dinner restaurant twice, and the food was outstanding! Pricing is high, similar to resort pricing, but they have a captive audience and the quality makes you forget all about that. If it is nice out, you can sit outside on the deck and have a beautiful view of the Tetons (and maybe horses and some wildlife) while you eat. The dinner restaurant looks like it was remodeled with the hotel as well, and has a stocked bar. The Forestry Visitors office is right next door, as well as a very small campground. Nice grass area for some touch football, or to get the dogs out. There is a dirt road between the campground and the hotel that goes back about 8 miles. We took a short trip out it, and weren't disappointed. Saw our first moose of the trip not even a mile back from the hotel! Fairly large river back there as well. There is an RV park about 3 miles down the road and a few other ranch properties, and nothing else but beauty! An easy 10 minute commute to the Teton Gate Entrance in Moran. Moran is a convenience store and post office... that's it. There is more in the park than in Moran for amenities. It took us at least a half hour to get through Teton Park to get to Yellowstone. This is the nicest property around, looking at some of the other comparables. We took our ice cooler with us each day for drinks and to reload ice.
I know it's Wyoming in the middle of no where, and the season was just barely starting, but we were really (pleasantly) amazed about the lack of people and traffic except for in the main sites of the parks. City living makes you forget that there is places left this remote and scenic.
We wanted to get away from it all on a whim, and this fit that need perfectly! As limited places were available we booked this, then started looking at what's around it. I got nervous about this place being in the middle of no where, with little to do, but ended up being absolutely perfect, as we went in to it knowing this, and were overly pleased with the place!
Looks like there is no A/C in hotel (heater yes), and no fan, so be prepared for that. We were gone all day, and it was cool in the evenings, so, we had zero issues with this.
I would stay here again, and would recommend to a friend.

Room Tip: Avoid room 3 as it is 2/3's size due to bend in building (still very nice, comfy, and clean). P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gonzokat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our family (of six adult children with spouses and 11 grandkids) had a wonderful experience at Hatchet Resort. The rooms were comfortable, authentic, and the food was excellent. Our family loved the surroundings, amenities, abundant activities available (especially hiking, lake and river floats, horseback riding and fishing) and close proximity to the Grand Daddy of Nat'l Parks. We are planning a 3-4 day stay at Hatchet Resort as our Yellowstone/Teton "Hub" as an annual family vacation/retreat that will become a tradition. It's that good. We travel extensively throughout the world. This place is perfect for connecting with earth's beauty where nature and wildlife entertain you rather than media and thrill rides at amusement parks. Come prepared to relax and slow down, or you'll miss the significance of this place to "resort to".

Room Tip: For parents with 2 -3 children, choose a suite. For two or more adults, choose a room with two quee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We had breakfast and lunch at the Grill and dinner at the Whetstone. The service was outstanding and the meals were exceptional. We stayed in one of the suites and found it to be clean and comfortable. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moran
24.8 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
15.0 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#4 of 12 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
8.0 mi away
Togwotee Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#3 of 12 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,733 reviews
3.4 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
18.5 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#2 of 12 in Grand Teton National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatchet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Resort

Property: Hatchet Resort
Address: 19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatchet Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hatchet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Resort Moran
Hatchet Hotel Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing