We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Not worth the money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hatchet Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hatchet Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moran
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This place is in the middle of nowhere. The room smelled like mold and we had a mouse runninbg around the room all night. The window was broke by one bed and would not even close tight. I would stay away from here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fishing_crazy5500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    72
    33
    35
    50
See reviews for
87
107
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stumbled acrosss the Hatchet Resort by chance. The hotels in Grand Teton were full and they suggested we try them. The rooms were kind of cool, they are made of log and kind of felt like a little cabin. The room we were in was very small, but the front desk warned us before we booked. I would not recommend this room for a long stay, but for the night it was fine. I happened to look at the other room and it was much bigger and had two beds instead of the one. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and the restaurants were good as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

loved staying at the Hatchet. it was very quaint and well kept, very clean. Savannah was awesome on the phone making the reservation and in person at the front desk, she could not have been nicer-she made my experience great. thanks so much for all your help and I really hope think you'd like staying at this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyandrylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, In
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

When we arrived at the motel, I walked in and the clerk was in another room, on the phone, with her back to the doorway. I made enough noise coming thru the door that she should have heard me, but she continued talking without any acknowledgement. I went back to the door and told my wife she was on the phone. She came on inside and we purposely slammed the door, thinking the clerk would at least turn around. Then my wife said, "Is anybody here?" Still no response. So we had to stand there until the girl was done talking on the phone.

What do you do? We were tired, we had traveled a long way on our Harley, we were in the boondocks, and mostly we had reserved the room and would have been charged even if we didn't stay there.

So, we shook it off and spent the night in a somewhat antiquated, fairly small room.
And, I don't know if its protocol for the motel, but every light on the property went off after dark; first time in any motel we've ever stayed at. It was a once in a lifetime experience for us.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Moran hotels

Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the cabin (we had two queen beds) and thought it was nice. The cabins have the typical "log cabin" feel and were quite spacious. The bathroom was updated with a beautiful grey stone shower and was very clean. My husband felt that the bed was lower at the sides and higher in the middle. He said he felt like he was rolling toward the edge of the bed each night. I would go back to the Hatchet Resort again and recommend it.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank quin91523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

A friend of my wife and I had their wedding at the Hatchet Resort in July. The hotel took great care of everyone that stayed with them. The Whetstone facility was amazing and a great spot to have the reception. They had rented a tent and placed it on the West side of the property so we had views of the mountains. Ron and the restaurant staff did a great job to ensure everyone was taken care of. On the other end Pat and Savannah at the front desk took care of all of our needs.
The rooms looked a bit dated but they were clean and comfortable. It looks like they updated the bathrooms recently. We had an opportunity to see one of the suites that my sister stayed in and they were much newer and again well maintained.
I would recommend tis property to anyone I know going to the area. Comfortable, friendly, and rustic everything I would look for in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Needed a place to stay on a trip to the Grand Teton National Park.
Place was full, but he had a single room left upstairs. The room was not "ready" but we were shown a couple of pictures. We got the key and went for a trip.
Some hours later we returned and got the first look at our room. And saw what the pics did NOT show: The only clothes hook dangling from a single screw - of course you could use one of the multitude of screws sticking out of the walls. The blankets substituting curtains -fixed in place with pins! The so called closet under the roof, with bare insulation sticking out, ready to make you itch. And the empty beer bottle and -glass lying on a spare pillow in the "closet".
The beds are -well OK. Except that they squeak so much that you wake every time you turn in your sleep. Seriously!!
To round it off, the bath tub is angled so much that you are afraid of falling as you shower -slippery as it gets.
We do not know about the cabins. They look good on paper.....
But if you want to try your luck, be sure to take a good look -especially at the so called "Hostel-rooms" upstairs.
We'd rather stay in Jackson!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2sbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moran
24.8 mi away
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
15.0 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#4 of 12 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,008 reviews
8.0 mi away
Togwotee Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#3 of 12 in Grand Teton National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,741 reviews
3.4 mi away
Heart Six Guest Ranch
18.5 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#2 of 12 in Grand Teton National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hatchet Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatchet Resort

Property: Hatchet Resort
Address: 19980 East Highway 287, Moran, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hatchet Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hatchet Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatchet Resort Moran
Hatchet Hotel Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing