We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid Option for Last Minute Summertime Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
DC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Solid Option for Last Minute Summertime Trip”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

By the time I organized my summertime trip to Grand Teton and Yellowstone, all of the hotels in Yellowstone were booked because apparently people book their rooms a year in advance. Since Flagg Ranch is in Grand Teton but 2 miles from the south entrance of Yellowstone, it is a good alternative. Old Faithful is an easy 1 hour drive from the ranch and the Grand Canyon of Yellowstone and Mammoth Springs are a day trip, albeit a very long day. The room was large and has the look and feel of a standard suburban hotel room. Breakfast is not included but there are few other dining options in the parks and the service and food were good!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank YuppieonaShoeString
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    196
    84
    27
    26
See reviews for
230
168
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our vacation plans were to focus on both the Grand Tetons and Yellowstone and we found that the location of Headwaters Lodge to be an ideal location to access both parks. Our four night stay started on September 21st and was easily accessible from the Cody airport. Our room was spacious and well maintained and clean. The front desk personnel was friendly; the wait staff in the restaurant and bar was attentive and friendly despite the fact that they were overwhelmed on two nights with two bus groups. I had one concern and management was more than responsive in addressing it. No television was welcomed by us; but for those who need it, there is a television in the bar.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed two nights, September 18 - 19, 2012. When we left on September 20th, we accidentally left an envelope on the dresser containing $160. We called them several times about this. The person said that they would "Check with housekeeping." Every time we called we got the same answer. The last time we talked, they said that perhaps the housekeeper thought it was a tip! We told them that it wasn't a tip and that we wanted our money. As you would expect, they "never found it."

Of course I realize that I am to blame for leaving the money, but I would expect that an honest establishment would return the money to us that they had to have found.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cnwilliams54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed based a Living Social deal which included breakst and a horse ride. Well worth the deal. So glad we didn't stay in Jackson the whole time. This was a great location for exploring Yellowstone as your are minutes from the entrance. Room was decent. Restaurant was Ok, they seemed to be out of a lot of items, I assume because they were soon to close.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Binnidm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Spent one night here in an executive cabin. Found the cabin to be impeccably clean and comfortable. Fore warned there is no TV and no A/c. Thought the no a/c would be a problem but left the window open and the temp quickly dropped as the sun set. The next morning the cabin was just 55 degrees inside. We had a cabin at the very back of the complex that was overlooking an open field and we could Here the water flowing in a nearby stream. Did notice the walls of cabins are a little thin and at times could hear our neighbor snooring, but not a major problem. The food and service at the restaurant was very good and I am sorry I didn't try some of the more expensive items, was hesitant that they might not get it right. But now I am convinced that anything they prepare would be quite good. This is a great location to both parks so go and enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travler1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had to change reservations from 2 nights to 1 night a few days after I made it, but 10 days before the visit. They changed reservations and refunded the night without any problems.

We stayed in the upgraded cabins at $210 per night. Very nice. Reasonable price for the area. Ideal location! We had excellent dinner and breakfast at the Lodge restaurant. I would love to stay here next visit. I booked through Headwaters Lodge and cabins at Flagg Ranch website. I recommend booking through them as I started to book through another company on the phone until I realized they were adding a 10% fee. Pictures of cabins on website were an accurate representation. The cabins are pretty close together and that isn't shown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mturn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A great place to stay, very convenient to both Yellowstone and grand teton parks, accommodations comfortable and restaurant was reasonably priced with very good fare. Staff very friendly and helpful. Look forward to returning when we have more time to spend there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emd2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moran
35.5 mi away
Grant Village Lodge
Grant Village Lodge
#5 of 6 in Yellowstone National Park
892 reviews
3.7 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
1,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#2 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Luton's Teton Cabins
19.3 mi away
Togwotee Mountain Lodge
9.8 mi away
Jenny Lake Lodge
Jenny Lake Lodge
#3 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch

Property: Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
Address: 2 Miles South of South Entrance, Yellowstone National Park, P.O. Box 187, Moran, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
92 newly renovated guest cabin rooms, a campground that includes 50 amp RV sites, tent sites, and camper cabins, and a newly renovated restaurant, bar, and coffee bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagg Ranch Hotel Moran
Flagg Ranch Resort Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing