We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I think it works for me, given the other options”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I think it works for me, given the other options”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We chose to book a 3-night stay here as we were the told the rooms have been renovated -- and they were nice, except for the bathroom which was old, but clean.

now first off, people who complain about not getting email / cellphone reception/ gourmet food, should not be staying at this place --- the only place that will fit you is jenny lake and maybe jackson lake lodge.

if you want a nice quiet cabin, which is functional with some nice touches, decent but basic restaurant (food is overpriced everywhere in the national parks), easy access to snake river and some beautful scenery for a walk outside the cabin in the evening -- at a price which is not that much out of line with other national park accomodation, this should work just fine.

One tip -- dont use this as a base to explore yellowstone, although it may seem close to south entrance of the park. the drive is painfully long (way too much slow traffic in peak season) to all the attractions --- you are better off staying in west yellowstone or mammoth for that. although in west yellowstone, you will be outraged by the rates you are paying to stay in basic lodging with no natural surroundings like you get with this one (flagg ranch). although -- this place is somewhat ideal if you want to tackle both yellowstone and grand teton from the same base.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacation-on-deals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    199
    84
    27
    26
See reviews for
235
170
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

this was reserved via Travelocity; you will have trouble if you need to change the date/room, etc. Book directly with the property and not thru Expedia/Travelocity, etc. Each cabin is in a nice setting; newer beds, furnishings, etc., but bathroom are in need of updating!!! I could not sleep well due to the strong odor from painted walls; the odor was so strong to my sensitivity I ended up leaving the windows open .... staff said the walls were painted 9 months ago !!! and they still smell? Must be oil based paint or something is weird. The restaurant is over priced and average food. There is nothign else around so you almost have no choice unless you want to drive 5-10 miles for food or bring your own. No TV !! No internet!! They admitted to having problems with wifi in rooms so you would have to drive back from your cabin and sit in the lobby for any service and even that is doubtful, but they don't warn you about this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njm0058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was a great campground with really great and friendly service in a quiet location. Our site was wooded and private and the bathrooms were clean and big. There was never a wait for a shower or sink. We were out of the Teton Park always but didn't mind the half hour drive to the main part of the park. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: They don't have a pool or fitness center, but I can't get them to unclick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdomnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keystone, South Dakota
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night and I am very glad we did not stay for more. We got there late in the evening after spending the whole day in Yellowstone. We were looking forward to a comfortable night.....checking our email, reading, taking a nice warm shower and getting some rest. When we arrived, it was very apparent that the staff was tired and harried. We did not receive any instruction about the property or any of its amenities. We did not receive any sort of receipt or instruction on check out in the morning. When we arrived in our room, our bathroom was disgustingly dirty with many hairs on the floor and an overall filthy floor. It was very warm in our room with no fan for air movement and it felt as though the furnace was on. We had to unplug the floor lamp to turn it off and the internet was not accessible. The next morning when we went to the restaurant for breakfast, it was very overpriced and very mediocre. The omelet appeared and tasted as though it had been made with powdered eggs and was fairly tasteless. On the bright side, the coffee was excellent and our server was warm and friendly. When I told the front desk about the condition of our cabin, all we received was an "I am sorry". It would have been nice to be offered a discount at the very least. We were very disappointed in our stay and would not recommend staying here. It appears as though there are some training issues with front desk and cleaning staff and it would be good to overhaul the restaurant food preparation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DHtraveler318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, KS
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Like most of the lodgings just outside of our national parks, this one seemed overpriced. However, it is one of the very few available so this may be overlooked (or accepted) by most travelers. The "units" are duplex-style and spaced apart from each other. Some of them are located quite a distance from the parking lot (although wheelbarrows are provided for transporting luggage). There is no technology available...no TV, no wifi, no cell phone service.This said...the units are clean and the beds are comfortable. There is a nice restaurant, gift shop, small grocery, and gas station on the property. The silence and low light polution are a plus. (There was an odd odor in the room...a little over-powering...smelled like strong cleaning solution).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyOlathe_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family of 6 just returned from a 7 night stay in the cabins at Headwater Lodge at Flagg Ranch. Our cabins were clean, really nicely decorated and roomy. The beds were great and the rooms were equiped with new microwave and small frig. Very helpful to offset the cost of feeding our kids! The views and walks are lovely, not quite as scenic as nearby Yellowstone and grand Tetons parks but still lovely. We loved our rocking chairs outside our rooms, the convenience store and gas station is handy, but we did not care for the restaurant. It was hot, the food was not great especially for the prices. Our waitress was friendly, but not that competent.
would stay there again, but the restaurant needs work!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryls221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

For the most part this place exceeded expectations. The location was great and the cabin we had was very nice and clean. I am a picky traveler and this place was very nice. If the room's bed was a little more comfortable that would be good it wasn't terrible but also wasn't a Westin bed which i think are the best. There was a refig in the room as well as a microwave so us folks traveling on a budget that made it very nice.

Check in was very good and all the staff were very helpful.

I had only 3 complaints and none of them were major.
1. The Food in the restaurant was way over priced and not prepared well for breakfast. The order came out cold and wrong the first time. My feeling is that if you can't make eggs and bacon right i am not trying anything else. To solve this we went down to the colter bay village for our meals and the wood was great. (i have been accused of being a food snob)
2. No Tv in the hotel lobby. Normally not a problem but it was the olympics people. We were told there was a lighting strike last week and that it would take come time for the repair man to make it out there.
3. My thought was that no problem with the tv that is why i brought my laptop for the "high speed" internet in the lobby. If it was high speed it would have been high speed for the 60's when Al Gore invented the internet.

Over all would i recommend this place. Oh yes. The location was awesome, staff very friendly and helpful, and who goes to the mountains for tv and internet......I would definitely come back. The only thing i would add just for general knowledge is that you have to drive 6 miles south to make a cell call.....But un published is that the hotel did not charge us for any phone calls to our from the room. Yup i almost fell over. If you are in the area this is the place to be.

Room Tip: Choose a cabin in the back so that you face the wilderness and not another cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barkley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moran
20.0 mi away
Grand Targhee Resort
23.8 mi away
Inn at Jackson Hole
Inn at Jackson Hole
#6 of 7 in Teton Village
354 reviews
23.7 mi away
Teton Mountain Lodge & Spa - A Noble House Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Colter Bay Village
Colter Bay Village
#5 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
1,045 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jackson Lake Lodge
Jackson Lake Lodge
#2 of 13 in Grand Teton National Park
1,823 reviews
8.8 mi away
Luton's Teton Cabins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch

Property: Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch
Address: 2 Miles South of South Entrance, Yellowstone National Park, P.O. Box 187, Moran, WY 83013
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Moran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
92 newly renovated guest cabin rooms, a campground that includes 50 amp RV sites, tent sites, and camper cabins, and a newly renovated restaurant, bar, and coffee bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Headwaters Lodge & Cabins at Flagg Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagg Ranch Hotel Moran
Flagg Ranch Resort Moran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing