We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Pioneer
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lusk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We started out the day not knowing where we were going to end up for the night and when we were in Cheyenne, WY we decided to continue on to Lusk. By reading the reviews on TripAdvisor I chose the Best Western Pioneer. What a great choice! The room was spacious, spotless and very comfortable. We were traveling with a pet, so for those who travel with pets, you know the options are sometimes limited. The people were friendly, the hotel was a pleasure to stay in and if we are ever that way again, we will make it a point to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPioneer, General Manager at Best Western Pioneer, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others. We hope you had a chance to have one of our omelets at the Chuckwagon in our Courtyard. We hope you had an outstanding experience. If you are ever our way, please stop by we will be glad to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Pioneer
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 590 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

Due to fires in the area of Cheyenne, WY, we were unable to find a room available as they were all filled by firefighters and we had to drive to Lusk, Wy for a motel and stayed at the Best Western Pioneer Motel. It was well worth the extra miles and time. The staff spoiled us, the food was wonderful (they even have a chuckwagon outside to make omelets for breakfast) in addition to the wonderful food inside. The room was great and it was the best lodging on our two week trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jibble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPioneer, General Manager at Best Western Pioneer, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

We love that you say that it was worth going out of your way! And we also hope you go out of your way again soon, so we can visit and show you a great time. Thank you for choosing us. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Let me start by saying that my wife was pretty upset w/ me when we rolled into the parking lot because standard rule for us is NO hotels w/ room doors that open up to the parking lot. However, when we got into the rooms, everything changed because the rooms are modern and kept up very well for a hotel out in the middle of nowhere. We spoke to the owners and it has been a family business for many years which explains why it is well maintained. The next morning (weather permitting) they will cook you an omlet out of an old covered wagon and have more selections inside if that isn't your thing. People were so friendly, it made for a really nice stop on our way North to Rapid City SD.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shycke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPioneer, General Manager at Best Western Pioneer, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

We are so glad that you were able to enjoy yourselves here. We do love to meet new people and to give them the best guest experience that we surely expect when stay elswhere. If you are ever our way again, please stop by.
Once again,
Thank you,
Tom, Valerie and Lore'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have been staying in this hotel for one night, on our way to Mont Rushmore. The people there were very helpful, especially the lady at the front desk. This is a best western run by a family and the whole family was very friendly.
Our room was very nice and clean and the pool just in front was really nice.
You can have breakfast inside or outside and the general atmophere is just great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLANCHE1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPioneer, General Manager at Best Western Pioneer, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for telling others of our property and such a great response. We value what you comment on. We really enjoyed your staying with.
Lore' A. Tirado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is where you find hospitality at it's finest! The staff is among the most hospitable I have encountered anywhere; I think friendliness, helpfulness, courtesy, and outright pleasantness are required before anybody is allowed to go to work on any day. They have a unique and quite good "chuck wagon breakfast" during the summer. Moreover! They have some wild patio furniture made by a craftsman in Colorado that is surprisingly comfortable to sit in. I sat in it for several hours one evening with no discomfort although I did feel like Fred Flintstone. Rooms are nice, food was good, outstanding staff, pleasant outdoor are...this is where you want to stay if you are in Lusk! By the way, if you were wondering or thought about my hint...yes...the patio furniture is made of tumbled rock!

Stayed: July 2012
1  Thank Lance P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPioneer, General Manager at Best Western Pioneer, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

We are so glad you had an enjoyable experience while staying with us. Yes, the furniture is stone and you are right, it is so comfortable. We hope to see you again soon. Thanks for staying with us.
Lore' A. Tirado
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

The price seemed high ($138), but when we added in the free breakfast, it was reasonable. VERY clean. The rooms were pleasantly decorated and modern. The free breakfast included eggs, yogurt, waffles, hash browns, and so on. The breakfast would have been around $10/person in a restaurant. The staff was incredibly friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPioneer, General Manager at Best Western Pioneer, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

We let the staff read all of our guest comments and it really makes them feel good to hear from guests like you. Thank you for your response. This really helps us to make sure we are doing what we are aiming to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Had a great stay with our family and we could not have asked for better service, or friendliness by the staff. They were great. Rooms are older but very clean and everything is working. Will stay there again and recommend it to all.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirby22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPioneer, General Manager at Best Western Pioneer, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Thank you for letting others know about your stay at our property. It is so nice to hear when our guests are enjoying it. Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your experience here.
Lore' A. Tirado

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Best Western Pioneer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Pioneer

Address: 731 South Main, Lusk, WY 82225-0087
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Lusk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Lusk
Price Range: $99 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Pioneer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Pioneer! Mount Rushmore is just a day trip away from our Lusk hotel, and there are plenty of other must-see attractions right here in Wyoming. From the Crazy Horse Monument to Devil's Tower, welcome to the most exciting vacation imaginable. The Sturgis(R) Motorcycle Rally in Sturgis, South Dakota brings in bikers from around the country. There's plenty of free truck and RV parking at our Lusk hotel, and complimentary high-speed Internet and a hot breakfast each morning to make you feel right at home. Start the morning with stacks of hot waffles, fruits and pastries, cereal, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs, yogurt and 100% Arabica coffee or juice. From Memorial Day to Labor Day, guests can enjoy made-to-order omelets from an authentic 1890 chuckwagon. Whether you're heading to the Sturgis(R) Motorcycle Rally or Devil's Tower, we offer a great location for several sites. A few of our Lusk hotel guests are here on business, and our spacious rooms are very conducive to productivity. Employees of the Wyoming Women's Center Correctional Facility, oil and land lease companies, the Union Pacific Railroad and Niobrara Health and Life Center all consider us their home away from home. The Wind Cave National Park is another big attraction that brings in Lusk hotel guests from near and far. Explore Mother Nature's bounty with complimentary use of cruiser bicycles, or simply relax at our heated seasonal outdoor pool. Cold weather hookups are available for trucks and RVs at no charge, and there's even a motorcycle wash area, so you'll be arriving at the rally in style. Enjoy a grill in the courtyard for an impromptu barbeque. Friendly staff, a fantastic location and plenty of amenities easily make our Lusk hotel a popular choice. Let us know what we can do to make your stay even more enjoyable. Our helpful staff always goes the extra mile, and our top priority is ensuring that you have a great trip. Book your spacious BEST WESTERN Pioneer room now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Pioneer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Pioneer Court Hotel Lusk
Best Western Lusk
Lusk Best Western
Best Western Hotel Lusk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing