We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay between Denver and the Black Hills.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Covered Wagon
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lusk
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Best place to stay between Denver and the Black Hills.”
Reviewed March 4, 2011

This is a GREAT place to stay!! The staff bends over backwards to accommodate. The Motel has a very, very nice indoor pool, hot tub, dry sauna and weight lifting facility. The rooms are modern and roomy and the common areas are very comfortable. This place has all the best amenities of the chain motels but because of the family-run, mom and pop pride of ownership, delivers service that no chain can lay claim to. The property has a large, beautifully maintained lawn with patios, cooking grilles, playground equipment and hammocks to relax in. It is truly a destination escape. Plan to stay here if you can.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carpetmechanic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    57
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
57
52
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

This hotel is really great with their hospitality and their staff is GREAT! We stayed there in May 2010 and I forgot an item of clothing behind. I've forgotten stuff before and I've never been able to get it back so I was surprised to learn that they had the item and would ship it back to me even though I phoned over 1 month since staying there. Because of this service we stayed again when coming through Lusk in Jan 2011. The beds are comfy, the rooms are large and the breakfast in the morning was great. We would stay at this hotel again and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LACali22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

I stayed at this hotel on a recent road trip through WY. What a great little find! I stayed in the country charm room which was nicely decorated and had one of the most comfortable beds of my trip! The service was great. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast was wonderful and the room it is served is in was homey and comfortable. The pool and the hot tub were great as well!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadtripperColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

After driving from Denver, through Cheyenne on our way to South Dakota our family of 6 was in desperate need to find somewhere to spend the night. As anyone who has traveled RT 85 would know, there aren't many options. The Covered Wagon fit the bill. Carmen was just wonderful at the front desk. She was so friendly and helpful. With 4 children, it's difficult to find a place where we don't have to get 2 rooms. We stayed in a lovely, clean room with 2 queen sized and 1 double comfortable beds. Carmen even recommended a kid friendly pizza place down the street that we thoroughly enjoyed. The motel even had an indoor pool that the kids were dying to use.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sstinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Stayed at the Covered Wagon as a stop off point on a journey between Denver & Custer SD and were delighted with our choice.
Very pleasent check in ,nice size clean room with a comfortable bed. Motel has a nice indoor pool and hot tub ,didnt get a chance to use this facility but it looked quite good.
Breakfast is served in a lovely clean room in the main building with solid wood rustic tables & high stools.Excellent choices for a continental breakfast with a person on duty cleaning constantly and making sure nothing ran short.This area also has a small book library and can be used as a sitting area in the evenings.
Even though there is not much to do in Lusk we had a very pleasent stay at this motel and it does exactly what it says on the tin and what I felt a very reasonable price at $89.00.
Thought the countryside we travelled through from Cheyenne to Lusk and onto Custer was really something special.Beautiful open grassland with amazing colours at that time of year.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zena1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Was on our way to the Black Hills and needed a place to stay. Found this fabulous motel in Lusk, Wyoming. Rooms emaculant, service fantastic, and the pool and weight room was the icing on the cake. The chery on top however was the price - great value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2010

My family and I were on our way to South Dakota and rented a motel room at the ABVI Covered Wagon Motel. Wow!! What a pleasant surprise. The staff was friendly and pleasant, and made us feel welcome. The room was large, and most importantly...VERY clean. The pool and hot tub were nice and lent the perfect opportunity for a teenager to "cool off" after a long day in the car. Breakfast was great too! This family friendly oasis will be on our agenda every year. A great value for all the amenities offered for a family.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trisha021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Covered Wagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Covered Wagon

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Covered Wagon
Address: 730 S. Main Street, Lusk, WY 82225
Location: United States > Wyoming > Lusk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Lusk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Covered Wagon 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When in Lusk, stay with us! Large indoor pool, hot tub & sauna. Complimentary breakfast. Free wireless internet from your room. Basketball, shuffleboard & workout equipment. Large park area with new playground equipment, lounge chairs, hammocks, and patio with BBQ grill. Stay with us and enjoy warm Western hospitality, comfortable accommodations, and outstanding service. All of our 51 clean and spacious rooms are furnished with hair dryers and coffee service, and several rooms are equipped with microwaves and refrigerators, down bedding, irons/ironing boards. There are several restaurants within walking distance. Outdoor plug-ins for plugging in your vehicle are available for an easy winter morning start. Our newly remodeled Niobrara Room is the perfect place for your next family gathering or meeting. We also have unique souvenirs and gifts available in our recently added gift shop. When in Lusk, stay with us…..Satisfaction guaranteed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Covered Wagon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing